You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-25 00:41:14

Hallucinogenic

Cannot get X to work

Hey everyone. Sorry for what's probably a very silly question, but I'm a bit new with Linux in general (with mostly experience with Ubuntu, and a little Slackware).

I just did a fresh install of ArchLinux and everything seemed to go fine.  But when I type in "startx" while logged in under root (or under any other name), it says "-bash: startx: command not found". 

When I type "pacman -S xorg" it tells me "error: 'xorg' : not found in sync db"

When I type in "pacman -Syu" it gives me "error: failed retrieving file 'core.db.tar.gz' from mirrors.unixheads.org  :  Transient resolver failure".  It posts this error message many times for each of the files it can't retrieve.  I have tried reinstalling using different mirrors. I used ftp.archlinux.org among a few others, but I keep getting exactly the same message. (I realize now, after reading through the forums, that using ftp.archlinux.org isn't a good idea).

My internet connection has always worked just fine, so I don't think that's the issue.

I have a feeling that there's something in Archlinux's documentation that I must have overlooked, but I've read through all of the articles and documentation that I could google, without finding an answer yet.

I haven't found too many posts out there from people with this problem, so I'm guessing that this is not common. 

Thanks in advance!

,Ryan

#2 2009-02-25 00:48:21

Allan
Pacman
Website

Re: Cannot get X to work

It looks like your network is not setup.  Can you ping (e.g.) google at all?  Look at the network section on the beginners guide wiki.

#3 2009-02-25 01:29:31

Hallucinogenic

Thanks, Allan