You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-19 17:55:04

ydruil

X and console unreachable

Hello smile
I installed ArchLinux two days ago, and it worked. Since, I've been (trying) to configure it properly. I was in the last step, that is to install X and a desktop manager. It worked (I installed GNOME) but recently, i can't reach the console either GNOME anymore. I'm a beginner in GNU/Linux world (I've been using Ubuntu for 1 year).I had many issues with Arch's install, but not as serious as this one. I can't do anything, even in "fallback mode" (the screen is black with an underscore). Even if I have Ubuntu on my computer, it can't do anything on Arch's partition, I only can read it.
I remember that I tried to install ati-catalyst. It didn't worked and I deleted it (yaourt -R ati...). Then, I installed xf86-video-radeonhd and tried to configure X with tutorials, and as I remember... The issues began there.
I tried all that I could, but it seems it's not enough. Can you help me? Thanks a lot in advance smile
P.S.: I apologies for my bad English.

#2 2010-08-21 23:05:26

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website

Re: X and console unreachable

It sounds like a KMS issue - you might want to look at the wiki entry on troubleshooting http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ATI … ooting_KMS

If that doesn't fix it, then you need to post additional information, like your graphics card and any errors in your X logs

Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

#3 2010-08-24 08:23:14

Auston Jary
Website

i have the same problems...

nvdia 8400gs

i change my rc.conf
DAEMONS= (... !slim  ...)

so i can reach the console
but startx   seen nothing ...

Apologies for my poor  English.

#4 2010-08-24 15:10:49

signor_rossi

"black screen with an underscore" = X has crashed. sad