You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-17 00:04:16

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

I've tried via the aur and yaourt but it spits a load of errors out for me.

I've also tried

http://www.nongnu.org/avr-libc/user-man … r_binutils

but when trying to make gcc i get

libgcc/./_eprintf.o
cc1: error: unrecognized command line option "-march=i686"
make[3]: aurpage PKGBUILD [libgcc/./_eprintf.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/firewalker/Desktop/gcc-avr4.1.1/src/gcc-4.1.1/objdir/gcc'
make[2]: aurpage PKGBUILD [stmp-multilib] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/firewalker/Desktop/gcc-avr4.1.1/src/gcc-4.1.1/objdir/gcc'
make[1]: aurpage PKGBUILD [all-gcc] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/firewalker/Desktop/gcc-avr4.1.1/src/gcc-4.1.1/objdir'
make: aurpage PKGBUILD [all] Error 2

I have no idea why it says /home/firewalker.

I'm a little surprised that the word "arduino" returned with no hits at this forum.

It was a piece of piss in Ubuntu but i don't want to use that distro anymore.

Last edited by regomodo (2007-10-17 00:06:12)


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#2 2007-10-17 02:20:47

PenguinFlavored
Member
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Funny you mention the Arduino. I was just looking at it recently after a few of my neighbors told me about how they would use it in one of their projects.

Email me, I am interested in the details of your project, as I am seeing if I would buy one myself.

So I'm assuning all of gcc-avr's dependancies compiled fine?

You may want to try bumping the pkgver up to 4.2.2, that seems to work for me. I haven't tried compiling 4.1.1.

I looked at the 'arduino' IDE, and wasn't impressed. I think I'll stick to their makefile instead.

Offline

#3 2007-10-17 07:54:29

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Hmm, i don't know why i'm getting 4.1.1 errors. I downloaded the 4.2.2 version and when i run "make" if finishes with those errors.

I would e-mail the details of my project but i don't know them myself. I'm doing a group project on building a urban water cycle model.
I'm not specifically using the Arduino to control it, thats for PICS and discrete electronics/logic, but i'm interested in interfacing it with processsing.org.

I've also thought about playing around with my broken yashica electro and the arduino.


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#4 2007-10-17 12:48:49

PenguinFlavored
Member
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Have a look at the PKGBUILD, it looks like it sets it's own CFLAGS to '-O2 -pipe'.

Offline

#5 2007-10-18 17:34:06

PenguinFlavored
Member
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Also, it looks like you'll need to build the C++ compiler.

That's simply a matter of changing

--enable-languages=c

to

--enable-languages=c,c++

in the configure line

Offline

#6 2007-10-22 16:27:49

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

PenguinFlavored wrote:

Also, it looks like you'll need to build the C++ compiler.

That's simply a matter of changing

--enable-languages=c

to

--enable-languages=c,c++

in the configure line

Yeah, i had seen that in the Arduino page in Aur.

Unfortunately i now get this error

./arduino: line 16: java: command not found

which is quite annoying as i'm expecting my board to arrive this week and i need to use it for my Group project i'm doing.

Last edited by regomodo (2007-10-22 16:29:03)


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#7 2007-10-22 16:54:00

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Figured out my java issue. Had to either restart comp or Xserver.

Got a new error

No permission to create lock file.
please see: How can I use Lock Files with rxtx? in INSTALL

Assembler messages:
FATAL: can't create Matrix.o: Permission denied


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#8 2007-10-23 14:31:34

PenguinFlavored
Member
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Looks like you don't have permissions to where you want to write.

I rememeber reading somewhere that you may have to run the IDE first as root.

/me does some searching... ah ha!

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?do_Details=1&ID=8388&O=0&L=0&C=0&K=bardo&SB=c&SO=d&PP=25&do_MyPackages=&do_Orphans=&SeB=m wrote:

This is just a first release, it\'s not perfect.

ATM you need to be root in order to avoid problems with rxtx lock files, the rest seems to work right.
Also the file /usr/share/arduino/lib/targets/libraries/Wire/utility/twi.o needs to be created, and it will be created at the first run, but the directory isn\'t (obviously) writable, so you\'ll need to run it from a root account the first time.

If anyone finds a way to correct those issues, please let me know.

Offline

#9 2007-10-25 09:22:40

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

cheers penguinflavoured. I totally missed that and i've been trawling aur for hints

When i first ran arduino as root there was a load of errors but they've gone now. afaict it seems i need to use arduino as root al the time though.


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#10 2007-11-02 16:02:01

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

hrrmph. I can't get the arduino ide to upload gthe simple LED blink code i get this

java.lang.NullPointerException
    at processing.app.Serial.setDTR(Serial.java:480)
    at processing.app.Uploader.flushSerialBuffer(Uploader.java:76)
    at processing.app.AvrdudeUploader.uploadUsingPreferences(AvrdudeUploader.java:69)
    at processing.app.Sketch.upload(Sketch.java:1699)
    at processing.app.Sketch.exportApplet(Sketch.java:1761)
    at processing.app.Editor$42.run(Editor.java:1955)
    at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:209)
    at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:597)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:273)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:183)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:173)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:168)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:160)
    at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:121)

Arch is seeing the arduino

[jon@archlaptop ~]$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

Are Archers not into microcontrollers?

Last edited by regomodo (2007-11-02 16:03:20)


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#11 2007-11-02 17:14:58

PenguinFlavored
Member
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Well, I bought my Arduino last Sunday, and it'll hopefully be in soon so I can play around with it smile.

But this looks like a bug in the arduino IDE. You could submit a bug report to the arduino guys, or if you know java, you could hunt down the bug yourself.

As a workaround you could try uploading to the Arduino by hand. Use this page as a reference, especially the makefile. http://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/CommandLine

Good luck.

Last edited by PenguinFlavored (2007-11-02 17:15:09)

Offline

#12 2007-11-02 18:22:40

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

well, i found that i had to add "ftdi_sio" to the modules list in rc.conf. Unfortunately the ide won't see my board despite running as root and the preferences.txt being told which port to look at -> /dev/ttyUSB0

Still, i get a shitload of errors and the /tools/serial port is grayed out. I've given up and reinstalled debian but i'll leave arch on as a hobby distro.

http://regomodoslinux.blogspot.com/2007 … linux.html

Good luck! I hope you have better success than me. If you are successful it'd be great if you could say how you did it.

Last edited by regomodo (2007-11-02 18:25:06)


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#13 2007-11-06 17:31:30

PenguinFlavored
Member
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

I just received my Arduino on Sunday and immediately I started playing with it. I got some sample code to compile, upload, and run. It is working. I also got carried away, and stayed up all night programming on it. You know how it goes.

So I wrote up a long reply describing what I did, and then I lost it by not clicking the submit button sad. I created an Arduino page on the wiki. As of now they are just notes from my memory. I will try to look at my modifications and rebuild the utilities later and update   the page to ensure its accuracy.

I hope this helps somewhat. If you can get the Arduino IDE to work on Arch please document it on the wiki, so others can benefit from your work.

Offline

#14 2007-11-09 23:44:52

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

good work penguin. I'm getting a bit further with my Arduino. I've programmed it in Debian and it is sending 2 values via serial. By "cat /dev/ttyUSB0" i'm getting the correct numbers displayed.

I'm currently rebuilding avr-libc etc with your changes. I'll see how it goes.


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#15 2007-11-22 23:15:02

regomodo
Member
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 38

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

just spent the last 4 hours compiling, fixing errors in PKGBUILDs and general farting about trying to get arduino to work. So far i've got it to work open using your methods Penguin but when i try to sudo arduino i get the next error

#19 /opt/java/jre/lib/i386/client/libjvm.so [0x620bc6d]
java: xcb_xlib.c:82: xcb_xlib_unlock: Assertion `c->xlib.lock' failed.
./arduino: line 16: 15116 Aborted                 java processing.app.Base

Now, this isn't my first xlib error (can't use x in ssh for some reason) so i doubt it has something to do with the arduino setup but possibly to do with the xorg metapackage change.

Anybody with ideas. So far this is the only reason for me to not use arch linux as it is very, very crucial for me that it works. There is no documentation out there at all.


w$, winblows, and windoze gets old. Quickly

Offline

#16 2007-12-23 18:50:46

usr
Member
Registered: 2006-07-26
Posts: 20

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

I just got the makefile to work at long last! I followed PenguinFlavored's instuctions to install everything but i was still having problems (I get the feeling that since they posted that makefile they've made a few changes) so I played around with a modified makefile a bit (got it from here: http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaB … 1187984620 ) and ended up with this:

# Arduino makefile - Modified again by Stephen Hodgson
#
# This makefile allows you to build sketches from the command line
# without the Arduino environment (or Java).
# Previous work on this file was done by mellis, eighthave and probably 
# many others.
#
# Last State: 28.08.2007 | 15:00 CEST 
#         -- oli.keller ][ gmail.com
#
# This is a fork of the original makefiles shipped with Arduino 0009.
# It tries to reassemble the preprocessing which the Arduino IDE does.
# This makefile even allows to create an automatic reset, 
# like the Arduino IDE does on an Arduino Diecimila board!
# No no, you don't have to push that tiny button again and again... ;)
#
#     You should only have to check the first six variables below for 
#     propper settings. That's it.
#
#
# Detailed instructions for using the makefile:
#
#  1. Copy this file into the folder with your sketch. There should be a
#     file with the ending .pde (e.g. foo.pde)
#
#  2. Below, modify the line containing "TARGET" to refer to the name of
#     of your program's file without an extension (e.g. TARGET = foo).
#
#  3. Modify the line containg "INSTALL_DIR" to point to the directory that
#     contains the Arduino installation (for Arduino installations in 
#     Mac OSX, this could be /Applications/arduino-0009 ).
#
#  4. Modify the line containing "PORT" to refer to the filename
#     representing the USB or serial connection to your Arduino board
#     (e.g. PORT = /dev/tty.USB0).  If the exact name of this file
#     changes, you can use * as a wildcard (e.g. PORT = /dev/tty.USB*).
#
#  5. Set the line containing "MCU" to match your board's processor. 
#     Older one's are atmega8 based, newer ones like Arduino Mini, Bluetooth
#     or Diecimila have the atmega168.
#
#  6. At the command line, change to the directory containing your
#     program's file and the makefile.
#
#  7. Type "make" and press enter to compile/verify your program.
#     In TextMate you can just hit Command-R to trigger make.
#
#  8. Type "make upload", reset your Arduino board, and press enter  to
#     upload your program to the Arduino board.
#
# $Id$

###############################################################################
#
#      project specific settings
#
TARGET = blink
INSTALL_DIR = /usr/share/arduino/hardware/cores/arduino
###############################################################################


###############################################################################
#
#      serial uploader settings
#
PORT = /dev/ttyUSB0
UPLOAD_RATE = 19200
AVRDUDE_PROGRAMMER = arduino
# HINT: If you want to use the automatic reset feature which comes with Arduino 
# Diecimila, put the follwoing in your avrdude.conf: 
# (Use the systemwide $(INSTALL_DIR)/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf or create a  
#  local $HOME/.avrduderc file)
#
#  programmer
#     id    = "arduino";
#     desc  = "Arduino Serial Bootloader";
#     type  =  stk500;
#     reset = 7;
#     # since Arduino Diecimila the serial DTR line can be used to trigger a reset!
#  ;
#
# After this you can specify AVRDUDE_PROGRAMMER = arduino, above.
# On older boards you can manually ad this reset feature. Wire a cable from the
# FTDI 232 Chip's DTR pin (the number differs from package to package, see datasheet) 
# to the RESET line of the ATmega. Inbetween this connection must be a 100nF capacitor.
#####################################################################################


#####################################################################################
#
#      hardware dependent settings
#
MCU = atmega168
F_CPU = 16000000
# F_CPU sets the clock speed in Hz. So far its 16MHz on all standard boards.
#####################################################################################





#####################################################################################
#
#      Below here nothing should be changed...
#
#####################################################################################




#I changed this one
#ARDUINO = $(INSTALL_DIR)/lib/targets/arduino
ARDUINO = /usr/share/arduino/hardware/cores/arduino
#and this one
#AVR_TOOLS_PATH = $(INSTALL_DIR)/tools/avr/bin
AVR_TOOLS_PATH = /opt/avr/bin/
SRC =  $(ARDUINO)/pins_arduino.c $(ARDUINO)/wiring.c \
$(ARDUINO)/wiring_analog.c $(ARDUINO)/wiring_digital.c \
$(ARDUINO)/wiring_pulse.c $(ARDUINO)/wiring_serial.c \
$(ARDUINO)/wiring_shift.c $(ARDUINO)/WInterrupts.c
CXXSRC = $(ARDUINO)/HardwareSerial.cpp $(ARDUINO)/WRandom.cpp
FORMAT = ihex


# Name of this Makefile (used for "make depend").
MAKEFILE = Makefile

# Debugging format.
# Native formats for AVR-GCC's -g are stabs [default], or dwarf-2.
# AVR (extended) COFF requires stabs, plus an avr-objcopy run.
DEBUG = stabs

OPT = s

# Place -D or -U options here
CDEFS = -DF_CPU=$(F_CPU)
CXXDEFS = -DF_CPU=$(F_CPU)

# Place -I options here
CINCS = -I$(ARDUINO)
CXXINCS = -I$(ARDUINO)

# Compiler flag to set the C Standard level.
# c89   - "ANSI" C
# gnu89 - c89 plus GCC extensions
# c99   - ISO C99 standard (not yet fully implemented)
# gnu99 - c99 plus GCC extensions
CSTANDARD = -std=gnu99
CDEBUG = -g$(DEBUG)
CWARN = -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes
CTUNING = -funsigned-char -funsigned-bitfields -fpack-struct -fshort-enums
#CEXTRA = -Wa,-adhlns=$(<:.c=.lst)

CFLAGS = $(CDEBUG) $(CDEFS) $(CINCS) -O$(OPT) $(CWARN) $(CSTANDARD) $(CEXTRA)
CXXFLAGS = $(CDEFS) $(CINCS) -O$(OPT)
#ASFLAGS = -Wa,-adhlns=$(<:.S=.lst),-gstabs 
LDFLAGS = -lm


# Programming support using avrdude. Settings and variables.
AVRDUDE_PORT = $(PORT)
AVRDUDE_WRITE_FLASH = -U flash:w:applet/$(TARGET).hex
#This got modified as well
#AVRDUDE_FLAGS = -V -F -C $(INSTALL_DIR)/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -p $(MCU) -P $(AVRDUDE_PORT) -c $(AVRDUDE_PROGRAMMER) \
#  -b $(UPLOAD_RATE)
AVRDUDE_FLAGS = -V -F -C /usr/share/arduino/hardware/tools/avrdude.conf -p $(MCU) -P $(AVRDUDE_PORT) -c $(AVRDUDE_PROGRAMMER) \
  -b $(UPLOAD_RATE)

# Program settings
CC = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-gcc
CXX = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-g++
OBJCOPY = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-objcopy
OBJDUMP = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-objdump
AR  = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-ar
SIZE = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-size
NM = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avr-nm
AVRDUDE = $(AVR_TOOLS_PATH)/avrdude
REMOVE = rm -f
MV = mv -f

# Define all object files.
OBJ = $(SRC:.c=.o) $(CXXSRC:.cpp=.o) $(ASRC:.S=.o) 

# Define all listing files.
LST = $(ASRC:.S=.lst) $(CXXSRC:.cpp=.lst) $(SRC:.c=.lst)

# Combine all necessary flags and optional flags.
# Add target processor to flags.
ALL_CFLAGS = -mmcu=$(MCU) -I. $(CFLAGS)
ALL_CXXFLAGS = -mmcu=$(MCU) -I. $(CXXFLAGS)
ALL_ASFLAGS = -mmcu=$(MCU) -I. -x assembler-with-cpp $(ASFLAGS)


# Default target.
all: applet_files build sizeafter

build: elf hex 

applet_files: $(TARGET).pde
    #
    # Here is the "preprocessing".
    # It creates a .cpp file based with the same name as the .pde file.
    # On top of the new .cpp file comes the WProgram.h header.
    # At the end there is a generic main() function attached.
    # The ne .cpp file will be compiled. Errors during compile will
    # refer to this new, automatically generated, file. 
    # Not the original .pde file you actually edit...
    #
    test -d applet || mkdir applet
    echo '#include "WProgram.h"' > applet/$(TARGET).cpp
    cat $(TARGET).pde >> applet/$(TARGET).cpp
    echo 'int main(void)        '\
         '{                     '\
         '    init();             '\
         '    setup();            '\
         '    for (;;)            '\
         '    loop();           '\
         '  return 0;           '\
         '}                     ' >> applet/$(TARGET).cpp

elf: applet/$(TARGET).elf
hex: applet/$(TARGET).hex
eep: applet/$(TARGET).eep
lss: applet/$(TARGET).lss 
sym: applet/$(TARGET).sym

# Program the device.  
upload: applet/$(TARGET).hex
    $(AVRDUDE) $(AVRDUDE_FLAGS) $(AVRDUDE_WRITE_FLASH)


    # Display size of file.
HEXSIZE = $(SIZE) --target=$(FORMAT) applet/$(TARGET).hex
ELFSIZE = $(SIZE)  applet/$(TARGET).elf
sizebefore:
    @if [ -f applet/$(TARGET).elf ]; then echo; echo $(MSG_SIZE_BEFORE); $(HEXSIZE); echo; fi

sizeafter:
    @if [ -f applet/$(TARGET).elf ]; then echo; echo $(MSG_SIZE_AFTER); $(HEXSIZE); echo; fi


# Convert ELF to COFF for use in debugging / simulating in AVR Studio or VMLAB.
COFFCONVERT=$(OBJCOPY) --debugging \
--change-section-address .data-0x800000 \
--change-section-address .bss-0x800000 \
--change-section-address .noinit-0x800000 \
--change-section-address .eeprom-0x810000 


coff: applet/$(TARGET).elf
    $(COFFCONVERT) -O coff-avr applet/$(TARGET).elf $(TARGET).cof


extcoff: $(TARGET).elf
    $(COFFCONVERT) -O coff-ext-avr applet/$(TARGET).elf $(TARGET).cof


.SUFFIXES: .elf .hex .eep .lss .sym

.elf.hex:
    $(OBJCOPY) -O $(FORMAT) -R .eeprom $< $@

.elf.eep:
    -$(OBJCOPY) -j .eeprom --set-section-flags=.eeprom="alloc,load" \
    --change-section-lma .eeprom=0 -O $(FORMAT) $< $@

# Create extended listing file from ELF output file.
.elf.lss:
    $(OBJDUMP) -h -S $< > $@

# Create a symbol table from ELF output file.
.elf.sym:
    $(NM) -n $< > $@

    # Link: create ELF output file from library.
applet/$(TARGET).elf: $(TARGET).pde applet/core.a 
    $(CC) $(ALL_CFLAGS) -o $@ applet/$(TARGET).cpp -L. applet/core.a $(LDFLAGS)

applet/core.a: $(OBJ)
    @for i in $(OBJ); do echo $(AR) rcs applet/core.a $$i; $(AR) rcs applet/core.a $$i; done



# Compile: create object files from C++ source files.
.cpp.o:
    $(CXX) -c $(ALL_CXXFLAGS) $< -o $@ 

# Compile: create object files from C source files.
.c.o:
    $(CC) -c $(ALL_CFLAGS) $< -o $@ 


# Compile: create assembler files from C source files.
.c.s:
    $(CC) -S $(ALL_CFLAGS) $< -o $@


# Assemble: create object files from assembler source files.
.S.o:
    $(CC) -c $(ALL_ASFLAGS) $< -o $@



# Target: clean project.
clean:
    $(REMOVE) applet/$(TARGET).hex applet/$(TARGET).eep applet/$(TARGET).cof applet/$(TARGET).elf \
    applet/$(TARGET).map applet/$(TARGET).sym applet/$(TARGET).lss applet/core.a \
    $(OBJ) $(LST) $(SRC:.c=.s) $(SRC:.c=.d) $(CXXSRC:.cpp=.s) $(CXXSRC:.cpp=.d)

depend:
    if grep '^# DO NOT DELETE' $(MAKEFILE) >/dev/null; \
    then \
        sed -e '/^# DO NOT DELETE/,$$d' $(MAKEFILE) > \
            $(MAKEFILE).$$$$ && \
        $(MV) $(MAKEFILE).$$$$ $(MAKEFILE); \
    fi
    echo '# DO NOT DELETE THIS LINE -- make depend depends on it.' \
        >> $(MAKEFILE); \
    $(CC) -M -mmcu=$(MCU) $(CDEFS) $(CINCS) $(SRC) $(ASRC) >> $(MAKEFILE)

.PHONY:    all build elf hex eep lss sym program coff extcoff clean depend applet_files sizebefore sizeafter

It seems to work with Arduino 0010 but it wants to be run as root. Maybe I'll get that sorted at some point if it's easy to do.


Do you ever get that "Oops" feeling?

Offline

#17 2013-04-07 17:39:23

joyce
Member
Registered: 2013-04-07
Posts: 17

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

Hello,

I have bootstrap archlinux from ubuntu. After that I try to install arduino, but I encounter a problem with makepkg

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … stallation

$ makepkg -s
==> Making package: arduino 1:1.0.4-1 (Sun Apr  7 17:23:21 UTC 2013)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Installing missing dependencies...
sudo: effective uid is not 0, is sudo installed setuid root?
==> ERROR: 'pacman' failed to install missing dependencies.

Then I try to add a superuser:

$ sudo usermod -a -G admin <myusername>
$ sudo adduser <myusername> admin

Get the same error:

sudo: effective uid is not 0, is sudo installed setuid root?

Where is the problem ?

so long

joyce

Offline

#18 2013-04-07 17:51:28

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: Has anybody got Arduino to Work in ArchLinux?

joyce, this thread is 6 yeors old. Things have changed drastically since. Please read our policy for necrobumping. :: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.22

While you are at it, read through all the forum rules as well. Welcome to the forums

Closing...


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB