You are not logged in.

#1 2010-09-30 07:17:50

fyhuang

Arch has trouble with GPT disks?

Hi,

I'm new to Arch, but not to Linux. I had a NAS system set up before with Ubuntu Server and a 2 TB hard drive, formatted with GPT and two partitions. The second partition, in particular, extends to the end of the disk (or as far as GPT will allow it to go; there apparently needs to be room for a backup GPT table at the end). In my previous Ubuntu setup, this arrangement worked fine. This system also has the operating system loaded onto a separate disk.

Recently I replaced Ubuntu with Arch. I tried to access the data I had stored in my 2TB drive, but found that Arch was unable to detect the second partition. I fired up parted and was informed that the second partition extended past the end of the disk. It wouldn't even print the partition table, so I tried gdisk instead (a GPT fdisk) - it reported some errors but was able to print my partition table. I feared for the safety of my data, so I switched back to my Ubuntu disk temporarily and ran some checks there.

Turns out Arch thinks the disk is smaller than it really is, and in the process of scanning the disk detected that the backup GPT table "wasn't at the end", so therefore wrote a new backup GPT table at the new "end". That is to say, it wrote over the end of my second partition. Fortunately, no data was lost, but I did get these numbers from running gdisk on both Ubuntu and Arch:

• Ubuntu's gdisk says the disk contains 3907029168 sectors, and that the last usable sector is 3907027021. This seems sane to me.

• Arch's gdisk says the disk contains 3907027055 sectors, but that the last usable sector is 3907029134. You will note both that Arch reports fewer total sectors than Ubuntu, and that the "last usable sector" in Arch is past the end of the disk by either measure.