You are not logged in.

#126 2010-07-27 19:00:15

petelewis
Trusted User (TU)
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 120
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

bash wrote:

same here (see my mail in arch-dev-public o.O)

lol, I knew I'd seen something similar. I had this weird sense of deja vu, but couldn't put my finger on it! Good to know that I haven't messed anything up myself...

bash wrote:

I am rebuilding kdepim to see if is a packaging or upstream bug.

Nice one, thanks :-)


"Cared thou not, thou would have abstained." - Xyne

Offline

#127 2010-07-28 07:54:04

sonay
Member
Registered: 2010-03-09
Posts: 75

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

I have been using kde 4.5 RC2 and now that I heard another release candidate is up, I tried to upgrade with kde[unstable] repo activated and on the top, pacman says there is nothing to update. Am I doing something wrong or is it not really up?

Offline

#128 2010-07-28 07:56:53

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

sonay wrote:

I have been using kde 4.5 RC2 and now that I heard another release candidate is up, I tried to upgrade with kde[unstable] repo activated and on the top, pacman says there is nothing to update. Am I doing something wrong or is it not really up?

it's in [testing] now

Offline

#129 2010-07-28 08:15:28

sonay
Member
Registered: 2010-03-09
Posts: 75

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

pressh wrote:
sonay wrote:

I have been using kde 4.5 RC2 and now that I heard another release candidate is up, I tried to upgrade with kde[unstable] repo activated and on the top, pacman says there is nothing to update. Am I doing something wrong or is it not really up?

it's in [testing] now

Oh, my bad, thanks.

Offline

#130 2010-07-28 08:23:39

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

@petelewis
the kdepim rebuild was useless; also I tested kmail with a new account and still the test is wrapped randomly.
Anyone else is getting this?

Offline

#131 2010-07-28 08:44:20

petelewis
Trusted User (TU)
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 120
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

bash wrote:

@petelewis
the kdepim rebuild was useless; also I tested kmail with a new account and still the test is wrapped randomly.

Hmmm interesting. Disabling static word wrapping completely stops it from happening, so it seems that whatever is causing it is being triggered by the word-wrap code.


"Cared thou not, thou would have abstained." - Xyne

Offline

#132 2010-07-29 11:36:03

petelewis
Trusted User (TU)
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 120
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

@bash any news on the KMail bug yet? Am wondering whether to downgrade if nothing's in the pipeline.

I suppose we can't release this with this bug present.


"Cared thou not, thou would have abstained." - Xyne

Offline

#133 2010-07-30 09:46:43

petelewis
Trusted User (TU)
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 120
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Just noticed what I think is another bug: KHotkeys have stopped working. They're all present in the configuration dialog, but don't do anything. I haven't touched the configuration in several weeks, so I know I haven't changed anything. Anyone else getting this?


"Cared thou not, thou would have abstained." - Xyne

Offline

#134 2010-07-30 17:42:38

Wu
Member
Registered: 2009-12-27
Posts: 61

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

petelewis wrote:

@bash any news on the KMail bug yet? Am wondering whether to downgrade if nothing's in the pipeline.

It's fixed in 4.5.0 and, of course, trunk.
Source: http://lists.kde.org/?l=kde-pim&m=128050107219067&w=2

Offline

#135 2010-08-01 13:12:33

gaelic
Member
Registered: 2010-08-01
Posts: 64

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

I wonder if its possible to include qt-4.7 to kde-unstable (or testing now) because the two projects have something like a simultaneous development and release times (and kde heavily depend on qt).

Offline

#136 2010-08-01 22:39:05

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Qt 4.7 has not yet reached a stable release. And I really think that arch uses the kde-qt release, which is Qt with patches for KDE. That means, we won't have Qt 4.7 till Kde-Qt reaches v.4.7

Offline

#137 2010-08-01 22:50:38

Sertse
Member
Registered: 2009-11-19
Posts: 35

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Has anyone tried Konqueror Webkit yet? Is it decent enough? Does gmail work? lol

iirc this is the release there it will was officially offered as an option. (I know you could get it before, but this is -finally-  the actual release where it can switch to webkit).

Offline

#138 2010-08-02 12:38:43

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

petelewis wrote:

Just noticed what I think is another bug: KHotkeys have stopped working. They're all present in the configuration dialog, but don't do anything. I haven't touched the configuration in several weeks, so I know I haven't changed anything. Anyone else getting this?

I can add a random working shortcut to khotkeys in kde 4.5.0, haven't tested on the 4.5 RCs

Offline

#139 2010-08-02 15:43:18

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Guys, anyone experiencing this ?

http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/20324

Last edited by flamelab (2010-08-02 15:44:34)

Offline

#140 2010-08-03 08:05:34

Pl4cek
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 15

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

I've experienced shutdown problems on Kubuntu with RC2. Seems to be random, sometimes it works, sometimes acts as described in bug report.I'm not using RC on my arch install thought..

Offline

#141 2010-08-06 16:02:15

stavallo
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 33

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Tarballs of kdepim 4.4.92 (4.5 beta 2) have been uploaded to ftp.kde.org. Hope kmail2 is now usable...

Offline

#142 2010-08-15 15:33:47

RufusD
Member
Registered: 2010-03-21
Posts: 86

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

I've once installed KDE 4.4.92 from kde-unstable. Now that 4.5 is released, how do I revert back to "normal" arch? I've disabled [kde-unstable] in /etc/pacman.conf, but still pacman fails to find any updates:

# LANG=EN pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
error: failed to update kde-unstable (no servers configured for repository)
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade...
 there is nothing to do

Any ideas anybody?
Best wishes,
Rufus

Offline

#143 2010-08-15 15:41:08

Doehni
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-05-19
Posts: 175

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

KDE 4.5.0 is not yet in the extra repo. Stil in testing. ;-)

Offline

#144 2010-08-15 19:13:24

RufusD
Member
Registered: 2010-03-21
Posts: 86

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

alright, so much for KDE. But what about the rest? I didn't get any updates for the last two or three weeks on a full-blown desktop system. Is this possible? E.g., I'm still running 2.6.34-ARCH, is this the latest and greatest? Isn't

pacman -Syu

supposed to update everything?

Offline

#145 2010-08-15 20:01:07

Doehni
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-05-19
Posts: 175

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Maybe your servers are out of date? A lot of servers don't update since 2 weeks or so ago... Explanation: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=101945

Any of those should be fine: https://www.archlinux.de/?page=MirrorStatus

Offline

#146 2010-08-17 07:17:12

RufusD
Member
Registered: 2010-03-21
Posts: 86

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

thanks! Now that I've commented out the "Mirror used during installation" and uncommented another one in /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist, I'm getting updates again.

Offline

#147 2010-08-25 16:06:13

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

stavallo wrote:

Tarballs of kdepim 4.4.92 (4.5 beta 2) have been uploaded to ftp.kde.org. Hope kmail2 is now usable...

Kdepim beta2 uploaded in [kde-unstable] for x86_64...building i686 right now

Offline

#148 2010-08-25 16:34:47

petelewis
Trusted User (TU)
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 120
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

bash wrote:

Kdepim beta2 uploaded in [kde-unstable] for x86_64...building i686 right now

Nice one Andrea :-)

Of course it's not a proper release yet, but any idea if this beta 2 is generally usable or is it likely to eat my pets?

Last edited by petelewis (2010-08-25 16:35:05)


"Cared thou not, thou would have abstained." - Xyne

Offline

#149 2010-08-26 10:25:02

alexcriss
Member
Registered: 2010-05-24
Posts: 121

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Thanks very much for the great news!

I'm trying Kmail 2 right now and I am able to send messages as well as receive them from two different accounts (Gmail and Uni). Only thing which seems to be broken is address completion from akonadi google resource.

Cheers,
Alessandro

Offline

#150 2010-08-26 17:09:19

petelewis
Trusted User (TU)
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 120
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] is up again

Yep, it seems fairly usable and no data loss yet :-)

There are still a few bugs though. So far, I've noticed the following related to IMAP:

- Loading an empty folder on an IMAP server gives a FETCH error pop-up.
- Deleting IMAP folders crashes KMail.
- Disconnected (cached) IMAP seems to hang akonadi's IMAP resource, disconnecting from the server, on some folders (not sure which or why - seems random).
- I'm getting a lot of these from KMail:
kmail2(26081)/libkdepim KPIM::MessageStatus::setStatusFromFlags: Unknown flag: "Old"

Akonadi is also extremely slow here, though I think that might be to do with it waiting around for nepomuk.


"Cared thou not, thou would have abstained." - Xyne

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB