You are not logged in.

#1 2010-07-24 12:23:14

fixel

Preserving the default mac boot-loader (iMac 27")

Hey y'all,

I've been runnning Arch for the past two years pretty much, and have no problem getting it installed on PCs. On Macs, however, I'm not sure how to go about it. So, before the flaming of Apple and their products begin I'd like to get a few questions answered smile

In my understanding the default Apple boot-loader, or boot-camp for that matter, doesn't support Linux-booting. Thus the need for rEFIt; and if I've understood correctly this is how you should go about installing:

1. Resize Mac-partition using diskutil create an extra HFS+-partition and a temporary FAT32 (as a placeholder)
2. Install rEFIt to the extra HFS+-partition, then edit fstab to not mount the aforementioned HFS+-partition on start-up (keeping it slick here).
3. Boot the ArchLinux live-CD, run "parted" and set up the system like you normally would (My usual: one home-partition and one root-partition (containing /boot)...using a swap-file on the home partition after install)
3. Reboot and hold down the alt-key to start rEFIt, update partition table
5. Reboot to the ArchLinux live-CD and install the system as per the instructions on the wiki.

Please correct me if I'm wrong but this should enable me to boot the bare bone ArchLinux system through rEFIt which only shows up when I hold the alt-key during boot. (Ergo: keeping the iMac vanilla when not holding down the alt-key during boot.)

Now a couple of questions:

A. Keyboard and magic mouse, both use bluetooth. So I'm guessing these will be hard, if not impossible, to use during initial install?
B. Is the magic mouse supported in the new kernel or is it back to good 'ol MX-518 for me?
C. Is there any hardware reported not working on the 27" iMac?

Hardware Spec:

C2D 3,06GHz
4GB DDR3 RAM
Radeon HD 4670 (open-source > catalyst?)
Atheros 9280 WiFi (ath9k driver I guess)