You are not logged in.

#1 2010-09-21 21:06:39

kdotj

Recompiling the Kernel

Hey guys, I have been playing around with compiling my own kernel on Arch. I have mainly been the method outlined on the Arch Wiki about customising the Kernel26 package, from ABS and using PKGBUILD. I can successfully get kernels to compile and use them problem free.

However, I'm new to this and doing it just as a learning experience and for fun. My question is, when I come to configuring the new kernel, say by using "menuconfig" or "gconfig" for example, if I were to just leave it how it is and not change any of the selections... Would this just effectively give me the standard Arch kernel when compiled?
Being new to this kernel building business I would be grateful if someone could point me toward tips on how to optimise my kernel... What I should looking for etc. Is there a way to set the settings to optimal for your system?

Thanks in advance

#2 2010-09-21 21:09:59

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
Website

Re: Recompiling the Kernel

Nope, the stock arch kernel has some patches applied and its own .config... have a look at the PKGBUILD for kernel26-ck and modify it to suite your needs.  It has a menuconfig step built into it so you might just wanna run with it.  In addition to a custom kernel, you also get the bonus of ck's brainfuck scheduler which rocks tongue

Last edited by graysky (2010-09-21 21:17:39)

CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

#3 2010-09-21 21:11:56

karol
Archivist

W/o knowing what your current system is, no one will be able to help you: is a netbook, a powerful workstation or ...?
I'm not sure if you need kernel optimization. You can try one w/o modules, -ck or other 'exotic' variants, different i/o schedulers etc.

#4 2010-09-21 21:12:57

ewaller
Administrator

The guy who maintains this link:http://www.kernel-seeds.org/ hangs out on the gentoo forums.