You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-17 05:01:07

JohnSchuster

X on my Laptop

Hello All,

I'm new to Linux and Arch as of last month and am trying to put a lot on this very new, but cheap laptop.

I've got the base and have installed X OK, I think.

I ran the config utility a few times but had to "best guess" a lot.

Initially after this, when I ran X my system froze.

After I added the "AllowMouseOpenFail" "1", to the Option section, I get something I kinda recognize!

I can see two rectangular regions which both contain "[root@myhost /]#" and some other stuff.  One item looks like the character 'I' inside a black region, a cursor?  The 'exit' command works from here.

Anyway, my X is not well.  I've read some Wiki and purused some recent messages.  Oh, yeah - the log...  I should look for 'EE or 'WW (error or warning) codes. 

"Open APM failed...

I also get some "Could not init font path ...removing from list" stuff.

Any direction on Wiki pages or prior posts would be greatly appreciated

Thanks All,

JohnSchuster

#2 2005-02-17 08:52:26

arooaroo
Website

Re: X on my Laptop

To correct your mouse, you need to correct your mouse, open /etc/X11/xorg.conf and find your mouse section. The xorgconfig util uses the default /dev/mouse (IIRC) but you actually want /dev/input/mice under Arch.

Secondly, if you only install X and no window manager, then you get a very basic system like what you describe. You need to install kde/gnome/xfce, etc, etc.

The wiki has a section about installing window managers, and also what to put in your .xinitrc so that when you startx, it loads your WM.

HTH

#3 2005-02-18 04:32:33

JohnSchuster

arooaroo,

Thanks for your response!

I'm checking my X11/xorg.conf file and see in the "InputDevice" Section I have

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ThinkingMousePS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"