You are not logged in.

#126 2010-01-13 16:40:41

Svlad Cjelli
Member
From: dusk till dawn
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 99

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

sadly the the freezes continue with BIOS 06CM! So it isn't worth to upgrade...

Sorry for not reading the comments ;-)

Does that also work with yaourt?

Offline

#127 2010-01-13 16:55:38

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Svlad Cjelli wrote:

sadly the the freezes continue with BIOS 06CM! So it isn't worth to upgrade...

Sorry for not reading the comments ;-)

Does that also work with yaourt?

I think yaourt lets you edit the PKGBUILD.

Offline

#128 2010-01-13 17:14:26

brendan
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2009-05-16
Posts: 130
Website

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

if its like the NC10 you can upgrade from DOS using a USB stick.

See http://www.madeo.co.uk/?p=112 if you don't have a dos usb stick handy yet!

Offline

#129 2010-01-14 19:28:59

Svlad Cjelli
Member
From: dusk till dawn
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 99

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Something different:

due to power-saving i installed powertop and i saw this line:

31.0% ( 47.3) <kernel core> : hrtimer_start_range_ns (tick_sched_timer)

google answers and i got this bugreport:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/373245


perhaps this is the reason for the poor battery-life compared to my Windows 7 Installation?

Can anyone confirm that?


Svlad

Offline

#130 2010-01-15 09:36:27

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Svlad Cjelli wrote:

perhaps this is the reason for the poor battery-life compared to my Windows 7 Installation?

Can anyone confirm that?

What do you mean by poor-battery life?
In idle state or low usage powertop shows here an avg usage of 6.2W (6+ hours) and normal to high usage it rises to 9.3-12.6W (3 - 4.5 hours). I think this is ok and conforms to the specs.

Last edited by DonVla (2010-01-15 12:50:50)

Offline

#131 2010-01-15 14:35:38

Svlad Cjelli
Member
From: dusk till dawn
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 99

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

By poor battery-life i mean the 4 hours under linux in comparison with 5,5 hours under windows 7 :-) I am at 8,5W in idle. And i read the wiki big_smile

NEWS:

New BIOS for Samsung n140: http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/pc-p … ab=support

perhaps this solves the problem ata-problem for n14-users


Svlad

Offline

#132 2010-01-18 20:02:16

rich_o
Member
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 48

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Hello,

does anyone knows what the bios upgrade actually does? I read in some other forums that it does not fix the irq/ata-problem, so i won't install it anyway (which, of course, would be a problem, because it does not work from dos... ), but i'm a bit curious.


rich_o

Last edited by rich_o (2010-01-18 20:03:08)

Offline

#133 2010-01-20 13:24:51

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

In another forum Svlad said Samsung told him that (on the N130):
"The lastest BIOS improves the compatibility with Windows 7 and Wakeup Time. In the version before, an option was added to deactivate Intel Hyperthreading in the BIOS."

Of course we don't know how accurate or complete their information is, and they didn't answer his actual question, which was why there are three N130 BIOSes available. For that they should have looked at the Arch Wiki ;-).

Offline

#134 2010-01-21 03:13:29

bikepunk
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 23

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Hi all, it's my first post here,
I just finished to read all the topic.
And I guess I'm the first with my issue : Realtek RTL8192e wireless card... (most of you've got an Atheros AR9285, haven't you?)
I istalled arch and set my network using ndiswrapper. It worked fine... till I upgrade the system sad
From now on, I cannot connect to the network. During the boot, the network daemon ends with a:

SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted

The iwconfig looks ok though, but

ifconfig wlan0 up

gives the same error...  hmm
I think there is a driver conflict somewhere. I suppose the 2.6.32 kernel includes some things for my wireless card (http://kernelnewbies.org/Linux_2_6_32#head-f346e6e4d377a785331c7165d8f9e136e539438c and http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sam … k_RTL8192E thanks a lot to Aedit by the way wink ).

Knowing that I haven't got any wired internet acess, I don't know what to do... (I was thinking about reinstalling arch and try to install the firmware without ndiswrapper, but I don't know how to do without internet connection).
Please advice me.

I don't really know what does staging driver means, any explaination is welcome.

Thanks in advance, hoping to have my dreamed archbox working very soon tongue

Last edited by bikepunk (2010-01-21 03:14:34)

Offline

#135 2010-01-21 05:06:30

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

You're welcome.

Staging drivers are drivers which are heading for inclusion in the kernel source code but are not yet ready. See http://lwn.net/Articles/285594/ .

So a native linux driver for the RTL8192e is in preparation but it will be some time before it is finished.  Some people will want to try it out, but since you did have ndiswrapper working it's probably best to try and fix that.

Offline

#136 2010-01-21 07:55:17

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

@Aedit:
Wouldn't it make more sense to rename the wiki article to "Samsung N130/N140"?
It's about both versions, and these two aren't so different. What do you think?

Vlad

Offline

#137 2010-01-21 10:37:42

bikepunk
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 23

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

thanks Aedit.

now the game is to get rid of
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted

I've got no idea how

Offline

#138 2010-01-21 13:17:23

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

DonVla wrote:

Wouldn't it make more sense to rename the wiki article to "Samsung N130/N140"?

I have created http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samsung_N130 which automatically redirects to Samsung N140. I think that's the more normal way to do this, and it doesn't break any existing links.

@bikepunk: don't think I can help because I don't use it, but you could post more detail about how you installed Arch and ndiswrapper and what you were doing when it broke. Double check that what you think is installed in /etc/ndiswrapper actually is, check your ndiswrapper.conf and rc.conf. Check "dmesg". Can you "modprobe ndiswrapper"? Do the check:

ndiswrapper -l

Last edited by Aedit (2010-01-21 13:49:06)

Offline

#139 2010-01-21 13:54:10

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Aedit wrote:
DonVla wrote:

Wouldn't it make more sense to rename the wiki article to "Samsung N130/N140"?

I have created http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samsung_N130 which automatically redirects to Samsung N140. I think that's the more normal way to do this, and it doesn't break any existing links.

Oh, I see. Great work Aedit.

Offline

#140 2010-01-26 03:08:16

bikepunk
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 23

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Back with my network problem (sorry for my lattency)
I installed Arch from the installer on a pendrive, and picked then the ndiswrapper package. As I said above, I installed the windows drivers for Realtek RTL8192e and got it working perfectly.
So I upgraded everything, rebooted to finish my intallation and then the network daemon gives
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted

/etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper.conf contain :
alias wlan0 ndiswrapper

/etc/ndiswrapper contain only :
net819xp

my /etc/rc.conf contain :
[...]
MODULES=(ndiswrapper)
wlan0="dhcp"
wlan_wlan0="wlan0 essid xxxxxxx"
INTERFACES=(eth0 wlan0)
[...]

"ndiswrapper -l" gives :
net819xp : driver installed
           device (10EC:8192) present (alternate driver: r8192_pci)

then the "dmesg" gives this interesting things :

Linux kernel driver for RTL8192 based WLAN cards
Copyright (c) 2008-2008, Realsil Wlan
rtl819xE 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
rtl819xE 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
fan PNP0C0B:00: registered as cooling_device 3
[I think then it's about something else but feel free to ask me to copy here anything missing]
[then a bit down :]

ndiswrapper version 1.55 loaded (smp=yes, preempt=yes)
iTCO_vendor_support: vendor-support=0
ehci_hcd...
[I think then it's about something else but feel free to ask me to copy here anything missing]
[then a bit down :]

rtl819xE: PlatformInitFirmware ()==>

rtl819xE 0000:02:00.0: firmware: requesting RTL8192E/boot.img
rtl819xE: request firmware fail!

rtl819xE:ERR in init_firmware()

rtl819xE:ERR!!! _rtl8192_up():initialization is failed!

So, it seems that the problem is well from the 2.6.32 kernel loading the driver without firmware and then ignore the working ndisrapper driver...

I guess the best would be then to disable ndiswrapper and install the firmware
I just don't know how to do that without connection to my N140

any help is more than welcome !! wink

Last edited by bikepunk (2010-01-26 03:14:13)

Offline

#141 2010-01-26 05:11:40

bikepunk
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 23

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

big_smile
I got it working, I removed ndiswrapper from rc.conf, downloaded the firmware found on http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … ost3811277
copied it in /lib/firmware
rebooted
and it works !!! youpi !

@Aedit : should I get the firmware from git ? as you advice on the wiki ? or I keep what I've got working ?

Offline

#142 2010-01-26 12:04:59

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Well done! So now you are using the open source driver which of course is preferable assuming it works well.

bikepunk wrote:

@Aedit : should I get the firmware from git ? as you advice on the wiki ? or I keep what I've got working ?

Generally people should get the firmware from the git repository at kernel.org as suggested in the wiki. In fact the files are identical to the ones you downloaded so you have nothing more to do.

Offline

#143 2010-01-26 13:18:40

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Hello,
For the people with the flicker prob:
I added the intel_bios.c patch from here http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=14781#c15 to kernel26-n130.

Vlad

Offline

#144 2010-01-26 21:47:37

Svlad Cjelli
Member
From: dusk till dawn
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 99

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

so this means we can reenable KMS?

Offline

#145 2010-01-26 23:18:14

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Yes I guess so. Another thing you could try is a GRUB kernel line with "i915.powersave=0 i915.modeset=1" without that patch.

Last edited by Aedit (2010-01-26 23:20:23)

Offline

#146 2010-01-26 23:32:00

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Svlad Cjelli wrote:

so this means we can reenable KMS?

Yes.
What I forgot to mention is that you have to add "i915.powersave=0" as a kernel boot option.

kernel /vmlinuz26-N130 root=/dev/sda2 resume=/dev/sda3 ro rootfstype=ext4 quiet i915.powersave=0

. Read this: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 72#p694972

Offline

#147 2010-01-26 23:34:23

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

Aedit wrote:

Another thing you could try is a GRUB kernel line with "i915.powersave=0 i915.modeset=1" without that patch.

Do you mean disabling the i915 powersave option also make the flickering disappear without using the patch?

PS: Oh, it seems the intel_bios is not needed at all:
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/l … ?page=last

Last edited by DonVla (2010-01-26 23:50:35)

Offline

#148 2010-01-26 23:50:27

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

I can't check this at the moment on an N130/140, but on another i915 system I have that is indeed the case -- with KMS enabled adding powersave=0 is enough to eliminate flickering. It's not the same hardware but it's worth checking.

Offline

#149 2010-01-27 21:33:42

Svlad Cjelli
Member
From: dusk till dawn
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 99

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

I can confirm that i915.powersave=0 works without the intel-patch.

Kms is enabled here and i cant see any flickering...!

@Don-Vla

When will you try out the new Mainline-Kernel?
I searched the changelog and saw this here:

commit 534ead709235b967b659947c55d9130873a432c4
Author: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Date:   Thu Jan 14 16:18:09 2010 +0900

    libata: retry FS IOs even if it has failed with AC_ERR_INVALID
   
    libata currently doesn't retry if a command fails with AC_ERR_INVALID
    assuming that retrying won't get it any further even if retried.
    However, a failure may be classified as invalid through hardware
    glitch (incorrect reading of the error register or firmware bug) and
    there isn't whole lot to gain by not retrying as actually invalid
    commands will be failed immediately.  Also, commands serving FS IOs
    are extremely unlikely to be invalid.  Retry FS IOs even if it's
    marked invalid.
   
    Transient and incorrect invalid failure was seen while debugging
    firmware related issue on Samsung n130 on bko#14314.
   
      http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=14314
   
    Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
    Reported-by: Johannes Stezenbach <js@sig21.net>
    Signed-off-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>

It seems that the ata-freeze problems were recognized by the kernel devs :-)


Svlad

Offline

#150 2010-01-27 22:07:20

Aedit
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 138

Re: Archlinux on Samsung n130/n140

@Svlad: Thanks for checking the flickering issue, that's good news.

The work on the freezing problem has resulted in three kernel patches. The one you mention is just one of those and it will not solve the problem alone. The full fix for the freezing problem will probably not reach mainline until 2.6.34 unfortunately.

Last edited by Aedit (2010-01-27 22:19:59)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB