You are not logged in.

#651 2011-04-27 00:01:24

juster
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 195

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Okay the new version 2.0 of yajl was not backwards-compatible with the old yajl (hence the new major-version number). This broke luayajl (aka lua-yajl-git), which is a dependency of clyde. This is because, guess what, luayajl depends on yajl. Thanks to falconindy this is fixed now! Thanks! All hail the falconindy!

The lua-yajl-git package has been unmaintained for awhile now so lua-yajl-git had to be moved to AUR. I adopted it, stuck falconindy's patch in there, and tada it works. As always, let me know if anything is wrong with it and I will try to fix it.

Offline

#652 2011-04-27 00:27:13

chr0nik
Member
From: Michigan, USA
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 31

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Thanks juster & falconindy. Works great again. smile

Offline

#653 2011-04-27 17:13:06

MkFly
Member
From: Mars
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 141

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

anonymous_user wrote:

The problem is that the install reason should be "Explicitly installed" but its not. Installing nd-git (AUR) using clyde I get:

Install Reason : Installed as a dependency for another package

Installing the same package using packer I get:

Install Reason : Explicitly installed

I'm still seeing this as well. sad

Offline

#654 2011-05-01 08:16:20

mrman
Member
Registered: 2010-02-05
Posts: 26

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Awebb wrote:
SanskritFritz wrote:

... and my heart big_smile

First bauerbill, now Yaourty and Clyde. One good thing though: It makes you appreciate what you have in those tools... Manually resolving AUR dependencies isn't fun.

I am just happy that all my built packages are cached so that at least downgrading to a workable state is less painful.

Offline

#655 2011-05-01 14:17:36

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

I don't compress packages I build from AUR, so I have them as foo.pkg.tar. Seems that clyde refuses to install them

==> Tidying install...
  -> Purging other files...
  -> Compressing man and info pages...
  -> Stripping unneeded symbols from binaries and libraries...
==> Creating package...
  -> Generating .PKGINFO file...
  -> Compressing package...
==> Leaving fakeroot environment.
==> Finished making: snappy 1.0.1-1 (nie, 1 maj 2011, 15:53:37 CEST)
error: Could not find a built package in /tmp/clyde-karol/snappy/snappy.

The package is there and installs OK via 'pacman -U foo.pkg.tar'.

Changing PKGEXT in /etc/makepkg.conf to e.g.

PKGEXT='.pkg.tar.gz'

fixes the problem. Is it the only way to do it or am I missing some switch in the configs? It's not a big deal, I'm just curious.

Offline

#656 2011-05-11 21:16:03

lagagnon
Member
From: an Island in the Pacific...
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 1,077
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

I just upgraded pacman, then my system, then rebuilt clyde. Clyde works but when I do a "sudo clyde -Syua" to upgrade all my AUR packages it spits out this:

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS exists in filesystem
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/README exists in filesystem
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/VERSION exists in filesystem
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/_bisect.so exists in filesystem

..., ad infinitum

Any ideas what the problem is?


Philosophy is looking for a black cat in a dark room. Metaphysics is looking for a black cat in a dark room that isn't there. Religion is looking for a black cat in a dark room that isn't there and shouting "I found it!". Science is looking for a black cat in a dark room with a flashlight.

Offline

#657 2011-05-11 22:11:01

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

lagagnon wrote:

I just upgraded pacman, then my system, then rebuilt clyde. Clyde works but when I do a "sudo clyde -Syua" to upgrade all my AUR packages it spits out this:

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS exists in filesystem
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/README exists in filesystem
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/VERSION exists in filesystem
dropbox: /opt/dropbox/_bisect.so exists in filesystem

..., ad infinitum

Any ideas what the problem is?

Ummm https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=56373 ? :-)

Offline

#658 2011-05-11 22:20:35

juster
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 195

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

lagagnon, you may want to use -f to force install.

karol, I forgot to mention I fixed your problem. Thanks for helping pplsz.

Offline

#659 2011-05-11 23:14:47

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

juster wrote:

karol, I forgot to mention I fixed your problem.

Tested and it works great. Thanks for fixing :-)

Offline

#660 2011-05-26 16:00:22

JoeR410
Member
Registered: 2011-05-26
Posts: 3

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Is there a way for clyde to install multiple packages from AUR with one command? For instance, if I were to do something like "clyde -S aur-package-1 aur-package-2", only aur-package-1 would be installed, and after it finishes, I'd have to go back and then do "clyde -S aur-package-2". Obviously not a big deal for a couple of packages, but when it's a dozen or so that should be updated fairly often... it becomes tedious.

Offline

#661 2011-05-28 23:26:41

Mogger
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-12-07
Posts: 153
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Is it possible to make Clyde save the packages, similar to Pacman (/var/cache/pacman/pkg)? I searched through the thread but only found people requesting that. I've also tried to change the CacheDir    = /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ line, but it doesn't seem to do anything.

Offline

#662 2011-05-28 23:53:50

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Mogger wrote:

Is it possible to make Clyde save the packages, similar to Pacman (/var/cache/pacman/pkg)? I searched through the thread but only found people requesting that. I've also tried to change the CacheDir    = /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ line, but it doesn't seem to do anything.

Have you tried BuildDir?

Offline

#663 2011-05-30 16:15:45

Mogger
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-12-07
Posts: 153
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

karol wrote:

Have you tried BuildDir?

Isn't that just a temporary directory Clyde uses to build the package?

# If no BuildDir is set, then a directory is created for your BuildUser
# Otherwise the exact directory name you provide is used.
#BuildDir = /tmp/clyde-<BuildUser> (default when unset)

and no packages in my /tmp/clyde-<BuildUser> (the name of my user).

Offline

#664 2011-05-30 16:26:54

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Mogger wrote:
karol wrote:

Have you tried BuildDir?

Isn't that just a temporary directory Clyde uses to build the package?

# If no BuildDir is set, then a directory is created for your BuildUser
# Otherwise the exact directory name you provide is used.
#BuildDir = /tmp/clyde-<BuildUser> (default when unset)

and no packages in my /tmp/clyde-<BuildUser> (the name of my user).

Have you tried using a folder not in your /tmp?

'man pacman.conf':

CacheDir = path/to/cache/dir
           Overrides the default location of the package cache directory. A typical default is
           {localstatedir}/cache/pacman/pkg/. Multiple cache directories can be specified, and they are tried in the
           order they are listed in the config file. If a file is not found in any cache directory, it will be
           downloaded to the first cache directory with write access.

Last edited by karol (2011-05-30 16:32:27)

Offline

#665 2011-05-30 22:23:33

Mogger
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-12-07
Posts: 153
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

My mistake, of course there's a package in the build dir. However, there are other files there as well, including the tar.gz, the PKGBUILD etc. I only want to save the package.

This is what I would expect CacheDir in /etc/clyde.conf to specify, but Clyde doesn't seem to save any packages there.

Thanks for helping me so far karol, I appreciate it.

Offline

#666 2011-05-30 22:32:50

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Mogger wrote:

My mistake, of course there's a package in the build dir. However, there are other files there as well, including the tar.gz, the PKGBUILD etc. I only want to save the package.

This is what I would expect CacheDir in /etc/clyde.conf to specify, but Clyde doesn't seem to save any packages there.

Thanks for helping me so far karol, I appreciate it.

You can use a cronjob to move / copy them where you want:

find -name "*.pkg.tar*" -exec cp '{}' /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ \;

Offline

#667 2011-05-30 22:59:11

Mogger
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-12-07
Posts: 153
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Thanks, but I'm still not completely satisfied. smile I want to know why Clyde doesn't have this option (is it maybe planned?), or if it does, why it doesn't work for me.

