You are not logged in.

#26 2010-03-29 02:48:01

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

Hi everyone!
About 36 hours ago I updated and I think ghc update was in there. Upon reboot xmonad tried though failed to start with that libgmp.so.3 error.

Thanks to tips here I eventually twigged to download gmp-4.3.2.tar.bz2. Extracted, changed directory to extracted folder, then: Did a  ./configure then a 'make'    [NOT a make install]
http://gmplib.org/

[detailed above for those with about my skill level]

Next:

Found the libgmp.so.3 symlink (in it's build folder, obviously, folder called 'libs' I think) AND copied what it's pointed to as well, libgmp.so.3.5.2

Threw them both in  /usr/lib and THANKS to everyone here I'm up again with xmonad darcs and all!

Quite funnily enjoyable all that!
Should mention I puzzled over-night on it and had dwm doing window management for a time.

dwm's great to have as it's a grand thing and it's just the one file and a pleasure to have at the ready now and then.
ahh, xmonad. bliss.

Guess I'm now thinking on what's next. Perhaps some interesting updates that will settle things back in.:)

Last edited by yvonney (2010-03-29 02:53:24)

Offline

#27 2010-03-29 07:25:21

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

bachismyhero wrote:

Xmonad still isn't working for me; I'm not running testing, and my Xmonad (0.9.1) is still giving me the "libgmp.so.3" nonsense.  I have all the latest packages.  Is there something I'm not doing?  If it can be fixed with a symlink, which libgmp(xx) file do I need to symlink to?

Thanks.

on the irc, somebody said to use xmodnad --recompile and if doesn't work, remove xmonad-contrib and reinstall.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#28 2010-03-29 07:48:03

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

Sorry you're having problems. I'm guessing there may be more of us recently.

download and unarc the 4.3.2 package from my last post.
rename the folder gmp
go to the folder  like:   cd /root/gmp
type:  ./configure
then after that's done type:  make [DON'T type make install or install]
then go into the same folder and one of the new folders that's been 'make'd will be  'libs' or similar.

In there there's you need only 2 files

the symlink file called: libgmp.so.3     right click on that and you'll see it's properties tells you it's going to fire up the other one you need which is libgmp.so.3.5.2   I believe it is. I'll check after I post this.


Then put them in   /usr/lib

SO: you just need two already done files you'll find in the folder you 'make' gmp 4.3.2 in. see link in my last post here to DLoad.
reboot or whatever and it'll work!

I enjoyed the day I lost of xmonadness.... hehe   um, really, I actually did, as I learned a bit!
used dwm for a day. And learned a bit more about symlinks   funny how one is good enough at some deeper stuff and missing some basics.
like me!

NOTE: oh yes, before I figured out the download then make gmp.4.3.2 I installed a later version of gmp via regular pacman. Didn't have the so.3 or so.3.5.2 files though.... I'm mostly certain.
Not sure what relevance this all may have and was surprised that I 'think' gmp wasn't on my system prior.
Could be mistaken in my recollection or logic, though worth mentioning.

AND of course: sorry if I missed something and what's above is already in your skill-set. kinda late-night.

Last edited by yvonney (2010-03-29 07:59:16)

Offline

#29 2010-03-29 07:58:04

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

That is one fix...  but in fact it should be an entirely unnecessary workaround.   So I really would not recommend it.

Offline

#30 2010-03-29 08:01:36

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

right Allan agreed/understood. Seemed logical for me to do then be aware of.
Had no luck with other options.
My skills and perhaps using darcs version?
dunno.
can't recall doing recompile etc. should try that.
though got the feeling there's more updates  to follow and my love of xmonad will certainly have me aware when things happen. um, hopefully.
ALL in all I was happy to be running again. A bit surprised when I managed it.
However my system hobbles along is fine as I'm learning a lot as usual I feel.

So, didn't read a definitive for regular or darcs xomonad-ers
MOST interested of course.

Last edited by yvonney (2010-03-29 08:05:01)

Offline

#31 2010-03-29 08:04:07

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

If you are using a darcs versions (from the AUR), a recompile will fix this.

Offline

#32 2010-03-29 08:06:24

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

Sincerely appreciate the accurate and sensible/right way of doing things being posted.
Will do/try tomorrow and write back.
thanks to all again.

Last edited by yvonney (2010-03-29 08:07:53)

Offline

#33 2010-03-29 08:31:34

simuru
Member
Registered: 2008-07-13
Posts: 15

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

Yep recompiling xmonad shoud do and does the job just fine smile

simply:

xmonad --recompile && startx

//startx in my case - if u don't use a loginmanager etc.

Offline

#34 2010-03-29 15:59:11

crevecoeur
Member
Registered: 2010-03-29
Posts: 6

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

After the gmp update, I reinstalled ghc, all of the other necessary haskell dependencies, xmonad-darcs, xmonad-contrib-darcs, and xmobar-darcs. An xmonad --recompile got xmonad working, but the xmobar display font is larger such that the information on the right half of the bar runs into that on left half. At first I thought that my screen resolution was lower, but it is the correct 1440x900, as the following xrandr output demonstrates:

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1440 x 900, maximum 1440 x 900
default connected 1440x900+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1440x900       50.0* 
   1024x768       51.0  
   800x600        52.0     53.0  
   640x512        54.0  
   640x480        55.0     56.0  
   512x384        57.0  
   400x300        58.0  
   320x240        59.0

Reducing the font size corrects the problem somewhat, but I don't understand why the (relative) size of the fonts has changed.

Additionally, xmobar is no longer correctly displaying the greek unicode letters I use as workspace labels.

Here are the relevant portions of my .xmobarrc:


Config { font = "xft:Terminus-14:hinting=true"
       , bgColor = "#321414"
       , fgColor = "grey"
       , position = Top 
       , commands = [ <...>
                    ]   
       , sepChar = "%" 
       , alignSep = "}{"
       , template = "%StdinReader% | %wlan0% | %battery% | %cpu%}{<fc=#ee9a00>%date%</fc> | %uname%"
       }

"<...>" in the above code are just the various commands, removed for brevity.

Any help anyone can provide would be appreciated.


Desktop Systems: Arch Linux and Mac OSX

Offline

#35 2010-03-29 17:23:41

crevecoeur
Member
Registered: 2010-03-29
Posts: 6

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

In addition, here is the result of "ghc-pkg list":

/usr/lib/ghc-6.12.1/package.conf.d
   Cabal-1.8.0.2
   X11-1.5.0.0
   X11-xft-0.3
   array-0.3.0.0
   base-3.0.3.2
   base-4.2.0.0
   bin-package-db-0.0.0.0
   bytestring-0.9.1.5
   containers-0.3.0.0
   directory-1.0.1.0
   dph-base-0.4.0
   dph-par-0.4.0
   dph-prim-interface-0.4.0
   dph-prim-par-0.4.0
   dph-prim-seq-0.4.0
   dph-seq-0.4.0
   extensible-exceptions-0.1.1.1
   ffi-1.0
   filepath-1.1.0.3
   ghc-6.12.1
   ghc-binary-0.5.0.2
   ghc-prim-0.2.0.0
   haskell98-1.0.1.1
   hpc-0.5.0.4
   integer-gmp-0.2.0.0
   mtl-1.1.0.2
   old-locale-1.0.0.2
   old-time-1.0.0.3
   pretty-1.0.1.1
   process-1.0.1.2
   random-1.0.0.2
   rts-1.0
   syb-0.1.0.2
   template-haskell-2.4.0.0
   time-1.1.4
   unix-2.4.0.0
   utf8-string-0.3.6
   xmonad-0.9.1
   xmonad-contrib-0.9.1

Desktop Systems: Arch Linux and Mac OSX

Offline

#36 2010-03-29 19:15:01

bachismyhero
Member
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 4

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

[mmr@compy ~]$ pacman -Si xmonad | grep Version
Version        : 0.9.1-3

Offline

#37 2010-03-29 19:22:18

bachismyhero
Member
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 4

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

xmonad --recompile worked for me.  Sorry I didn't see that until now - I've only had a few minutes to sit at my machine in the last week.  Thanks all!

Offline

#38 2010-03-30 13:11:25

crevecoeur
Member
Registered: 2010-03-29
Posts: 6

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

Okay, I figured out how to fix the problem I mentioned above with the Terminus font. I am posting this here in case anyone else has the same problem.

For some reason, xmobar is no longer correctly interpreting the "xft" type of font definition for Terminus on my machines. I can still define other fonts, such as Mph-2b-Damase that way. However, it seems like when I use "xft:Terminus-14:hinting=true" in .xmobarrc, xmobar is loading the console version of the font (not the X11 one). That would explain why the font being displayed is clearly Terminus, but at a different relative size and without greek characters.

Fortunately, changing the font definition in .xmobarrc to the following solves the problem:

font = "-xos4-terminus-medium-r-normal--14-140-72-72-c-80-iso8859-1"

Of course you could use another size/face of Terminus to the same effect. Look in "/usr/share/fonts/local/fonts.dir" to find other useable definitions.

Last edited by crevecoeur (2010-03-30 13:54:31)


Desktop Systems: Arch Linux and Mac OSX

Offline

#39 2010-03-30 13:21:23

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,731

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

crevecoeur wrote:

Of course you could use another size/face of Terminus to the same effect. Look in "/usr/share/fonts/local/fonts.dir" to find other useable definitions.

or install and run xfontsel


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#40 2010-04-12 15:47:12

portwolf
Member
Registered: 2008-09-09
Posts: 9

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

I am still stuck in my console. I've read the whole thread (amongst others) but still it doesnt work. I can't use xmonad --recompile, if I do, I get this: Error: Can't open display: 
I reinstalled ghc and rebuild xmonad-contrib-darcs, still nothing. What am I doing wrong? Please guys help me out, I am sick of my laptop wink

/EDIT
ok, got it now with a load of help from the #xmonad channel!
I had to delete the xmonad-x86_64-linux file in my ~/.xmonad/ directory. then start X/xmonad, xmonad then rebuilts the bin and everything works fine. ok that is what I've done:
1. uninstall ghc and every package regarding xmonad
2. reinstall ghc, and the other packages except from xmonad-contrib-darcs
3. rebuilt xmonad-contrib-darcs with abs
4. reinstall xmonad-contrib-darcs.tar.gz with pacman/clyde/yaourt -U xmonad-contrib-darcs.tar.gz
I hope that helps

Last edited by portwolf (2010-04-12 20:00:28)

Offline

#41 2010-04-13 00:23:21

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

@portwolf,

This is what I discovered when this thread was first happening. Everyone that reads my posts know that I'm always discouraging the use of symlinks. Going against my usual advice, I decided to try a hack as an emergency measure. I rebuilt GHC with it succesfully linking to the new gmp, removed the old gmp, rebuild GHC again to make sure that I didn't create a broken build, recompiled xmonad, and figured everything was alright.

Man was I wrong. I found evidence immediately that xmonad believed that it was somehow linked to both the old and the new gmp libraries. It wasn't until I deleted the binary file in ~/.xmonad that I got a clean build.

I'm posting this to both remind everyone that symlinking often has very hard to detect consequences as illustrated by my own mistake and that xmonad's binary in ~/.xmonad may have a mind of its own.

Offline

#42 2010-04-14 11:36:14

Profjim
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2008-03-24
Posts: 658

Re: The gmp upgrade and Haskell --or-- my mouse can't count [SOLVED]

Wow that's nasty. And rebuilding GHC twice is a pain, that takes forever.

I don't use xmonad, and don't have deep familiarity with the way GHC handles linking/libraries. But I've seen similar issues with other GHC-compiled stuff refusing to acknowledge any changes with what libraries were installed. In the cases I saw, they were other haskell libs.

At this point, I just rebuild the whole ghc toolchain everytime I want to change non-terminal parts of it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB