You are not logged in.

#51 2005-02-23 03:46:44

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

btw there is something wrong with bash, after you run one command it just stops working and the prompt disappears. might wanna recompile it. i am also gonna compile stuff like xfce4 and kde.

Offline

#52 2005-02-23 09:16:25

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Arch x86_64

Hi!

I have look every day into this threat. I´m running  Arch on an AMD 64 3200+.
It looks you´ve done good work and the base-system is ported to amd 64. Bu i´ve got some questions now. Will it be possible, to update/upgrade my base-system to 64-bit and all my others stuff will work either (like the nvidia-drivers, fluxbox,TeX,....) If so, i would like to help porting programs to 64 bit. Maybe anyone can write a lil how to. Or should changes in the makepkg.conf do trick?

Offline

#53 2005-02-23 12:15:28

Creepy
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-09-20
Posts: 48

Re: Arch x86_64

syamajala wrote:

btw there is something wrong with bash, after you run one command it just stops working and the prompt disappears. might wanna recompile it. i am also gonna compile stuff like xfce4 and kde.

Hmm.. can't seem to reproduce that here... could you produce the output from "ldconfig -v"? (read: is LD using both /lib and /lib64 and bot /usr/lib and /usr/lib64?).

@Legout: You cannot update your current running arch to a 64bit userland. You have to do a fresh install from a running 64bit distro. I'll try to make thing easier by providing a generic 64bit kernel. With that we can make a bootcd.

Offline

#54 2005-02-23 13:29:23

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

Creepy yeah its using /lib /lib64 /usr/lib and /usr/lib64, but its ok i just did a quick fix by copying bash from gentoo. Been having a hard time with getting wget and cvsup to work. cvsup keeps giving an error that says "name lookup failure for "cvs.archlinux.org": host name lookup failed" but i can ping cvs.archlinux.org fine and use links. haven't been able to compile wget.

Offline

#55 2005-02-23 19:46:51

Creepy
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-09-20
Posts: 48

Re: Arch x86_64

Weird.. I'll bootstrap my 64 bit arch again and see if I can reproduce your problems

I haven't tested csvup yet with the glibc32 package.. will do that too.

Offline

#56 2005-02-24 13:44:38

mmccaskill
Member
From: NC
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 163

Re: Arch x86_64

I am getting an Athlon64 3200+ Socket939 next week. 1GB RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 6600 GT PCIe, WD SATA 74GB 10000RPM Raptor, 19inch LCD. Anyway I would definately like to help but am unsure as to how to start. If I get this right, the first step is to get the machine to boot to a tru 64bit OS. So I guess I could put x86_64 Gentoo on it?

Offline

#57 2005-02-24 14:29:26

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

thats one way. After you get your 64bit os up what you do is install pacman (ex. in gentoo unmask libtar and emerge libtar, then download pacman http://archlinux.org/pacman/ and download the amd64 packages. format your arch amd64 partition and mount it (ex. mke2fs -j /dev/hdawhatever, mount /dev/hdawhatever /mnt/arch64). cd to the dir. where the amd64 packages are and pacman -Ar /mnt/arch64 glibc... then continue on with binutils, and other junk tongue. For a kernel you can download the vanilla sources from kernel.org build it and copy /usr/src/linux/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage to your /boot partition one thing to remember is don't forget to install the udev package!!! its pretty simple. there isn't really much point in writing a better how to since creepy seems to be close to what would be called "done".

Offline

#58 2005-02-24 20:39:10

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

Creepy: just did a quick reinstall of arch x86_64 completely cleaned my system and got rid of all the other stuff i had on it and created a grub floppy. no problems so far everything is working. i also updated the xorg pkg. to xorg 6.8.2 its on my mirror, i think we need to setup a master mirror though make it easier to contribute btw there is also a problem with the xorg pkgbuild but i haven't fixed it yet, the lib dirs. in /usr/X11R6/ need to be copied to /lib and /lib64 respecitively. also gonna start on a 64bit xfce4. i would like to talk on irc sometime.

all the new packages i compile will be in http://arch2.genesis.blogdns.net/new

Offline

#59 2005-02-25 04:06:54

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

k so i made tons of progress today compiling random things. my system has FINALLY stopped with the random reboots. w00t! anyway i compiled stuff like blackbox, and other random things. got a working xorg 6.8.2 didn't completely fix it but it works (if anyone tries it u have to copy stuff i'll fix the pkgbuild for it later) also tried to get a working glib 1.3 but its been hard, might file a bug report later. built a 64bit mono!! full list here

acpi-0.07-1.pkg.tar.gz
apache-2.0.53-1.pkg.tar.gz
arch-1.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
aterm-0.4.2-4.pkg.tar.gz
autofs-4.1.3-1.pkg.tar.gz
bc-1.06-2.pkg.tar.gz
bind-9.3.0-3.pkg.tar.gz
blackbox-0.65.0-4.pkg.tar.gz
centericq-4.20.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
ctorrent-1.3.4-1.pkg.tar.gz
cups-1.1.23-3.pkg.tar.gz
curl-7.13.0-2.pkg.tar.gz
cvs-1.11.18-1.pkg.tar.gz
cyrus-sasl-2.1.20-1.pkg.tar.gz
daemontools-0.76-4.pkg.tar.gz
distcc-2.18.3-1.pkg.tar.gz
dosfstools-2.10-1.pkg.tar.gz
doxygen-1.4.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
enigma-1.04-1.pkg.tar.gz
ez-ipupdate-3.0.11b8-2.pkg.tar.gz
figlet-2.2.1-2.pkg.tar.gz
gawk-3.1.4-1.pkg.tar.gz
gc-6.4-1.pkg.tar.gz
gd-2.0.33-1.pkg.tar.gz
glut-3.7-4.pkg.tar.gz
gmp-4.1.4-1.pkg.tar.gz
gvim-6.3-5.pkg.tar.gz
hdparm-5.9-1.pkg.tar.gz
host-20040812-1.pkg.tar.gz
icu-3.0-2.pkg.tar.gz
ipfm-0.11.5-3.pkg.tar.gz
ippl-1.4.14-1.pkg.tar.gz
iptables-1.3.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
isapnptools-1.26-1.pkg.tar.gz
jack-audio-connection-kit-0.99.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
joe-3.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
libdaemon-0.7-1.pkg.tar.gz
libid3tag-0.15.1b-1.pkg.tar.gz
libmad-0.15.1b-1.pkg.tar.gz
libsndfile-1.0.11-1.pkg.tar.gz
libungif-4.1.3-1.pkg.tar.gz
lzo-1.08-1.pkg.tar.gz
madplay-0.15.2b-1.pkg.tar.gz
makedev-3.3.10-1.pkg.tar.gz
mc-4.6.0-4.pkg.tar.gz
mdadm-1.9.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
mdnsresponder-98-1.pkg.tar.gz
mono-1.0.6-1.pkg.tar.gz
mozilla-firefox-1.0-3.pkg.tar.gz
nail-11.13-1.pkg.tar.gz
nasm-0.98.38-1.pkg.tar.gz
nbsmtp-0.98-1.pkg.tar.gz
ncftp-3.1.8-1.pkg.tar.gz
neon-0.24.7-1.pkg.tar.gz
net-snmp-5.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
netpipes-4.2-1.pkg.tar.gz
netselect-0.3-1.pkg.tar.gz
nfs-utils-1.0.6-2.pkg.tar.gz
ntp-4.2.0-3.pkg.tar.gz
openal-20041015-1.pkg.tar.gz
openslp-1.2.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
rar-3.4.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
rdesktop-1.3.1-3.pkg.tar.gz
rxvt-2.6.4-2.pkg.tar.gz
samba-3.0.11-1.pkg.tar.gz
socat-1.4.0.3-1.pkg.tar.gz
sudo-1.6.8-5.pkg.tar.gz
vsftpd-2.0.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
windowmaker-0.91.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
xaw3d-1.5-2.pkg.tar.gz
xfsprogs-2.6.25-1.pkg.tar.gz
xinetd-2.3.13-1.pkg.tar.gz
xorg-11R6.8.2-2.pkg.tar.gz
xplanet-1.1.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
zope-2.7.3-1.pkg.tar.gz
zsync-0.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz

Offline

#60 2005-02-25 10:41:34

Creepy
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-09-20
Posts: 48

Re: Arch x86_64

Wow!! Nice!
Good to see a clean reinstall got rid of the problems. I'll join IRC when I have the time. Last week has been very very busy for me, and still is a.t.m.

When I compiled Xorg it gave me problems later on because libXau was not build shared. So I fixed the PKG build en recompiled X with a shared libXau

Offline

#61 2005-02-25 21:06:18

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

screenshot.png

64bit anjuta, firefox, and blackbox!  tongue

Offline

#62 2005-02-26 04:33:32

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

creepy: there is a problem.  sad glib 1.3.9 (latest glib1 in the series) doesn't build on the amd64. i reported the bug but the developers aren't going to fix it, because glib1 is old. so gtk1 can't be built  sad but other than that i got some packages compiled today. like mozilla thunderbird and the stuff in /var/abs/network is almost all done except for stuff that depend on gtk and xchat which wouldn't build because of cflags but i'll fix that tomorrow. i'll look into how gentoo does glib maybe we can borrow some patches.

Offline

#63 2005-02-26 20:45:06

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

sorry! i was in a busy place when we were talking on irc. it was kinda hard to talk on irc and talk to other people at the same time. but anyway i made a test kernel using the kernel26 pkgbuild and changed a few things (ex. added ia32 emulation), if you are running arch 32bit on your system using kernel26 then this should work. its the kernel26-amd64 in http://arch2.genesis.blogdns.net/new/ a kernel26-amd64-scsi is on the way...

Offline

#64 2005-03-01 22:38:05

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

made a scsi kernel... got rid of the new dir. on the mirror so everything is in the same place... also put some sata drives in my amd64 to test out the scsi kernel but i couldn't boot with the kernel because of a panic... if anyone else tried it?

Offline

#65 2005-03-02 15:23:46

Evangel
Member
From: Germany - Hechingen/Balingen
Registered: 2004-02-22
Posts: 36

Re: Arch x86_64

is it possible to you to make your PKGBUILDs aviable? Would be really nice...

Thank you.

Offline

#66 2005-03-02 19:30:29

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

most of the pkgbuilds i used were stock didn't have to change anything for a 64bit version... there were a few like the kernel that needed changes.

Offline

#67 2005-03-07 00:58:04

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

things have been wicked crazy lately, school, couple of late nights with my friends and parents, and the ap calc. class i am taking is almost near the end and the exam should be soon but i don't think i'll take it since its optional and i will have to take it again in the 12th grade... been trying to get a few things going like nvidia drivers and java, more later...

Offline

#68 2005-03-07 08:34:13

Creepy
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-09-20
Posts: 48

Re: Arch x86_64

Most PKGBuild haven't changed indeed. A few have but it usualy consist of chaning /lib to /lib64 or /usr/lib to /usr/lib64.

Thing have been very busy for me as well. I'll try to make some this this week to finish some things like grub. I'll post changed PKGBuilds when it's self hosting (read: that (*&^$#$# multilib gcc is able to compile itself wink ).

Offline

#69 2005-03-08 11:15:49

Evangel
Member
From: Germany - Hechingen/Balingen
Registered: 2004-02-22
Posts: 36

Re: Arch x86_64

hi,
thanks for reply. I was able to install archlinux (amd64) from the gentoo 2004.3 LiveCD for amd64 without  installing gentoo itself. I could compile lilo but i was not able to get dhcpcd and wget working. So i copied them from the gentoo cd. If you are interested and i have the time i could write a little howto...

so far, nice work.

bye
EvE

Offline

#70 2005-03-08 19:30:32

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

yeah dhcp is buggy, but it works fine with a static ip. i should have a wget package on my mirror. btw just wondering which kernel you are using.

Offline

#71 2005-03-09 04:38:20

mmccaskill
Member
From: NC
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 163

Re: Arch x86_64

Yes please make a write up on how you did this. I would like to install arch64 on my system

Offline

#72 2005-03-10 14:31:56

god
Member
Registered: 2004-12-01
Posts: 25

Re: Arch x86_64

Yeah, actually, a lot of people I've spoken with are eagerly anticipating progress on this port. Perhaps a wiki could be hoisted up to guide people through the install process. Also, an FAQ would be helpful for related issues (i.e. SATA usability, RAID configuration, etc.).

Thanks a lot for all your hard work. It's much appreciated!

God

Offline

#73 2005-03-11 20:50:01

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

my web server will be down for a few hours while i upgrade/reformat it... i am running really low on space and most of the stuff i don't need anymore. btw the faq/wiki will be up after the reformat, post questions u think should go in the faq, if someone wants to write a how to for installing from the gentoo live cd i would really appreciate it.

Offline

#74 2005-03-12 04:39:05

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch x86_64

the update went smoothly, and i am currently working on a site. people that wanna see it http://genesis.blogdns.net/ i have setup trac for a wiki, bug reports, and subversion tracking, all my pkgbuilds will go in there. also setup hula! tomorrow i'll start writing the backend for the blog. anyone still interested in writing the guide email me at syamajala@genesis.blogdns.net lol

Offline

#75 2005-03-13 14:02:21

Hippuh
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 22

Re: Arch x86_64

I was just wondering since ill get my new amd 64 proc next week can i install the packages over my existing 32bit arch or do i have to like reintall it using a 64bit live cd?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB