You are not logged in.

#1 2010-09-20 14:23:27

Thor@Flanders

[CLOSED]Integrity check fails...

Hi,

Ok, I hope THIS is the proper spot to post this question, if not, sorry, and do direct me where I should have put it. Thanks.

OK, Arch is cool in that it does a file sys check every n boot-ups. Good. It did so again and ended in a fail, then it DID reboot perfectly.
Do I need to worry? What manual do I read to get some ease of mind?
Need more? Where doe I get what log to help you help me - if I need help. I am new at Arch (and beyond happy with this distro) and maybe this is normal/desired behaviour...

Tnx

Thor

Last edited by Thor@Flanders (2010-09-29 10:44:20)

#2 2010-09-21 14:32:39

Thor@Flanders

Re: [CLOSED]Integrity check fails...

Closed the thread...rpobably not worth the bother...

Sorry about the "noise"...

Thor

#3 2010-09-21 21:37:48

kagerato
Website

Filesystem checks aren't specific to Arch, or Linux for that matter.  If a check fails, it may (but does not necessarily) mean one or more files were corrupted.  For an example of an instance where a check can fail but all files are still consistent, consider the case where the system shutdown improperly after sitting idle a long time.  (Power failure, perhaps.)  In odd cases like that, it is possible to end up with all actual commits to files completed, but the filesystem journal and/or other metadata (modified times, permissions, etc.) out of date or uncommitted.  The check would fail even though file contents are fine.

If you don't notice any unusual system behavior, corrupt data, or bizarre metadata, I wouldn't worry about it.  Especially if this was a one-off event that doesn't occur again.

#4 2010-09-22 02:27:33

Thor@Flanders

Hello kagerato,