You are not logged in.

#1401 2016-07-07 10:03:12

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 1,433

Re: The i3 thread

yes, you may need to change the keybindings either in i3 or in your client app

Offline

#1402 2016-07-07 14:16:12

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,728

Re: The i3 thread

cgo wrote:

it feels like it's obvious, but I can't find in the docs/the internet how to send/pass/quote a shortcut that's captured by i3 as-is to a client window. ie I want to send CTRL-R to the client, but it's captured by i3 to resize the current window.

Hi.  I agree with bstaletic, there is no direct solution.  I am an emacs user, and as such spend an inordinate amount of time with my fingers on the alt or ctrl keys.  On my system, I remapped *every* i3 function to use the mod key; so, on my system, resize is mod-R.  This allows the WM to stay out of the way of programs that use the ctrl and alt keys, and pretty much means that if I use the mod key I am trying to talk to the WM.  Works like a charm.

Edit:  Did not see Docbroke's post.  They said pretty much the same thing.

Last edited by ewaller (2016-07-07 14:17:35)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#1403 2016-07-07 15:06:45

Triver
Member
Registered: 2009-03-29
Posts: 71

Re: The i3 thread

So I'm not sure if this is a bug but issuing the USR1 signal to i3status by executing

killall -USR1 i3status

does nothing for me (it should force an update), also tried the pid instead of the name.

Another thing I'd like to do is to display the current disk io using i3status, is this possible (if yes, how)?

Last edited by Triver (2016-07-07 15:09:05)

Offline

#1404 2016-08-05 14:44:38

Minbari
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2015-03-08
Posts: 30

Re: The i3 thread

i3-dmenu-desktop                                                                                                                   
No such file or directory at /usr/bin/i3-dmenu-desktop line 28 

Any ideas?! dmenu_run work's fine.

/usr/bin/i3-dmenu-desktop ---->line 28.

 # reads in a whole file
sub slurp {
    my ($filename) = @_;
    open(my $fh, '<', $filename) or die "$!";     <-----line28--->
    local $/;
    my $result;
    eval {
        $result = <$fh>;
    };
    if ($@) {
        warn "Could not read $filename: $@";
        return undef;
    } else {
        return $result;
    }
}

UNIX is user-friendly. It's just very selective about who is friends are.

Offline

#1405 2016-08-05 20:19:11

Minbari
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2015-03-08
Posts: 30

Re: The i3 thread

Solved! Replaced i3-dmenu-desktop with j4-dmenu-desktop.


UNIX is user-friendly. It's just very selective about who is friends are.

Offline

#1406 2016-08-05 21:23:07

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,407
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Triver wrote:

So I'm not sure if this is a bug but issuing the USR1 signal to i3status by executing

killall -USR1 i3status

does nothing for me (it should force an update), also tried the pid instead of the name.

There was a regression, until there's a new release use i3status-git.


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby

Offline

#1407 2016-11-15 20:07:00

ghus
Banned
Registered: 2016-11-14
Posts: 420

Re: The i3 thread

Hi to everbody smile .
I had seen a post here about have an output of audacious , for the i3bar , and have searching others threads too , but didn't find a solution yet , can I ask you an advice ?

... I have install https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/conky-audacious/


Ps : Is there a way to use the right numbers  buttons from a 104 keys keyboard , to do the same function as the others ones ?

Thanks .

Last edited by ghus (2016-11-15 20:13:18)

Offline

#1408 2016-11-15 20:26:32

ajbibb
Member
Registered: 2012-02-12
Posts: 142

Re: The i3 thread

For your postscript here is how I do it for the enter key:

# Terminal
bindsym $mod+Return exec --no-startup-id TERMINAL=roxterm i3-sensible-terminal
bindsym $mod+KP_Enter exec --no-startup-id TERMINAL=roxterm i3-sensible-terminal

And here is how I do it for the number keys:

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace $w1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace $w2
...
bindsym $mod+9 workspace $w9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace $w0
bindsym $mod+KP_1 workspace $w1
bindsym $mod+KP_2 workspace $w2
...
bindsym $mod+KP_9 workspace $w9
bindsym $mod+KP_0 workspace $w0

[EDIT]
The above will work in i3 versions 4.12 and before.  In 4.13 (package released 11/12/16) you need to take the Num Lock key (Mod2) into account.

Unshifted:

bindsym $mod+Mod2+KP_1 workspace $w1
bindsym $mod+Mod2+KP_2 workspace $w2

And shifted:

bindsym $mod+Shift+Mod2+KP_End move container to workspace $w1
bindsym $mod+Shift+Mod2+KP_Down move container to workspace $w2

Last edited by ajbibb (2016-11-19 00:09:02)

Offline

#1409 2017-07-06 11:17:00

mechmg93
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-05-23
Posts: 197

Re: The i3 thread

Hi all,

I am sorry if this has been discussed before but I could not find any solution searching on the forum.

I am having a problem with json workspace layouts. I want to use 3 urxvt terminals in workspace 2.

My json file is the following:

// vim:ts=4:sw=4:et
{
    "border": "pixel",
    "current_border_width": 1,
    "floating": "auto_off",
    "geometry": {
       "height": 364,
       "width": 724,
       "x": 0,
       "y": 0
    },
    "name": "user@test:~",
    "percent": 0.5,
    "swallows": [
       {
       "class": "^URxvt$",
       "instance": "^urxvt$",
       "title": "^user\\@test\\:\\~$",
       "transient_for": "^$"
       }
    ],
    "type": "con"
}

{
    // splitv split container with 2 children
    "border": "pixel",
    "floating": "auto_off",
    "layout": "splitv",
    "percent": 0.5,
    "type": "con",
    "nodes": [
        {
            "border": "pixel",
            "current_border_width": 1,
            "floating": "auto_off",
            "geometry": {
               "height": 364,
               "width": 724,
               "x": 0,
               "y": 0
            },
            "name": "user@test:~",
            "percent": 0.5,
            "swallows": [
               {
               "class": "^URxvt$",
               "instance": "^urxvt$",
               "title": "^user\\@test\\:\\~$",
               "transient_for": "^$"
               }
            ],
            "type": "con"
        },
        {
            "border": "pixel",
            "current_border_width": 1,
            "floating": "auto_off",
            "geometry": {
               "height": 364,
               "width": 724,
               "x": 0,
               "y": 0
            },
            "name": "user@test:~",
            "percent": 0.5,
            "swallows": [
               {
               "class": "^URxvt$",
               "instance": "^urxvt$",
               "title": "^user\\@test\\:\\~$",
               "transient_for": "^$"
               }
            ],
            "type": "con"
        }
    ]
}

I created a script based on Archwiki:

#!/bin/bash
i3-msg "workspace 2; append_layout ~/.i3/workspace-2.json"
(urxvt &)
(urxvt &)
(urxvt &)

when i run it, urvt instances are not swalloewed in defined layout but instead I get 3 additional terminals, while the layout positions are empty.

I assume that I don't call urxvt the right way within the script, but I don't have no clue how to fix it.

Do you have any suggestion?

Many thanks,

Michael

Last edited by mechmg93 (2017-07-06 11:27:55)


Mikes on AUR

Offline

#1410 2017-08-02 20:50:11

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 35

Re: The i3 thread

Hi everyone, I have problems with the volume keys. Volume up and volume down don't go, but mute key goes. Can I have one solution to resolve this problem? On my arch are installed alsamixer. This is my configuration https://pastebin.com/fLLstJQu

Offline

#1411 2017-08-02 21:00:29

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: The i3 thread


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#1412 2017-08-03 14:21:29

Minbari
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2015-03-08
Posts: 30

Re: The i3 thread

Zar Marco wrote:

Hi everyone, I have problems with the volume keys. Volume up and volume down don't go, but mute key goes. Can I have one solution to resolve this problem? On my arch are installed alsamixer. This is my configuration https://pastebin.com/fLLstJQu

I have this bind for my volume in the i3 config file:

bindsym $mod+b exec amixer -q set Master 5%-
bindsym $mod+n exec amixer -q set Master 5%+
bindsym $mod+m exec amixer -q set Master toggle

If you want to have bind for special keys, you need to use Xbindkeys.
eg:

  # Decrease volume
    "pactl set-sink-volume @DEFAULT_SINK@ -5%"
      m:0x0 + c:122

  # Increase volume
    "pactl set-sink-volume @DEFAULT_SINK@ +5%"
      m:0x0 + c:123

  # Mute volum
    "pactl set-sink-mute @DEFAULT_SINK@ toggle"
      m:0x0 + c:121

Last edited by Minbari (2017-08-03 17:42:34)


UNIX is user-friendly. It's just very selective about who is friends are.

Offline

#1413 2017-08-04 01:46:18

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 1,433

Re: The i3 thread

Special keys also works in i3 config but it will require use of bindcode and keycodes, inplace of bindsym.

Offline

#1414 2017-08-04 06:28:56

HiImTye
Member
From: Halifax, NS, Canada
Registered: 2012-05-09
Posts: 1,072

Re: The i3 thread

Zar Marco wrote:

Hi everyone, I have problems with the volume keys. Volume up and volume down don't go, but mute key goes. Can I have one solution to resolve this problem? On my arch are installed alsamixer. This is my configuration https://pastebin.com/fLLstJQu

I don't see in your config where your mute, or volume keys are, but here are the lines from my config for volume and mute:

# volume control
bindsym $mod+Shift+XF86AudioLowerVolume exec $HOME/Launchers/volumeControl down
bindsym $mod+Shift+XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec $HOME/Launchers/volumeControl up
bindsym $mod+XF86AudioMute exec $HOME/Launchers/volumeControl mute

Last edited by HiImTye (2017-08-04 06:29:24)

Offline

#1415 2017-08-08 19:11:06

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 35

Re: The i3 thread

Thank all for advices, just I go home I'll tried to resolve with your answers

Offline

#1416 2017-08-25 13:33:23

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 35

Re: The i3 thread

Hi, my keyboard hasn't keycodes for volume keys.
But I have another question for you.I can have setting resolution on i3 for program's windows?I've 4k tv connected at pc with hdmi, but I see very small. If  change font (from 8 at 18), change only status bar
https://imgur.com/wD638vk

Last edited by Zar Marco (2017-08-25 13:35:22)

Offline

#1417 2017-08-25 13:35:18

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,776

Re: The i3 thread


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#1418 2017-09-07 17:03:08

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 35

Re: The i3 thread

Unfortunately, nothing, no other possibility? Xrandr is only solution?

 i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!
#
# This config file uses keycodes (bindsym) and was written for the QWERTY
# layout.
#
# To get a config file with the same key positions, but for your current
# layout, use the i3-config-wizard
#
set $mod Mod4
# Font for window titles. Will also be used by the bar unless a different font
# is used in the bar {} block below.
font pango:monospace 8

# This font is widely installed, provides lots of unicode glyphs, right-to-left
# text rendering and scalability on retina/hidpi displays (thanks to pango).
#font pango:DejaVu Sans Mono 8

# Before i3 v4.8, we used to recommend this one as the default:
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
# The font above is very space-efficient, that is, it looks good, sharp and
# clear in small sizes. However, its unicode glyph coverage is limited, the old
# X core fonts rendering does not support right-to-left and this being a bitmap
# font, it doesn’t scale on retina/hidpi displays.

### THEME parte modificata, fino a colors
# Solarized theme
# black dark/light
set $color00    #073642
set $color08    #002B36
# red dark/light
set $color01    #DC322F
set $color09    #CB4B16
# green dark/light
set $color02    #859900
set $color10    #B3CD01
# yellow dark/light
set $color03    #B58900
set $color11    #F4C32F
# blue dark/light
set $color04    #268BD2
set $color12    #30A6F8
# magenta dark/light
set $color05    #D33682
set $color13    #6C71C4
# cyan dark/light
set $color06    #00AFFF
set $color14    #69B3AD
# white dark/light
set $color07    #EEE8D5
set $color15    #FDF6E3
# background
set $background #3F3F3F

# Border style
new_window 1pixel
new_float  normal

# Client colors
# colorclass            <border>      <bg>          <text>      <indicator>
client.focused          $color04      $color04      $color07    $color02
client.focused_inactive $background   $background   $color07    $color02
client.unfocused        $background   $background   $color12    $color10
client.urgent           $background   $background   $color02    $color10

# Colors
#class border backgr. text indicator
#client.focused #000000 #000000 #6a1f78  #000000
#client.focused_inactive #4D4D4D #4D4D4D #4D4D4D #4D4D4D
#client.unfocused #4D4D4D #4D4D4D #4D4D4D #4D4D4D
#client.urgent #4D4D4D #4D4D4D #4D4D4D #4D4D4D

# use these keys for focus, movement, and resize directions when reaching for
# the arrows is not convenient
set $up l
set $down k
set $left j
set $right semicolon

# use Mouse+Mod1 to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier Mod4

# start a terminal
bindsym $mod+Return exec i3-sensible-terminal
# start browser
bindsym $mod+p exec chromium
bindsym $mod+Shift+p exec chromium --incognito
# start file manager
bindsym $mod+n exec nautilus
# start sreenrecorder
bindsym $mod+Shift+s exec spectacle
#start libreoffice
bindsym $mod+o exec libreoffice
# kill focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+q kill
# start franz
bindsym $mod+f exec franz
# start dmenu (a program launcher)
bindsym $mod+d exec dmenu_run
# ranger
bindsym $mod+F1 exec urxvt -e ranger 
# h-g hop
bindsym $mod+F3 exec urxvt -e htop
bindsym $mod+Mod1+F3 exec urxvt -e gtop 
# gmrun
bindsym $mod+F2 exec gmrun

#start j4-dmenu
bindsym $mod+Shift+d exec j4-dmenu-desktop

# There also is the (new) i3-dmenu-desktop which only displays applications
# shipping a .desktop file. It is a wrapper around dmenu, so you need that
# installed.
# bindsym $mod+d exec --no-startup-id i3-dmenu-desktop

# change focus
bindsym $mod+$left focus left
bindsym $mod+$down focus down
bindsym $mod+$up focus up
bindsym $mod+$right focus right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Left focus left
bindsym $mod+Down focus down
bindsym $mod+Up focus up
bindsym $mod+Right focus right

# move focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+$left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+$down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+$up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+$right move right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right

# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym $mod+h split h

# split in vertical orientation
bindsym $mod+v split v

# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym $mod+Shift+f fullscreen toggle

# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, toggle split)
bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+w layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+e layout toggle split

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+Shift+space floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+space focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+a focus parent

# focus the child container
#bindsym $mod+d focus child

# move the currently focused window to the scratchpad
bindsym $mod+Shift+minus move scratchpad

# Show the next scratchpad window or hide the focused scratchpad window.
# If there are multiple scratchpad windows, this command cycles through them.
bindsym $mod+minus scratchpad show

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace 1: shell
bindsym $mod+2 workspace 2: browser
bindsym $mod+3 workspace 3: other
bindsym $mod+4 workspace 4: messages
bindsym $mod+5 workspace 5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace 6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace 7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace 8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace 9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace 10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+1 move container to workspace 1: shell
bindsym $mod+Shift+2 move container to workspace 2: browser
bindsym $mod+Shift+3 move container to workspace 3: other
bindsym $mod+Shift+4 move container to workspace 4: messages
bindsym $mod+Shift+5 move container to workspace 5
bindsym $mod+Shift+6 move container to workspace 6
bindsym $mod+Shift+7 move container to workspace 7
bindsym $mod+Shift+8 move container to workspace 8
bindsym $mod+Shift+9 move container to workspace 9
bindsym $mod+Shift+0 move container to workspace 10

# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+c reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+Shift+r restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym $mod+Shift+e exec "i3-nagbar -t warning -m 'You pressed the exit shortcut. Do you really want to exit i3? This will end your X session.' -b 'Yes, exit i3' 'i3-msg exit'"

# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode
        # Pressing left will shrink the window’s width.
        # Pressing right will grow the window’s width.
        # Pressing up will shrink the window’s height.
        # Pressing down will grow the window’s height.
        bindsym $left       resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym $down       resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym $up         resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym $right      resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # same bindings, but for the arrow keys
        bindsym Left        resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Down        resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Up          resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Right       resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape
        bindsym Return mode "default"
        bindsym Escape mode "default"
}

bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"

# Volume Keys
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec --no-startup-id pactl set-sink-volume 0 +5%
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec --no-startup-id pactl set-sink-volume 0 -5%
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec --no-startup-id pactl set-sink-mute 0 toggle
# Screen brightness
bindsym XF86MonBrightnessUp exec brightnessctl -inc 20
bindsym XF86MonBrightnessDown exec brightnessctl -dec 20



# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {

       colors {
       background $background
       statusline $color12

       # colorclass        <border>      <bg>          <text>
       focused_workspace   $color02      $color06      $color07
       active_workspace    $color02      $background   $color07
       inactive_workspace  $background   $background   $color12
       urgent_workspace    $background   $background   $color02
    }

        status_command i3status -c ~/.config/i3/i3status.conf
        position bottom
        font pango :Inconsolata fot Powerline 8
}


      
   
  
      
 
  
  bar {
       
         status_command $HOME/.config/i3/conky-i3bar
         position top


          font pango:Cousine,FontAwesome 9
     
       
         colors {
         
            background #000000
            statusline #ffffff
            separator #666666

            focused_workspace  #4c7899 #285577 #ffffff
            active_workspace   #333333 #5f676a #ffffff
            inactive_workspace #333333 #222222 #888888
            urgent_workspace   #2f343a #900000 #ffffff
            binding_mode       #2f343a #900000 #ffffff
        }
    }


         
       
  
  
exec feh --bg-fill /home/saul/Arch-wallpapers/3fw78vehbnay.png


set $Locker i3lock-fancy
 
#finestre senza bordi
for_window [class="Chromium"] border none
for_window [class="Nautilus"] border pixel
for_window [class="urxvt"] border pixel 0
 

this is my configuration

Offline

#1419 2017-09-10 18:03:47

mclang
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 79

Re: The i3 thread

I'd like to jump on i3 bandwagon, but on problem keeps bugging me.

How can I make the menubar e.g libreoffice visible?

I have been trying configs from here and there, so maybe it is some configuration thing, and I tried to search these forums, but nothing catch my eye.


Duettaeánn aef cirrán Cáerme Gláeddyv. Yn á esseáth.

Offline

#1420 2017-09-10 21:44:01

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,422
Website

Re: The i3 thread

The application menubar?  Like "File" "Edit" and the like?  That has absolutely nothing to do with the window manager.  Check your toolkit (gtk/qt) configs.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#1421 2017-09-11 14:12:20

mclang
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2005-10-24
Posts: 79

Re: The i3 thread

Trilby wrote:

The application menubar?  Like "File" "Edit" and the like?  That has absolutely nothing to do with the window manager.  Check your toolkit (gtk/qt) configs.

Okay thanks - maybe it is because I haven't yet set anything with lxappearance or such.


Duettaeánn aef cirrán Cáerme Gláeddyv. Yn á esseáth.

Offline

#1422 2017-09-15 09:53:30

Zar Marco
Member
From: Colle Umberto, Italy
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 35

Re: The i3 thread

Hi all, actually this is my config https://i.imgur.com/hOh3NGT.png.
How I can add icons on workspaces names, on i3blocks and on i3status?

Last edited by WorMzy (2017-09-15 11:34:31)

Offline

#1423 2017-09-15 11:36:26

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,750
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Zar Marco, there is an existing screenshot thread if you want to show off your config. However, please don't embed large images in your posts. See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#1424 2021-10-26 22:59:50

cowlick
Banned
Registered: 2013-10-13
Posts: 73

Re: The i3 thread

Wanted to enable my Dell Inspiron 14 3420 multimedia keys. The wiki says it works out of the box so naturally none of them worked. Here's my i3 config snippet:

#Inspiron Hot Keys
# Volume Controls
bindcode 121 exec --no-startup-id amixer set Master toggle
bindcode 122 exec --no-startup-id amixer set Master 5%-
bindcode 123 exec --no-startup-id amixer set Master 5%+

# Player Controls
bindcode 173 exec --no-startup-id cmus-remote -r
bindcode 172 exec --no-startup-id cmus-remote -u
bindcode 171 exec --no-startup-id cmus-remote -n

#Brightness Controls
bindcode 232 exec --no-startup-id brightnessctl set 5%-
bindcode 233 exec --no-startup-id brightnessctl set +5%


DELL Inspiron 14-3452, 32GB emmc, 4 GB RAM

Offline

#1425 2021-10-27 00:59:46

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,422
Website

Re: The i3 thread

Why are you using bindcode rather than bindsym?  How did you get those key codes?  Have you verified that those are the codes the keys actually generate?  Can you show the relevant xev output?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB