You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-17 07:20:17

ProfessorTomoe

Really, REALLY need advice on new system setup

I apologize in advance for posting yet another SSD dual boot question, but I have been reading articles, wikis, forum posts, and everything else I can think of until my eyes feel like they're going to fall out of my head, and I still haven't been able to come up with a good solution to setting up a new system that comes close enough to matching my situation.  I would *really* appreciate as much input as I can get.

My new build is going to be dual-booting Windows 7 Professional and Arch Linux.  (I've been running Arch for several years now, but I'm just now getting familiar with Win7 by way of a laptop.)  I've already purchased all of the parts for the system, so here's a list of the hardware relative to my questions:

Motherboard:  Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1055T
RAM:  16 GB (4 x 4GB Mushkin Silverline)
SSD:  G.Skill Phoenix Pro 120 GB with a SandForce SF-1200 series controller
Hard Drives:  a pair of WD Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 6.0Gb/s drives

There's also a Lite-On DVD burner.  All drives are SATA.

As I said earlier, I want to set up a dual-boot Wndows 7 and Arch Linux system that I can use mainly for music composition, recording, mixing, and mastering.  I also want to be able to do the occasional bit of artwork in The GIMP and some 3D work with Blender.  Arch will probably get a bit more use than Win7, especially when it comes to everyday stuff, while Win7 will be used mostly on the music side of things.

I've seen a lot of different suggestions on what should go on the SSD and what should go on the HDs and into RAM, but I have not seen anyone report on a solution that would involve the above combination, especially with 16 GB of RAM.  The only guess I've been able to make so far is this:

1. Install Win7 (system and programs only, avoiding the creation of the 100MB recovery partition) on a 40 GB NTFS partition on the SSD.