You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-09 07:22:48

JoeJoe
Member
Registered: 2010-09-22
Posts: 4

Openbox questions

Q1; When I click middle mouse at root windows I get a great menu for travelling between apps, I want this menu to come to me everywhere I click, including inside firefox. How can I set such anywhere hotkey ? I checked the rc file but there lots of place specific hotkey setups but I didn't see an anywhere setup.

Q2; Is there any way to have a two colon launcher menu at normal left clicks?

Q3: Is it possible to set openbox to open two menus at one click, like when I click I get launch menu at the right of the mouse and travel menu at left at it?

Q4: can I define other menus to launch with other buttons, like a menu full of graphics stuff, a menu full of net stuff(not submenus or pipemenus, real menus)

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2010-10-09 10:07:57

Nanthiel
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2009-09-20
Posts: 148

Re: Openbox questions

Hello!

A1:
I use this:

  <keyboard>
    ...
    <keybind key="A-F1">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>client-list-combined-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    ...
  </keyboard>

inside the ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml file.
What it does is that when I press Alt+F1, it shows the window switching menu.
You can use anything in place of "A-F1".

A2 and A3:
I tried opening 2 menus at once (that would be similiar to 2 columns), binding double actions to the right click, but it didn't work, sorry.

A4:
Yes, you can!
Check the code above, simply change the menu name between the <menu> tags and the keybind. Menu names are defined in ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml in <menu> tags, the names are in 'id="menu_name"' format.

For example, in the menu.xml file you'd have:

<openbox_menu>
  ...
  <menu id="graphics-apps" label="Graphics">
    <item label="The GIMP">
      <action name="Execute">
        <startupnotify><enabled>yes</enabled></startupnotify>
        <command>gimp</command>
      </action>
    </item>
  </menu>
  ...
</openbox_menu>

and in rc.xml:

  <keyboard>
    ...
    <keybind key="A-F4">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>graphics-apps</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    ...
  </keyboard>

Note that <keyboard> and <openbox_menu> already exist and must not be added again.

It should work. tongue

If anything was unclear, feel free to ask. I'm usually not good at explaining things.

Offline

#3 2010-10-09 16:03:26

JoeJoe
Member
Registered: 2010-09-22
Posts: 4

Re: Openbox questions

Thanks! alot!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB