You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-12 21:04:24

danielstrong52

Hi all! and one question... (system transfer from usb drive)

Hi all, I'm new here, but I decided to forgo the introduction thread; I have a question already big_smile

Quick intro:
I'm new to arch, and fairly new to linux. I've been using Ubuntu (and Mint in the last few weeks) since Xmas... never was much into computers in general before that, funnily. Windows doesn't exactly make it easy to learn, does it? Anyway, got arch a few days ago to install on my usb drive, to try out. Hey, I like steep learning curves wink

So. The thing is I'm on holiday just now, but I have a fair bit of work... I only have my netbook with me, no other machine I can use regularly, so I'd rather not have it down while I go through the arch installation and configuration process... especially if there's a risk of something going wrong. Which I'm sure there is, with me performing the installation. Anyway, I reckon the least fuss way to get arch up n' running on my netbook would be to transfer my current working installation on my usb to my harddrive. I've looked up a few tutorials, but I havn't found much and they differ in the method. I imagine I could do this with a fullblown app like clonezilla, but i'd be happy with a command line util. I found references to dump and ddrescue. If I'm not much mistaken, dd would work too, wouldn't it?