Offline

#668 2011-05-30 23:10:49

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Mogger wrote:

Thanks, but I'm still not completely satisfied. smile I want to know why Clyde doesn't have this option (is it maybe planned?), or if it does, why it doesn't work for me.

If I understand it correctly it works for the packages you download, so only those from the repos:

[karol@black ~]$ grep CacheDir /etc/clyde.conf | grep -v ^#
CacheDir    = /home/karol/foo
[karol@black ~]$ sudo clyde -S zlib
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): zlib-1.2.5-3 [0,09 MB]  

Total Download Size:    0,09 MB
Total Installed Size:   0,32 MB

==> Proceed with installation? [Y/n] 
:: Retrieving packages from core...
zlib-1.2.5-3-i686.pk...   87,3K  357,7K/s 00:00:00 [#############################################################] 100%
checking package integrity...
(1/1) checking package integrity                   [#############################################################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                  [#############################################################] 100%
(1/1) upgrading zlib                               [#############################################################] 100%
[karol@black ~]$ ls foo
zlib-1.2.5-3-i686.pkg.tar.xz

and clyde won't redownload it if it's in the CacheDir - no ':: Retrieving packages from core...' step and 'Total Download Size:    0,00 MB':

[karol@black ~]$ sudo clyde -S zlib
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): zlib-1.2.5-3 [0,09 MB]  

Total Download Size:    0,00 MB
Total Installed Size:   0,32 MB

==> Proceed with installation? [Y/n] 
checking package integrity...
(1/1) checking package integrity                   [#############################################################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                  [#############################################################] 100%
(1/1) upgrading zlib                               [#############################################################] 100%

Last edited by karol (2011-05-30 23:23:28)

Offline

#669 2011-05-30 23:31:36

Mogger
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-12-07
Posts: 153
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Aha, now I understand - that was very well explained, thanks a lot karol. I think I was confused because I'm used to how yaourt works, and I only used yaourt for AUR packages. I'll use your cronjob suggestion then to move the packages.

Offline

#670 2011-06-07 22:56:26

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

[karol@black test]$ sudo clyde -S jumanji
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

<seems to hang forever so I killed it>

^C

Interrupt signal received

[karol@black ~]$ sudo pacman -S jumanji
:: There are 2 providers available for jumanji:
:: Repository archlinuxfr
   1) jumanji-git
:: Repository andrwe
   2) jumanji-git

Enter a number (default=1):

Am I doing something wrong or clyde is having problems with providers?
Is it related to http://projects.archlinux.org/pacman.gi … ?id=v3.5.0 ?

- improved interactive selection for groups/provides (FS#19704, FS#19853)


Edit: Of course 'sudo clyde -S jumanji-git' works and I can install the package via clyde w/o a problem, I'm just curious about the providers.

Last edited by karol (2011-06-07 23:35:49)

Offline

#671 2011-06-11 15:47:08

riivo
Member
Registered: 2008-08-25
Posts: 112

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

I don't know, if it has been discussed before, but I have a small feature request. Could you make Clyde give a warning, as pacman does, when I'm trying to sync a package which is already installed and up-to-date. A better explanation:

~ > sudo pacman -S kernel26
warning: kernel26-2.6.39.1-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): kernel26-2.6.39.1-1

Total Download Size:    0.00 MB
Total Installed Size:   56.01 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] n
~ > sudo clyde -S kernel26
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): kernel26-2.6.39.1-1  

Total Download Size:    0.00 MB
Total Installed Size:   56.01 MB

==> Proceed with installation? [Y/n] n
~ >

Notice the second line. It is also a possibility to look at the total download size, but it may be incorrect, if I have the package downloaded but not installed or if the package is very small in size.

Offline

#672 2011-06-22 02:07:57

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

Just reinstalled arch, and when I try to install something from the AUR with clyde, I get this error:

==> Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
lua: ./clydelib/aur.lua:94: attempt to index local 'pwent' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
    ./clydelib/aur.lua:94: in function 'chown_builduser'
    ./clydelib/aur.lua:106: in function 'make_builddir'
    ./clydelib/sync.lua:1062: in function <./clydelib/sync.lua:998>
    (tail call): ?
    ./clydelib/sync.lua:1519: in function 'clyde_sync'
    ./clydelib/sync.lua:1525: in function <./clydelib/sync.lua:1524>
    (tail call): ?
    /usr/bin/clyde:1108: in function 'main'
    /usr/bin/clyde:1168: in main chunk
    [C]: ?

Installing packages from the repos works fine; it's only when I try to install something from the AUR that I get this.

Anyone have an idea what's wrong? :<


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#673 2011-06-22 11:52:25

Xilon
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 243

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

tacticalbread wrote:

Just reinstalled arch, and when I try to install something from the AUR with clyde, I get this error:

==> Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
lua: ./clydelib/aur.lua:94: attempt to index local 'pwent' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
    ./clydelib/aur.lua:94: in function 'chown_builduser'
    ./clydelib/aur.lua:106: in function 'make_builddir'
    ./clydelib/sync.lua:1062: in function <./clydelib/sync.lua:998>
    (tail call): ?
    ./clydelib/sync.lua:1519: in function 'clyde_sync'
    ./clydelib/sync.lua:1525: in function <./clydelib/sync.lua:1524>
    (tail call): ?
    /usr/bin/clyde:1108: in function 'main'
    /usr/bin/clyde:1168: in main chunk
    [C]: ?

Installing packages from the repos works fine; it's only when I try to install something from the AUR that I get this.

Anyone have an idea what's wrong? :<

The offending code is:

function chown_builduser ( path, ... )                                                                     
    local buser = get_builduser()                                                                          
    local pwent = utilcore.getpwnam( buser )                                                               
    util.chown( buser, pwent.gid, path, ... )                                                              
end  

The call utilcore.getpwnam is just a wrapper around C's getpwnam(), but there is this bit:

    p = getpwnam( name );

    if ( p == NULL ) {
        if ( errno == 0 ) { return 0; }

        lua_pushstring( L, strerror( errno ));
        lua_error( L );
    }

I'm guessing somehow you don't have an entry in /etc/passwd for your user, so the call doesn't push anything on the stack (i.e. return), hence the nil value without an error.

$ grep BuildUser /etc/clyde.conf
BuildUser = idontexist
$ sudo clyde -S clyde-git
:: clyde-git package not found, searching for group...
:: clyde-git group not found, searching AUR...

==> Installing the following packages from AUR
Targets (1): clyde-git  

==> Proceed with installation? [Y/n] 
lua: /usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/aur.lua:94: attempt to index local 'pwent' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
    /usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/aur.lua:94: in function 'chown_builduser'
    /usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/aur.lua:106: in function 'make_builddir'
    /usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/sync.lua:1062: in function </usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/sync.lua:998>
    (tail call): ?
    /usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/sync.lua:1519: in function 'clyde_sync'
    /usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/sync.lua:1525: in function </usr/share/lua/5.1/clydelib/sync.lua:1524>
    (tail call): ?
    /usr/bin/clyde:1108: in function 'main'
    /usr/bin/clyde:1168: in main chunk
    [C]: ?

And here's a fix.

Last edited by Xilon (2011-06-22 12:48:10)

Offline

#674 2011-06-22 18:41:04

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

oh right, I just remembered I created a new user and deleted the old one, so the BuildUser did not infact exist in /etc/passwd.

Thanks for the fix too!


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#675 2011-06-23 19:33:15

sarbash
Member
From: Russia, Naberezhnye Chelny
Registered: 2011-03-15
Posts: 32

Re: Clyde - A better libalpm/makepkg wrapper

And what about installing AUR pkgs as dependencies? Bug or feature? Does need a fix or just --asexplicit is enough?
Thank you in advance for an answer.

Best regards,
Sergey.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB