You are not logged in.

#76 2010-01-31 02:59:59

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

BTW willxtreme you should try to make your ArchBang similar to CrunchBang Lite. Just include basics like :

Firefox
VLC
packer
lxappearance
openbox
obconf
obmenu
conky
tint2
nitrogen
thunar
gmrun
gpicview
file-roller

Offline

#77 2010-01-31 03:02:31

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Instead of firefox, why not chromium? Considering it is lighter and faster.. Just a thought.

EDIT: If you need help in with 64bit, mail me the pkglist

pacman -Qqe | sort > pkglist

I have a x64 machine running, I can use larch to build the 64version if you want? Also I'll need any extra configs/scripts you have used. Contact me in email if you want me to help.

Last edited by sHyLoCk (2010-01-31 03:16:10)


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#78 2010-01-31 04:26:17

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

all right noted big_smile and yes Chromium good idea! I like it too! I used to use Chromium on my previous distros instead of firefox because it was the browser that would play flash videos the best! When I started using Arch Linux though, Firefox did well right away lol

Offline

#79 2010-01-31 04:52:31

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Found USB audio as being erratic in both -102 and -103.

Suggest it is due to slow USB device response so have need to include a "wait" in boot sequence.

Is that an option or should the wait provided be lengthened?

I also have no FD0 device which causes a long delay in the boot.  Perhaps it can be dropped?  Don't think it is needed in this "live" system.

Enjoying the new toy very much and appreciate the offer made for help with x86-64 by Shylock.

Looks like a winner in my book!!!!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#80 2010-01-31 04:56:55

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Yes definitely big_smile I'm currently gathering all I've got to mail it to him tongue

Offline

#81 2010-01-31 09:54:27

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

willxtreme wrote:
sHyLoCk wrote:

Is the wiki entry already created?

For the wiki should I edit archiso page or create a whole new page for ArchBang

New page please

I am all for Archbang lite 700mb is huge what the hell you packin' ? tongue

you have three media players do you need that many?

archsetup would be based on ftp install, after all you need a working net connection of some kind to use Arch...it would drag in the packages and install them to disc via either livecd or liveusb

Keep It Simple so say no to GUI installers! if the user does not know what they are doing in a terminal then they should be running Ubuntu like me........

.:Loving your work:.

MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#82 2010-01-31 13:39:45

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

New page please

It will be a new entry

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

I am all for Archbang lite 700mb is huge what the hell you packin' ? tongue

you have three media players do you need that many?

There's currently 2: VLC (swiss army knife) and Exaile (that comes with a nice shoutcast plugin & ipod support)

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

archsetup would be based on ftp install, after all you need a working net connection of some kind to use Arch...it would drag in the packages and install them to disc via either livecd or liveusb

Keep It Simple so say no to GUI installers! if the user does not know what they are doing in a terminal then they should be running Ubuntu like me........

Lol but I believe an installer with no GUI (a script made by omns already exists to make Arch looks like crunchbang). You run the script from once you have a base system running

#!/bin/bash

#this will make it so the screen doesn't go blank to prevent people from pressing enter to wake it up
setterm -blank 0

#this will start the script and ask the user if he wants to run it
clear
echo "Welcome to my arch setup script. This script will semi-automatically"
echo "set up a working openbox system. You will be asked several questions"
echo "throughout the script so pay attention."
echo ""
echo "Warning: Once the process is started you cannot back out without risk of"
echo "damaging your system."
echo ""
read -p "Continue? (Y/N): ";
if [[ "$REPLY" =~ ^[yY] ]]; then
    clear;
else
    exit;
fi

#this will create a user account
echo "What do you want your username to be?"
echo ""
read -p "> "
while [[ -z "$REPLY" ]]; do
   echo "error: no username entered"
   read -p "> "
done
USERNAME=$REPLY
useradd -m -G users,audio,lp,optical,storage,video,wheel,power -s /bin/bash $USERNAME
clear
echo "What do you want your password to be?"
passwd $USERNAME
clear

echo "We wil now update the system..."
sleep 3

#this will update pacman
pacman -Syu --noconfirm

#this will update everything else
pacman -Syu --noconfirm

#now we will set up sound
clear
echo "options snd-pcsp index=2" >> /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf
pacman -S alsa-utils alsa-oss --noconfirm
clear
echo "You will now adjust the volume to your liking with alsamixer."
echo "You can control alsamixer with your arrow keys, and M for mute/unmute."
echo "When you are finished adjusting the volume, press ESC."
echo ""
echo "Press enter when you are ready."
echo ""
read -p "> "
clear
su $USERNAME -c alsamixer
alsactl store
clear

#we will now setup Xorg and stuff
echo "Please wait..."
pacman -S xorg xf86-video-vesa xf86-input-keyboard xf86-input-mouse --noconfirm
clear
echo "We are now going to configure xorg."
echo ""
echo "Do not be alarmed if your screen flickers or something."
echo ""
echo "It will automatically start in 10 seconds."
sleep 10
clear
Xorg -configure
cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
clear

#now to setup input hotplugging
echo "Setting up input hotplugging..."
sleep 3
pacman -S hal dbus xf86-input-evdev fam --noconfirm
/etc/rc.d/hal start
/etc/rc.d/fam start
clear

#installing openbox
echo "Installing openbox..."
sleep 3
pacman -S openbox obconf obmenu --noconfirm
echo "exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --exit-with-session openbox-session" >> /home/$USERNAME/.xinitrc
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.xinitrc
mkdir -p /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/
cp /etc/xdg/openbox/rc.xml /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/
cp /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart.sh /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/rc.xml
clear

#installing login manager
echo "Installing login manager..."
sleep 3
pacman -S slim archlinux-themes-slim --noconfirm
sed -i 's/current_theme       default/current_theme       archlinux-darch-grey/g' /etc/slim.conf
sed -i '/logfile/ d' /etc/slim.conf
echo "logfile             /dev/null" >> /etc/slim.conf

#adding daemons
sed -i '/DAEMONS/ d' /etc/rc.conf
echo "DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network crond alsa hal fam slim)" >> /etc/rc.conf
clear

#setting up applications
echo "Now installing applications..."
sleep 3
pacman -S thunar thunar-thumbnailers thunar-archive-plugin thunar-volman sudo squeeze bzip2 gzip unrar zip unzip lzop pidgin aspell-en firefox deluge tint2 volwheel leafpad ristretto gimp nitrogen terminator vlc banshee gmrun lxrandr gksu --noconfirm
echo "$USERNAME    ALL=(ALL) ALL" >> /etc/sudoers
echo "thunar --daemon &" >> /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
echo "nitrogen --restore &" >> /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
echo "tint2 &" >> /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
echo "volwheel &" >> /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
echo "<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"utf-8\"?>
<openbox_menu>
    <menu id=\"root-menu\" label=\"OpenBox 3\">
        <item label=\"Run Program\">
            <action name=\"Execute\">
                <execute>
                    gmrun
                </execute>
            </action>
        </item>
        <separator/>
        <menu id=\"2\" label=\"Accessories\">
            <item label=\"Text Editor\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        leafpad
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Terminal\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        terminator
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"File Manager\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        thunar
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Archive Manager\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        squeeze
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
        </menu>
        <menu id=\"5\" label=\"Internet\">
            <item label=\"Firefox\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        firefox
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Pidgin Instant Messenger\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        pidgin
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Deluge\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        deluge
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
        </menu>
        <menu id=\"7\" label=\"Multimedia\">
            <item label=\"Banshee Media Player\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        banshee-1
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"VLC Media Player\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        vlc
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
        </menu>
        <menu id=\"6\" label=\"Graphics\">
            <item label=\"Gimp Image Editor\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        gimp
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Ristretto Image Viewer\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        ristretto
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
        </menu>
        <menu id=\"37\" label=\"System\">
            <item label=\"Openbox Configuration Manager\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        obconf
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Openbox Menu Editor\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        obmenu
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Change Wallpaper\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        nitrogen
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Adjust Screen Resolution\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        lxrandr
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Terminal\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        terminator
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <separator/>
            <item label=\"Reconfigure Openbox\">
                <action name=\"Reconfigure\"/>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Reboot\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        gksu reboot
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Shutdown\">
                <action name=\"Execute\">
                    <execute>
                        gksu halt
                    </execute>
                </action>
            </item>
            <item label=\"Exit\">
                <action name=\"Exit\"/>
            </item>
        </menu>
    </menu>
</openbox_menu>" >> /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/menu.xml
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/menu.xml
sed -i 's/<chainQuitKey>C-g<\/chainQuitKey>/<chainQuitKey>C-g<\/chainQuitKey><keybind key="A-F2"><action name="execute"><execute>gmrun<\/execute><\/action><\/keybind>/g' /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/rc.xml
clear

#making things look better
echo "Now making things look better..."
sleep 3
pacman -S tango-icon-theme archlinux-wallpaper ttf-ms-fonts ttf-dejavu ttf-bitstream-vera gnome-themes-extras openbox-themes --noconfirm
echo "gtk-theme-name=\"Darklooks\"" >> /home/$USERNAME/.gtkrc-2.0
echo "gtk-icon-theme-name=\"Tango\"" >> /home/$USERNAME/.gtkrc-2.0
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.gtkrc-2.0
cp /home/$USERNAME/.gtkrc-2.0 /root/.gtkrc-2.0
sed -i 's/Clearlooks/TropicBomb/g' /home/$USERNAME/.config/openbox/rc.xml
mkdir /home/$USERNAME/.config/nitrogen/
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/nitrogen/
echo "
[:0.0]
file=/usr/share/archlinux/wallpaper/archlinux-simplyblack.png
mode=4
bgcolor=# 0 0 0" >> /home/$USERNAME/.config/nitrogen/bg-saved.cfg
chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.config/nitrogen/bg-saved.cfg
clear

#installing extras
echo "For the most part this install is done. But do you want to install"
echo "some extra stuff such as media codecs, yaourt, and flash?"
echo ""
echo "If you choose yes, you will be asked about each item individually."
echo ""
read -p "Answer? (Y/N): ";
if [[ "$REPLY" =~ ^[yY] ]]; then
    clear;
else
    clear
    echo "Your arch system is done."
    echo ""
    echo "Rebooting in 10 seconds."
    sleep 10
    reboot;
fi
echo "Do you want to install yaourt?"
echo ""
read -p "Answer? (Y/N): ";
if [[ "$REPLY" =~ ^[yY] ]]; then
    echo "[archlinuxfr]
    Server = http://repo.archlinux.fr/$(uname -m)" >> /etc/pacman.conf
    pacman -Sy yaourt --noconfirm
    clear;
else
    clear;
fi
echo "Do you want to install common media codecs?"
echo ""
read -p "Answer? (Y/N): ";
if [[ "$REPLY" =~ ^[yY] ]]; then
    pacman -S gstreamer0.10-{{good,ugly,base}{,-plugins},ffmpeg} --noconfirm
    clear;
else
    clear;
fi
echo "Do you want to install flash?"
echo ""
echo "Note: It will automatically install 64 bit flash if you have a 64"
echo "bit machine."
echo ""
read -p "Answer? (Y/N): ";
if [[ "$REPLY" =~ ^[yY] ]]; then
    if [ $(uname -m) == 'x86_64' ]; then
        wget $(wget -q http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10_64bit.html -O- | grep 'http\(.*\)\.so\.tar\.gz' -o)
        tar xzvf libflashplayer*.tar.gz
        mkdir -p /home/$USERNAME/.mozilla/plugins/
        mv libflashplayer.so /home/$USERNAME/.mozilla/plugins/
        chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.mozilla/
        chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.mozilla/plugins/
        chown $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
        rm libflashplayer*.tar.gz
        clear;
    else
        pacman -S flashplugin --noconfirm
        clear;
    fi
else
    clear;
fi
echo "Do you want to be able to play encrypted dvds?"
echo ""
read -p "Answer? (Y/N): ";
if [[ "$REPLY" =~ ^[yY] ]]; then
    pacman -S libdvdread libdvdcss libdvdnav --noconfirm
    clear;
else
    clear;
fi

#we're all done!
clear
echo "Your arch system is done."
echo ""
echo "Rebooting in 10 seconds."
sleep 10
reboot
.:Mr Green:. wrote:

.:Loving your work:.

MrG

Thanks big_smile

Offline

#83 2010-01-31 13:53:48

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Hmm now I'm wondering if I should simply adapt this script for my ArchBang version for those who wants to install it
and the LIVE CD stays a LIVE CD for people who wants to see what they'll get first

Making a base system doesn't require much time. Matter of fact it takes only lucky 7 steps according to my guide

(p.s. AND I'M HAPPY TO SEE THAT ARCH LINUX IS NOW IN LUCKY SEVENTH POSITION ON DISTROWATCH.COM AS OF TODAY WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO) cool:D:D:D:D:D:D

(And I'm going out til 7pm EST for some team homework lol)

777

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-31 14:28:09)

Offline

#84 2010-01-31 14:14:06

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

My bad lol.... 2 media players..

Install from existing system in wiki could be down via Archbang

MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#85 2010-01-31 15:35:28

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

ArchBang x64 built. having a bit of internet trouble right now as I'm travelling. hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to upload it. Sorry for the delay. My fault really, will had sent me the files many hours back. tongue

Overview:
Removed Powerpill [reason -> packer already provided]
Removed Skype [reason-> wine]
Added ttf-dejavu and ttf-bitstream-vera [common fonts]

Otherwise changed nothing. It's running pretty light n fast here. I think we should be focusing more on replacing a few stuffs with lighter counterparts to keep it more KISS and Arch way plus it will check the size as well. ANy suggestions/ critique welcome.

EDIT:
PS- We are having a bit of problem with chromium in the repos, will try and see if the AUR version works, meanwhile firefox stays.

Last edited by sHyLoCk (2010-01-31 15:36:43)


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#86 2010-01-31 16:19:30

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

My tongue is hanging for x86-64 Shylock!!!

Great speedy work...U guys shud take over admin!!!! Awesome!!  Wiki wiki wiki!!!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#87 2010-01-31 16:43:53

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Is there a way to set root password other than ctrl+alt+F1-6 only you cannot do that in virtualbox...would it be difficult to set it too say archbang?


Mr Green

Offline

#88 2010-01-31 17:09:20

Awake
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 3

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

Is there a way to set root password other than ctrl+alt+F1-6 only you cannot do that in virtualbox...would it be difficult to set it too say archbang?

In Prefs got to input and select a different key then ctrl, mine is set to Left WinKey. Then when running the live cd hit alt+Host Key+f1-6.

Offline

#89 2010-01-31 17:18:49

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Thanks for that works a treat.... :-)


Mr Green

Offline

#90 2010-01-31 17:34:11

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Desire to setup raid array persistent in archbang and expect it might be done in rc.local.

How is it set up to establish upon reboot?

EDIT: mdadm system....

Last edited by lilsirecho (2010-01-31 17:34:51)


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#91 2010-01-31 18:30:57

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Persistent home is something that needs to be looked at....

At the moment running an install via archbang using wiki guide... you do not need to get pacman.static can

So you can read install guide while installing Arch on the same! machine


MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#92 2010-02-02 04:48:36

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Sorry for the delay.
ArchBang-1.03-x86_64

PS- The shortcut key to launch browser doesn't work use console. This will be fixed in future.


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#93 2010-02-02 04:54:27

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Thanks sHy!

Offline

#94 2010-02-02 18:18:32

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Kudos to both of you, Willextreme and Shylock for being "doers" in Linux.

Not only "doers" but wiki wiki!!!! 

Mahalo!!

Look forward to the install effort and perhaps a persistent USB as well.

Well done, Gents!!!

EDIT:  DD install to USB took 73 seconds in x86-64 mode...booted in x86-64 ATM.
Edit2:  The Usb  audio mixer does not respond as was reported earlier...it can appear on some boots but not predictable...suggest a delay for USB device to settle.  This occurs in both i686 and x86-64 boots.

EDIT3:  The browser shortcut works with Super+w on my machine to Shiretoko.
Sure like the reduced size of a given window...opens up access...

Last edited by lilsirecho (2010-02-02 18:56:16)


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#95 2010-02-02 19:31:36

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Really impressed with Archbang, looking forward to future releases

I do not like comparing distros/livecds but Knoppix had full KDE and then some what on earth is making Archbang so large????

MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#96 2010-02-02 19:41:36

ammon
Member
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 413

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

This is nice. Thanks.

I see you have posted script to install all the packages needed for OB desktop and to config system.
Why not make that like standard Arch feature? Lets call it Arch System Profile (ASF) and make it able to copy list of installed packages into some tarball so other users can use them upon install. So if someone uses Xmonad/xcompmgr/zsh/... and I want to try it I cant get it in few minutes with that script.

Offline

#97 2010-02-02 19:55:56

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

My boots have a 23 second delay while the floppy disk is interrogated and I have none installed.

Is there a way to avoid this delay?

Mr.Green;

Perhaps Knoppix uses compression to reduce the CD size.  I know it does for the DVD version which has close to 3.7GB of compressed data which produces 9.6 GB of installed system programs.  In the DVD case they use two compression devices.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#98 2010-02-02 20:11:35

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

You may not have a floppy drive installed but is it still showing up in bios [just a thought!]

more too the point does anyone use a floppy disc drive any more?

not sure if you can pass any kernel/options at boot time

EDIT just noticed on running Archbang fd0 is created!!! plus lsmod shows floppy !!!!! so is kernel loading it or udev?

may need blacklisting but this is done to the creator to decide


Mr Green

Offline

#99 2010-02-02 23:41:19

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

anonymous_user wrote:

BTW willxtreme you should try to make your ArchBang similar to CrunchBang Lite. Just include basics like :

Firefox
VLC
packer
lxappearance
openbox
obconf
obmenu
conky
tint2
nitrogen
thunar
gmrun
gpicview
file-roller

Good idea

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

what on earth is making Archbang so large????

Lol well the list of packages is available to everyone tongue but for the next release it'll be lighter

lilsirecho wrote:

Suggest it is due to slow USB device response so have need to include a "wait" in boot sequence

there is usbdelay=5 in isolinux.cfg already.

As for the floppy I'll check it out

Right now me & sHy are working on..............an installer for the next version big_smile

Offline

#100 2010-02-03 00:26:34

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Perhaps the delay needs to be =8.

Thanks for considering the floppy suggestion.

Best of luck with the install params.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB