You are not logged in.

#1 2010-09-20 20:51:24

Vitechy
Member
Registered: 2010-06-29
Posts: 10

Raid Driver and Kernel Module

I am having trouble getting the kernel to recognize the raid drivers which my card uses. The install of arch is fresh. The raid card is a HighPoint RocketRaid 2300. I browsed the AUR and found a PKGBUILD for an older version of the driver written by LoneWolf. I updated it to fit my needs.

The PKGBUILD I have is:

 # Contributor: LoneWolf  --Edited by Vitechy

pkgname=rr231x-0x
pkgver=2.1
pkgrel=3
pkgdesc="Kernel modules for Highpoint RocketRAID 230x and 231x SATA cards"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://www.highpoint-tech.com/USA/bios_rr2300.htm"
license=('custom')
groups=()
depends=('kernel26')
makedepends=()
provides=()
conflicts=()
replaces=()
backup=()
options=()
install=rr231x-0x.install
source=(http://www.support-highpoint-tech.com/Main/rr231x_00/Linux/opensrc/rr231x_0x-linux-src-v2.5-091022-1618.tar.gz)
noextract=()
md5sums=('59ce7354ed06f780584fed124c57c222')

_kernver=2.6.31-ARCH


# Note : pkgname should be rr231_0x , but using this name gives problems with the 2007.08 base installer --Not sure what this means so ill leave it alone.

build() {
    mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver}/kernel/drivers/scsi/
    cd $startdir/src/rr231x_0x-linux-src-v2.5/product/rr2310pm/linux/

    make || return 1

    # Install the kernel module
    install -m 644 -D rr2310_00.ko $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver}/kernel/drivers/scsi/

    mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/share/licenses/$pkgname
    cp $startdir/src/rr231x_0x-linux-src-v2.5/README $startdir/pkg/usr/share/licenses/$pkgname/
}

The post install script I used is:

 
# This is a default template for a post-install scriptlet.  You can
# remove any functions you don't need (and this header).

# arg 1:  the new package version
pre_install() {
  /bin/true
}

# arg 1:  the new package version
post_install() {
  KERNEL_VERSION='2.6.35-ARCH'
  depmod -v $KERNEL_VERSION > /dev/null 2>&1
}

# arg 1:  the new package version
# arg 2:  the old package version
post_upgrade() {
  KERNEL_VERSION='2.6.35-ARCH'
  depmod -v $KERNEL_VERSION > /dev/null 2>&1
}

# arg 1:  the old package version
post_remove() {
  KERNEL_VERSION='2.6.35-ARCH'
  depmod -v $KERNEL_VERSION > /dev/null 2>&1
}

op=$1
shift
$op $*

Executing the PKGBUILD with the makepkg command creates a .pkg.tar.gz file. Installing the package with pacman -U nameofpackage.pkg.tar.gz reports that the package has been installed. Running pacman -Qs reports that there is a package, local/rr231x-0x on the system.

The raid card is still not functioning. Instead of seeing a raid array I see the individual HDD's which are connected to the raid card which is something I could see even before running makepkg. I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I have rebooted the PC but that has done nothing. Also running modprobe rr230x_0x or modprobe rr2310_00 returns FATAL:Module rr230x_0x/rr2310_00 not found.

Any help is appreciated.

Zlatan

PS. The md5sums in the PKGBUILD example I provided above is not the same one as the one in the PKGBUILD which is actually compiling on the server. The PKGBUILD above I recited from memory; however, I do not remember the actual number which I obtained by running makepkg -g. I will update as soon as I have access to the server again. I have updated the PKGBUILD above to exactly match the one im using on the server.

Last edited by Vitechy (2010-09-21 02:00:13)

Offline

#2 2010-09-21 07:35:28

thn81
Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 88

Re: Raid Driver and Kernel Module

"_kernver" variable in your PKGBUILD is still set to 2.6.31-ARCH, I assume you are using kernel 2.6.35-ARCH?

Offline

#3 2010-09-22 13:06:30

Vitechy
Member
Registered: 2010-06-29
Posts: 10

Re: Raid Driver and Kernel Module

Oh, wow I didn't even notice that.

Modprobe was able to load the modules now; however, now I see the HDD's and the raid array. In other words running fdisk -l shows all of the HDD's connected to the raid card, /dev/sda, /dev/sdb, /dev/sdc as well as the raid array /dev/sdd.

The raid array has not finished building, so is it a possibility that that is why it is showing up. I will post updates when the raid array has finished initializing.

Zlatan

Last edited by Vitechy (2010-09-22 13:06:40)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB