You are not logged in.

#601 2012-01-02 15:25:03

homyach
Member
Registered: 2012-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: The i3 thread

Hi guys,
I'm really noob in i3 and I wanna change default font and colors, but I have an error:

ERROR: 
ERROR: CONFIG: syntax error, unexpected $undefined, expecting #<hex>
ERROR: CONFIG: in file "/home/al/.i3/config", line 171:
ERROR: CONFIG:   bar.focused #DA6F00 #000000 #999999
ERROR: CONFIG:                       ^
ERROR

And how to change font? (not in titles)

Offline

#602 2012-01-02 16:41:19

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

In the latest version of i3, the config format has slightly changed. the i3bar colours has to be changed like;

bar {
     color{
           # colorclass           foreground background
          focused_workspace #DA6F00 #999999
          inactive_workspace #ffffff #000000
          ...
     }
}

In a similar way, you define the font within the bar{} subsection. See http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#_font

Offline

#603 2012-01-02 17:19:53

homyach
Member
Registered: 2012-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: The i3 thread

Thanks for you response, kcirick.
If I understood correctly, "bar" section affects only status bar. Not whole tiling manager. I need to change font and colors in tiles.

Offline

#604 2012-01-02 17:32:48

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

homyach wrote:

Thanks for you response, kcirick.
If I understood correctly, "bar" section affects only status bar. Not whole tiling manager. I need to change font and colors in tiles.

This part hasn't changed, so you can just leave it as it was, ie:

 # colours
 #
 client.focused          #1793D0  #1793D0  #FFFFFF
 client.focused_inactive #333333  #333333  #999999
 client.unfocused        #333333  #333333  #999999
 client.urgent           #FF0000  #8C5665  #FF0000

outside the bar{} section. The error you posted applied only for the bar.

Offline

#605 2012-01-02 17:44:00

homyach
Member
Registered: 2012-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: The i3 thread

Thank you, it works!

Offline

#606 2012-01-06 03:22:15

homyach
Member
Registered: 2012-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: The i3 thread

One more question.
I have pretty strange behavior. I run two firefoxs(different profiles) and skype. It took 1.5gb ram only for half hour. It took around 1gb if I use the same environment (2*firefox + skype). It could be 1.5gb or more only if I don't reboot firefox very long time(about couple days).
So, my question: How much RAM does software use with i3wm on your system? Is it the same when you use different wm ?
Thanks

Offline

#607 2012-01-06 04:19:38

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1734       1165        568          0        262        540
-/+ buffers/cache:        362       1372
Swap:            0          0          0

(1165 - (262 + 540) ) / 1734 ~= 20% (~363MB)

I just opened chrome with Gmail and Arch Forum (two windows), and pidgin client (I don't have skype). I also have wicd-client and scim running in the background. This is about the same when I use dwm.

EDIT:
In DWM with exactly the same setup, I have:

 free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1734       1136        598          0        263        540
-/+ buffers/cache:        331       1402
Swap:            0          0          0

(1136 - (263 + 540) )/1734 ~= 19% (~333MB)

Last edited by kcirick (2012-01-06 04:23:43)

Offline

#608 2012-01-06 07:41:09

n0stradamus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-08
Posts: 94
Website

Re: The i3 thread

homyach wrote:

One more question.
I have pretty strange behavior. I run two firefoxs(different profiles) and skype. It took 1.5gb ram only for half hour. It took around 1gb if I use the same environment (2*firefox + skype). It could be 1.5gb or more only if I don't reboot firefox very long time(about couple days).
So, my question: How much RAM does software use with i3wm on your system? Is it the same when you use different wm ?
Thanks

Shouldn't memory usage be more or less the same no matter what WM/DE you use? I could imagine that there are subtle differences for more or less elaborate window decorations. If anyone has any more thorough knowledge, please share, I'm interested too smile
Perhaps this thread might be interesting for you.

Anyway, with the following processes running:

init-+-5*[agetty]
     |-crond
     |-dhcpcd
     |-i3bar---conky---6*[{conky}]
     |-login---zsh---xinit-+-X
     |                     `-i3
     |-mpd---3*[{mpd}]
     |-syslog-ng---syslog-ng
     |-udevd---2*[udevd]
     `-urxvtd-+-firefox---22*[{firefox}]
              `-zsh---pstree

I get this memory usage:

             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           997        502        495          0         12        177
-/+ buffers/cache:        312        685
Swap:         7632          5       7627

Offline

#609 2012-01-06 20:46:40

homyach
Member
Registered: 2012-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: The i3 thread

So, I've tested both of them (i3 and KDE). I was wrong. There is no big difference between i3 and kde im my case. Probably I forgot reboot my system in first time.
KDE:

>uptime
13:18pm  up   3:51,  5 users,  load average: 0.09, 0.10, 0.18

>free -m
              total     used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1872     1260        611        0       30      492
-/+ buffers/cache:      737       1134
Swap:         2057        0       2057

i3:

>uptime
15:42pm  up   2:22,  4 users,  load average: 0.04, 0.07, 0.12

>free -m
          total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:        1872       1647      224        0       52      594
-/+ buffers/cache:     1000      871
Swap:       2057        0        2057

Offline

#610 2012-01-07 09:35:04

n0stradamus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-08
Posts: 94
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Am I reading the data wrong? The difference between the two 'free' entries is not exactly what I'd call small (387MB).
Did you have different applications open at the time of making the reading?

Offline

#611 2012-01-07 14:59:19

homyach
Member
Registered: 2012-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: The i3 thread

I think, it's not big difference. I've been running the same applications: two firefoxs, skype, qutim, pgadmin and view terminal windows.

Offline

#612 2012-01-08 04:58:39

Ranmaru
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 60

Re: The i3 thread

I've stumbled upon some issue with fonts. As stated earlier in this thread, due to the lack of Xft support, the only way to get support for Chinese characters in i3 seems to be to use the WenQuanYi bitmap font. This works okay so far, but whenever I use it, the i3bar doesn't show up. It does show up, however, with every other font.

Does someone know a solution to this?

From my .i3/config

# font for window titles. ISO 10646 = Unicode
#font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
#font -nil-profont-medium-r-normal--12-120-72-72-c-60-iso8859-1
font -wenquanyi-wenquanyi bitmap song-medium-r-normal--12-120-75-75-p-119-iso10646-1

Offline

#613 2012-01-08 15:40:38

pomhg
Member
Registered: 2010-12-17
Posts: 19

Re: The i3 thread

Ranmaru wrote:

I've stumbled upon some issue with fonts. As stated earlier in this thread, due to the lack of Xft support, the only way to get support for Chinese characters in i3 seems to be to use the WenQuanYi bitmap font. This works okay so far, but whenever I use it, the i3bar doesn't show up. It does show up, however, with every other font.

Does someone know a solution to this?

From my .i3/config

# font for window titles. ISO 10646 = Unicode
#font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
#font -nil-profont-medium-r-normal--12-120-72-72-c-60-iso8859-1
font -wenquanyi-wenquanyi bitmap song-medium-r-normal--12-120-75-75-p-119-iso10646-1

Hi Ranmaru,
check out the post #560 in this thread, you have to add wqy font dir to your fontpath

xset +fp /path/to/your wqyfont dir

Offline

#614 2012-01-08 17:06:30

Ranmaru
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 60

Re: The i3 thread

pomhg wrote:

Hi Ranmaru,
check out the post #560 in this thread, you have to add wqy font dir to your fontpath

xset +fp /path/to/your wqyfont dir

Oh, thanks. I totally missed that post. Works now.

Offline

#615 2012-01-12 17:32:33

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

Hello,

Is there a way to maximize one client in i3? I'm not talking about full-screen. I still want the i3bar to be shown, but I want a selected client to be fill the whole screen (just like max layout in dwm)

Thanks,

Offline

#616 2012-01-12 19:53:31

ArchArael
Member
Registered: 2005-06-14
Posts: 504

Re: The i3 thread

kcirick wrote:

Hello,

Is there a way to maximize one client in i3? I'm not talking about full-screen. I still want the i3bar to be shown, but I want a selected client to be fill the whole screen (just like max layout in dwm)

Thanks,

There is the tabbed layout. Check here: http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#_ch … ner_layout

Offline

#617 2012-01-13 15:41:06

kemmotar
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2012-01-08
Posts: 43
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Are there any good tutorial about setting up i3 on arch?

Offline

#618 2012-01-13 16:15:39

ArchArael
Member
Registered: 2005-06-14
Posts: 504

Re: The i3 thread

kemmotar wrote:

Are there any good tutorial about setting up i3 on arch?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/I3

Check the official documentation. It is quite exhaustive. http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html

Offline

#619 2012-01-13 16:48:14

kemmotar
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2012-01-08
Posts: 43
Website

Re: The i3 thread

ArchArael wrote:
kemmotar wrote:

Are there any good tutorial about setting up i3 on arch?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/I3

Check the official documentation. It is quite exhaustive. http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html

I read this, but how about automounting usb or shutting down(I don`t like use 'sudo halt' all the time)?

Offline

#620 2012-01-13 17:54:34

ArchArael
Member
Registered: 2005-06-14
Posts: 504

Re: The i3 thread

kemmotar wrote:
ArchArael wrote:
kemmotar wrote:

Are there any good tutorial about setting up i3 on arch?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/I3

Check the official documentation. It is quite exhaustive. http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html

I read this, but how about automounting usb or shutting down(I don`t like use 'sudo halt' all the time)?

You can do that from your terminal of choice otherwise you can do a shortcut. More info here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Al … o_Shutdown

Personally I have two aliases I use in my terminal.

alias slock='gnome-screensaver-command --lock & sudo pm-suspend'
alias hlock='gnome-screensaver-command --lock & sudo pm-hibernate'

I rarely shut down my machine. I reboot only on kernel upgrades. I usually suspend or hibernate my machine.

I also start gnome-settings so my suspend and halt buttons on keyboard work as well.

Here is my config file: https://github.com/arael/dots/blob/master/.i3/config

If you don't have power off button on your keyboard then just bind some other shortcut to sudo halt.

Last edited by ArchArael (2012-01-16 08:08:39)

Offline

#621 2012-01-13 21:13:01

PotatoesMaster
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-08-26
Posts: 54

Re: The i3 thread

kemmotar wrote:

I read this, but how about automounting usb or shutting down(I don`t like use 'sudo halt' all the time)?

This little script is bound to my laptop's power button:

#!/bin/sh
cmd=`echo -e "Shutdown\nRestart\nLogout" | dmenu`
case $cmd in
	Shutdown)
		sudo shutdown -h now
		;;
	Restart)
		sudo shutdown -r now
		;;
	Logout)
		i3-msg exit
		;;
esac

To automount usb drives, you can use udev rules.
Edit: You should not do that: explanations.
Use an udisks wrapper instead.

To finish, a script to unmount properly, using perl and dmenu (needs sudo password to be disabled for umount command):

#!/bin/sh
drive=`mount | perl -ne 'print "$_\n" for /^\/dev\/[a-z0-9]+ on \/media\/(.*) type/' | dmenu -p 'eject'` \
	&& sync \
	&& sudo umount "/media/$drive" #&&  any-notification-system-you-want  "$drive unmount"

Last edited by PotatoesMaster (2012-12-04 22:29:32)

Offline

#622 2012-01-15 21:08:12

gazj
Member
From: /home/gazj -> /uk/cambs
Registered: 2007-02-09
Posts: 681
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Your shutdown script is a beauty potatoes!

I use devmon from AUR for automounting.  I start it at login like so

automounter

devmon --exec-on-drive "urxvt -e ranger %d" \
       --exec-on-drive "echo %f mounted on %d | message-send" \
	   --exec-on-disc "urxvt -e ranger %d" \
	   --exec-on-disc "echo %f mounted on %d | message-send" \
	   --exec-on-video "mplayer dvd://%f"   \
	   --exec-on-video "echo %f mounted on %d | message-send" \
	   --exec-on-audio "mplayer cdda://%f" \
       --exec-on-audio "echo %f mounted on %d | message-send " \
	   --exec-on-unmount "echo drives unmounted | message-send" \
	   --exec-on-remove "echo drive %f removed | message-send"

message-send

#!/bin/bash

xargs -0 notify-send

message-send relies on dunst-git in AUR

aur/dunst-git 20111119-1 (8)
    dmenu-ish notification system

Dunst is started in my startup file, which is called by i3 on startup

#!/bin/bash
#startup file for i3-wm

killall conky
$BROWSER www.google.co.uk & #start first it's so slow

#start daemons and read configs
xmodmap -e 'add mod3 = Menu'
blueman-applet &
urxvtd &
xrdb ~/.Xdefaults &
transmission-gtk &
dunst -nb '#000000' -nf '#E04613' -geometry 0x3-100+0 -fn '-*-ohsnap-medium-r-normal-*-11-*-*-*-*-*-*-*' &
sleep 2
urxvtc &
automounter &

Offline

#623 2012-01-20 04:48:24

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

Hello.

A couple of wish lists to be considered for next versions:
  - Coloured status_command in i3bar (icons support would be even cooler)
  - user defined border width (Not just 1px..)
  - window gaps

Anyone second these? Know if there is already an official request for them?

Offline

#624 2012-01-22 19:04:35

kemmotar
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2012-01-08
Posts: 43
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Thanks guys!
And one more question - after startx, i3 looks like load something more becouse mouse pointer looks like a clock, but nothing happens. What's happening?

Offline

#625 2012-01-22 20:49:57

kcirick
Member
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 364

Re: The i3 thread

kemmotar wrote:

Thanks guys!
And one more question - after startx, i3 looks like load something more becouse mouse pointer looks like a clock, but nothing happens. What's happening?

If it's right after startx, then put this in .xinitrc:

xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr

If it's after starting an application (like rxvt-unicode): See here. You need to have --no-startup-id to avoid start-up notifications.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB