You are not logged in.

#1776 2013-08-15 11:31:53

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,013
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Same here I love and will continue to use dwb as my main browser.  For a while though I didn't even have a "backup browser" installed.  I've now set up vimperator on the work computer, but it's still just dwb on the others.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#1777 2013-08-15 16:25:36

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Yes, I use dwb as main browser as well.

Offline

#1778 2013-08-15 16:59:50

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

mwgkgk wrote:

I indeed use vimperator (pentadactyl does not seem to support modern firefox versions)...

This is not entirely true.  If you use pentadactyl-hg from the AUR, it will work.  But for some reason, the PKGBUILD seds in an artificial limitation on the Firefox version to 22 (sed -i 's/em:maxVersion="\(.*\)"/em:maxVersion\="22.0"/' pentadactyl/install.rdf).  I'm sure this has a reason at some point, but it just makes it not work now.  If you just comment this line out, or delete it entirely, pentadactyl works fine with the current firefox.

I miss dwb... I too still use it on all but one computer.  I am trying to hold on to it as best I can, but I still have to have a backup browser in place, so firefox/pentadactyl is what I have chosen.  I also have chromium/vimium set up as well. But that only offers some very basic dwb like features.

Offline

#1779 2013-08-15 18:37:01

nfisher.sr
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 38
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

I have Chromium installed, but only so my daughter has a browser to use that she's comfortable with. I've been using DWB daily without crashes.

I used to use Midori, but since their gtk3 migration I started seeing the types of crashes being alluded to here. So maybe if I moved to the gtk3 version of DWB I'd see those things too? I don't know. Not wanting to try right now.

Offline

#1780 2013-08-15 23:32:14

z1lt0id
Member
Registered: 2012-09-20
Posts: 168

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

I tried moving to the GTK3 version of DWB but for some bizarre reason it thinks I don't have flash installed or play html5 videos even though I have the appropiate packages installed.

Offline

#1781 2013-08-15 23:36:42

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

z1lt0id wrote:

I tried moving to the GTK3 version of DWB but for some bizarre reason it thinks I don't have flash installed

webkitgtk3 doesn't support flash, only webkitgtk2 and webkit2gtk3 do support flash. the latter only if gtk2 is installed.

Offline

#1782 2013-08-15 23:37:20

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,431

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

z1lt0id wrote:

I tried moving to the GTK3 version of DWB but for some bizarre reason it thinks I don't have flash installed or play html5 videos even though I have the appropiate packages installed.

IIRC gtk3 doesn't work with flashplugin, Adobe's flashplugin is gtk2 only.
nwm

Last edited by karol (2013-08-15 23:38:13)

Offline

#1783 2013-08-16 20:10:03

unma
Member
Registered: 2012-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

You can use nspluginwrapper from multilib to use flash with the gtk3 version of webkit.

Offline

#1784 2013-08-18 08:12:48

rg_arc
Member
From: Hattiesburg
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 490
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

How do you delete the cache and history in dwb? Do you have to delete it one by one manually, or is there a command to use to remove the cache?

Offline

#1785 2013-08-18 08:22:44

lahwaacz
Wiki Admin
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-05-29
Posts: 466

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

rg_arc wrote:

How do you delete the cache and history in dwb? Do you have to delete it one by one manually, or is there a command to use to remove the cache?

History is simple - just delete ~/.config/dwb/<profile>/history (<profile> is usually 'default').

Offline

#1786 2013-08-18 09:49:59

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

The history can also deleted with

:sanitize history

dwb itself uses no cache, webkit's cache cannot be cleared, you can reload sites without using webkit's cache with

:reload_bypasss_cache

Edit: :sanitize history not only deletes ~/.config/dwb/<profile>/history but also deletes the history of every tab.

Last edited by portix (2013-08-18 09:54:08)

Offline

#1787 2013-08-18 18:49:56

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

....and I'm back to dwb.  I just disabled java entirely and things seem to be going pretty well.  I got firefox/pentadactly working pretty much how I like it, but firefox is unfortunately just sluggish feeling.  At first I though I was just being whiny because it was not my browser of choice.  But then I tried my chromium setup with vimium, and indeed it seemed a hell of a lot faster.

So again, thanks portix for making a browser I just can't do without.  Even with all its quirks, it is still IMO the best one around.

Offline

#1788 2013-08-20 21:32:34

lharding
Member
From: Portland, OR
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 14
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Thank you portix for this awesome browser. I installed it to use on my Pandora and now I'm hooked enough that I'm using it on my work machine.

Question about multiple windows (as opposed to tabs): ps reports that each window gets it's own process, which is cool, but it also seems like the instances don't know about each other at all - e.g. history and settings get overwritten to be those of the most recently closed window, etc. Is that true and/or by design, or do I have something else hosed with my config?

Offline

#1789 2013-08-21 13:40:55

bratmaxe
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 71

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

I'm currently trying to make the mouse wheel scroll faster by making use of dwb's scroll step setting. I have no programming experience, but I came up with this script:

//!javascript

signals.connect("onButtonPress", function(wv, result, event) {
  if (event.button == 4)
    execute("scroll_up");
  else if (event.button == 5)
    execute("scroll_down");
});

If I replace the button numbers above (4&5) with 2&3 it works, but with the wrong mouse buttons. If I use the numbers 4&5(these should be wheel up and wheel down?), the script does nothing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Offline

#1790 2013-08-21 17:01:49

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

bratmaxe wrote:

I'm currently trying to make the mouse wheel scroll faster by making use of dwb's scroll step setting. I have no programming experience, but I came up with this script:

//!javascript

signals.connect("onButtonPress", function(wv, result, event) {
  if (event.button == 4)
    execute("scroll_up");
  else if (event.button == 5)
    execute("scroll_down");
});

If I replace the button numbers above (4&5) with 2&3 it works, but with the wrong mouse buttons. If I use the numbers 4&5(these should be wheel up and wheel down?), the script does nothing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

The reason why it doesn't work with 4 and 5 is that buttonPress is not emitted for those buttons, you can use the scroll-event instead:

Signal.connect("scroll", function(w, e) { 
    if (e.direction == "up") {
        ....
    }
    else if (e.direction == "down")
    {
        ...
    }
});

However, scroll only works with dwb-git.

Offline

#1791 2013-08-21 18:01:37

bratmaxe
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 71

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Thank you very, very much, portix! It works. I think I only looked on the stable api page, despite the fact that I'm using the git version.

Offline

#1792 2013-08-22 04:17:45

lharding
Member
From: Portland, OR
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 14
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

lharding wrote:

Question about multiple windows (as opposed to tabs): ps reports that each window gets it's own process, which is cool, but it also seems like the instances don't know about each other at all - e.g. history and settings get overwritten to be those of the most recently closed window, etc. Is that true and/or by design, or do I have something else hosed with my config?

Doh. I just found this issue, which would explain the behavior I'm seeing. Sorry for the repeated question.

Offline

#1793 2013-08-23 13:58:53

sardina
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 146
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Fellow dwb users, I have a little questions.

Sometimes font in boxes or buttons is a little blurred.

example.png

What is to change in my settings?

Offline

#1794 2013-08-23 14:45:07

ywh
Member
Registered: 2013-08-18
Posts: 2

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

thanks for developing dwb .
Is there any plan of porting to webkit2 ? The webkit1 has lots of bug , and often gets stuck . I love dwb very much , but the bugs prevent me from using it . So pity to use webkit1 .

Offline

#1795 2013-08-23 16:30:02

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

@sardina: You could reject Clean in your fontconfig, that should fix the issue, take a look at archlinux dwb wiki.
@ywh: No, at least i won't port dwb to webkit2, i know that webkit isn't really stable, webkit2 isn't really better and i don't want to waste my time porting it from one crap library to another crap library. Also, the webkit2 api is just too limited, i would have to drop many features that i want in dwb.

Offline

#1796 2013-08-23 18:21:29

sardina
Member
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 146
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

@portix

My fontconfig/fonts.conf contains the wiki code already.

Offline

#1797 2013-08-23 20:44:45

Liuuutas
Member
From: Cambridge
Registered: 2009-05-02
Posts: 71

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Hello,

I was wondering if this was ever reported, but would it be possible to have a different window class for a flash video (e.g. youtube video) fullscreen window? It would be much easier to tell window managers (like awesome) to write rules so that the flash windows are handled correctly. As far as I know firefox, chromium behaves as expected (i.e. the window class for the flash window is different than the browser one).

Cheers,

I.

Offline

#1798 2013-08-23 22:27:45

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Liuuutas wrote:

Hello,

I was wondering if this was ever reported, but would it be possible to have a different window class for a flash video (e.g. youtube video) fullscreen window? It would be much easier to tell window managers (like awesome) to write rules so that the flash windows are handled correctly. As far as I know firefox, chromium behaves as expected (i.e. the window class for the flash window is different than the browser one).

Cheers,

I.

No, that's not possible with webkitgtk, dwb doesn't know when a flash video is fullscreen, in webkitgtk there is no control over flash.

Offline

#1799 2013-08-23 23:13:40

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,013
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Liuuutas wrote:

would it be possible to have a different window class for a flash video (e.g. youtube video) fullscreen window? It would be much easier to tell window managers (like awesome) to write rules so that the flash windows are handled correctly.

I'm curious what is not handled correctly - they work perfectly for me - and I'm pretty sure my WM is 'dumber' than yours wink.  If you want to follow this up in another thread, feel free to drop a link here and I can try to give a hand.  While the inner workings of web browsers are well beyond me, I am pretty comfortable hacking around in window manager and X11 code (though not lua in the specific case of awesomewm).  While webkit may not make this easy, there may be a way to attack the issue from the other end.

EDIT: NET_WM_NAME or NET_WM_ICON_NAME would work for this.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-08-25 11:42:02)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#1800 2013-08-25 02:44:12

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

portix,

I got to thinking about this and I realized that I haven't said thanks in a while, so...

Thank you for doing this. webkitgtk may not be ideal, but dwb is truly an outstanding piece of software. I very much appreciate all of the hard work that you've put into this project.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB