You are not logged in.

#1926 2013-12-03 10:28:38

pezzonovante
Member
Registered: 2013-10-25
Posts: 40

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Thank you! That's worked fine on a global basis. But perdomainsettings only allows webkitwebsettings. So it seems not possible to apply the above rule to a specific website.

Offline

#1927 2013-12-03 10:34:09

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

user-stylesheet-uri is a webkitsetting, you can create a stylesheet file for facebook and set user-stylesheet-uri with perdomainsettings.

Offline

#1928 2013-12-03 10:39:34

pezzonovante
Member
Registered: 2013-10-25
Posts: 40

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Wow! That's brilliant! It worked perfectly. Thanks a lot for the help.

Offline

#1929 2013-12-03 12:26:56

franziskaner.fan
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2011-07-01
Posts: 23
Website

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Hi there again,
I'm having some extrange issues copy/pasting code from dwb, I'm just copying some oracle query's from my work wiki (hosted on google sites) and pasting it directly to SQL*.
I think dwb is messing with the spaces, when I copy the query from dwb:

    SELECT TS# NEXT_TABLESPACE FROM
*
ERROR at line 3:
ORA-00911: invalid character

Meanwhile copying it from firefox, it works without any problem.

I've noticed that copying the same query from my personal dokuwiki, works without problem.
I've been trying to look at google site's html but is completely impossible (f***ing wysiwyg).
There's something I can do to workaround that problem?
Thanks!

Offline

#1930 2013-12-03 14:31:05

ibrunton
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-05-05
Posts: 270

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

portix wrote:

user-stylesheet-uri is a webkitsetting, you can create a stylesheet file for facebook and set user-stylesheet-uri with perdomainsettings.

For some reason I can't get this to work.  In the settings for perdomainsettings I have this:

uris : {
     "http://bbs.archlinux.org/" : { user-stylesheet-uri : "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" },
},

and it does nothing.  I've tried putting user-stylesheet-uri in quotation marks, and using underscores instead of hyphens, and still nothing.  The same style sheet works fine in luakit, so I'm stumped.

Offline

#1931 2013-12-03 15:15:10

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

ibrunton wrote:
portix wrote:

user-stylesheet-uri is a webkitsetting, you can create a stylesheet file for facebook and set user-stylesheet-uri with perdomainsettings.

For some reason I can't get this to work.  In the settings for perdomainsettings I have this:

uris : {
     "http://bbs.archlinux.org/" : { user-stylesheet-uri : "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" },
},

and it does nothing.  I've tried putting user-stylesheet-uri in quotation marks, and using underscores instead of hyphens, and still nothing.  The same style sheet works fine in luakit, so I'm stumped.

You can either use quotation marks or the name in camel case. It isn't applied because http://bbs.archlinux.org/ is redirected to https://bbs.archlinux.org/, the uri setting is only applied if the uri matches exactly. I think you want a hosts setting: 

hosts : {
      "bbs.archlinux.org" : { "user-stylesheet-uri" :  "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" }
},

or

hosts : {
      "bbs.archlinux.org" : { userStylesheetUri :  "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" }
},

Offline

#1932 2013-12-03 15:30:33

ibrunton
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-05-05
Posts: 270

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

portix wrote:

You can either use quotation marks or the name in camel case. It isn't applied because http://bbs.archlinux.org/ is redirected to https://bbs.archlinux.org/, the uri setting is only applied if the uri matches exactly. I think you want a hosts setting: 

hosts : {
      "bbs.archlinux.org" : { "user-stylesheet-uri" :  "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" }
},

or

hosts : {
      "bbs.archlinux.org" : { userStylesheetUri :  "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" }
},

Apparently what was missing (once I moved it to the hosts section) is a comma after the entry:

hosts : {
    "bbs.archlinux.org" : { "user-stylesheet-uri" : "file:///home/ian/.local/share/styles/arch_dark.css" },
},

Without that comma, not only does the stylesheet not get applied, but neither do any of the others I specify in perdomainstettings, which worked fine if I took the archlinux one out.  But once I put the comma in, everything works.

Offline

#1933 2013-12-03 15:42:03

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

If you are using dwb-git and dwbem -E perdomainsettings to change the configuration dwbem will warn you if your configuration contains errors.

Offline

#1934 2013-12-03 23:05:22

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,010

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

karol wrote:

I have to close and reopen dwb as it doesn't release the RAM it used. The usage goes up but rarely goes down.

I've found using a couple of settings background-tabs and load-on-focus to help reduce loading every page until I'm ready which helps lower the RAM usage of pages I'm not looking at.  But recently I've switched over to dwb-git and it's closing itself for some mysterious reason.  Maybe I'll need to update my git even though cower says it hasn't been updated in the AUR.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#1935 2013-12-03 23:13:32

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

nomorewindows wrote:
karol wrote:

I have to close and reopen dwb as it doesn't release the RAM it used. The usage goes up but rarely goes down.

I've found using a couple of settings background-tabs and load-on-focus to help reduce loading every page until I'm ready which helps lower the RAM usage of pages I'm not looking at.  But recently I've switched over to dwb-git and it's closing itself for some mysterious reason.  Maybe I'll need to update my git even though cower says it hasn't been updated in the AUR.

Waiting until the AUR PKGBUILD is updated is not how git packages work.  The only time changes to these packages are made is when there is something in the build process that needs to be modified.  Otherwise, you just update it as you see fit.

Offline

#1936 2013-12-04 04:53:39

serdotlinecho
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 100

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

I'm subscribed to dwb RSS feed using newsbeuter. I'm also using cower. I usually do makepkg -fi in dwb-git directory when portix pushed new commit.

Offline

#1937 2013-12-04 05:09:03

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

serdotlinecho wrote:

I'm subscribed to dwb RSS feed using newsbeuter. I'm also using cower. I usually do makepkg -fi in dwb-git directory when portix pushed new commit.

Neat, I didn't realize that there was news available via RSS (never really looked either... or even thought to look).

By the way, you don't need to use --force (-f) in that makepkg command.  As of pacman 4.1's VCS awesomeness, if there is an update to the git repo, it will rebuild, if not it will try to reinstall the old package.

Offline

#1938 2013-12-04 05:15:22

serdotlinecho
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 100

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

WonderWoofy wrote:
serdotlinecho wrote:

I'm subscribed to dwb RSS feed using newsbeuter. I'm also using cower. I usually do makepkg -fi in dwb-git directory when portix pushed new commit.

Neat, I didn't realize that there was news available via RSS (never really looked either... or even thought to look).

By the way, you don't need to use --force (-f) in that makepkg command.  As of pacman 4.1's VCS awesomeness, if there is an update to the git repo, it will rebuild, if not it will try to reinstall the old package.

Thanks.

Last edited by serdotlinecho (2013-12-04 18:00:40)

Offline

#1939 2013-12-12 19:45:15

ibrunton
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-05-05
Posts: 270

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

For some reason, I can't edit text areas in my external editor from dwb.  In my settings I have

editor=evit dwb_uri

(evit is just a script that launches vim in urxvt). C-e launches the editor just fine, with a file "~/.cache/dwb/edit<digits>" - but (a) if there's already text in the textarea, it's not in the editor,  (b) nothing I do in the editor is inserted in the textarea, and (c) the file in .cache/dwb/ remains until I manually delete it.  Is there something wrong in my settings, or is it a bug?  I'm using the latest stable version.

Offline

#1940 2013-12-12 20:31:41

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Are you using urxvt or urxvtc? urxvtc won't work with dwb.

Offline

#1941 2013-12-12 20:42:24

ibrunton
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-05-05
Posts: 270

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

portix wrote:

Are you using urxvt or urxvtc? urxvtc won't work with dwb.

I'm using urxvtc.  I didn't realise it made a difference.

Offline

#1942 2013-12-12 20:45:00

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

The editor process has to be a process that doesn't detach from the parent process, like urxvtc does.

Offline

#1943 2013-12-12 20:46:09

ibrunton
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-05-05
Posts: 270

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

portix wrote:

The editor process has to be a process that doesn't detach from the parent process, like urxvtc does.

Ah, okay.

Offline

#1944 2013-12-18 01:11:21

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,010

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Oops, I went to website and twice I got the same bug.  I go to this website under x86_64 and not have this problem, but under i686 for this time I got this bug.  People are complaining about the new changes to yahoo, maybe this is one of them.

Received SIGSEGV, trying to clean up.

Last 12 stack frames: 

 12: dwb() [0x805322a]
 11: dwb() [0x806c3f1]
 10: linux-gate.so.1(__kernel_sigreturn+0) [0xb77a0400]
  9: /usr/lib/libjavascriptcoregtk-1.0.so.0(_ZN3JSC3DFG15AssemblyHelpers17decodedCodeMapForEPNS_9CodeBlockE+0x1f2) [0xb53642f2]
  8: /usr/lib/libjavascriptcoregtk-1.0.so.0(_ZN3JSC3DFG15OSRExitCompiler11compileExitERKNS0_7OSRExitERKNS_8OperandsINS_13ValueRecoveryENS_18OperandValueTraitsIS6_EEEEPNS0_19SpeculationRecoveryE+0x2269) [0xb539d869]
  7: /usr/lib/libjavascriptcoregtk-1.0.so.0(+0x15499a) [0xb53a299a]
  6: [0xaa7650a6]
  5: /usr/lib/libjavascriptcoregtk-1.0.so.0(_ZN3JSC11Interpreter11executeCallEPNS_9ExecStateEPNS_8JSObjectENS_8CallTypeERKNS_8CallDataENS_7JSValueERKNS_7ArgListE+0x47d) [0xb5411fad]
  4: /usr/lib/libjavascriptcoregtk-1.0.so.0(_ZN3JSC4callEPNS_9ExecStateENS_7JSValueENS_8CallTypeERKNS_8CallDataES2_RKNS_7ArgListE+0x60) [0xb54f3920]
  3: /usr/lib/libwebkitgtk-1.0.so.0(+0x2d3423) [0xb6282423]
  2: /usr/lib/libwebkitgtk-1.0.so.0(+0x4874a9) [0xb64364a9]
  1: /usr/lib/libwebkitgtk-1.0.so.0(+0x4876d4) [0xb64366d4]
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#1945 2013-12-18 11:00:36

portix
Member
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 757

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

nomorewindows wrote:

Oops, I went to website and twice I got the same bug.

Can you post a link to the website, or even better, can you create a backtrace and file a bug report on the bugtracker?

Offline

#1946 2013-12-18 13:39:36

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,010

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

portix wrote:
nomorewindows wrote:

Oops, I went to website and twice I got the same bug.

Can you post a link to the website, or even better, can you create a backtrace and file a bug report on the bugtracker?

Now that I put gdb behind it, it don't want to fuss up.  The site was mail.yahoo.com.   People have been reporting strange behaviour with yahoo overall since their last upgrade.  This was on the repo version of dwb.

Last edited by nomorewindows (2013-12-18 13:40:24)


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#1947 2013-12-27 02:07:32

4z01235
Member
Registered: 2013-12-27
Posts: 2

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

I saw someone asking about this earlier in the thread, but I didn't really understand what was going on with it. Has anyone got Reddit Enhancement Suite working with dwb? I don't know how/if it's possible to use it as a dwb userscript. All the working dwb examples I've seen were (ba)sh scripts or js, but RES seems to be a binary(?). I can just keep using Firefox for reddit, but I'm really enjoying dwb so far and it'd be nice to be able to get this working. Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: I remembered that RES is open source too, so I went and found its source on github, so I have the js and css that go into the browser-specific plugin/extension binaries. But I still haven't been able to figure out how to hook this into dwb.

Last edited by 4z01235 (2013-12-27 04:51:44)

Offline

#1948 2013-12-30 21:20:26

PieterGen
Member
From: Groningen, NL, EU
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 59

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

How do you add new ads to the adblocker's filter? (the Easylist filter)?

With Adblocker in Firefox or Chromium, one can rightclick on an ad that has slipped through the filter, to add that advertisment to the list. How does that work in dwb?

I've searched the web, read the man pages, but I can't find it or I missed it. Please help me out! Thanks in advance :-)

Offline

#1949 2013-12-30 23:03:17

stranger88
Member
Registered: 2013-12-30
Posts: 1

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

Great browser, i've decided to delete firefox+vimperator to use dwb-git. But some issues make me nervous:

1) How can i make all sites dark with grey letters? Is it necessary to compose own stylesheets for all pages i visit?

2) When i open couple of huge sites with javascript and images and restart browser - it hangs, taking 2-3 minutes to load them fully.

3) Fresh flashplayer is sometimes needed, is it possible to use chrome buit-in flash in dwb?

Offline

#1950 2013-12-30 23:38:14

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,010

Re: dwb - a webkit web browser

PieterGen wrote:

How do you add new ads to the adblocker's filter? (the Easylist filter)?

With Adblocker in Firefox or Chromium, one can rightclick on an ad that has slipped through the filter, to add that advertisment to the list. How does that work in dwb?

I've searched the web, read the man pages, but I can't find it or I missed it. Please help me out! Thanks in advance :-)

You might try requestpolicy.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB