You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-17 21:26:01

mrinehart93
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Posts: 35

Is it possible to switch from 64-bit to 32-bit on a x86_64 install?

Well I was a noob when I installed Arch, and still am, but I had enabled the multilib repository not knowing that it would have so many conflicts with what I would like to do (namely, PlayOnLinux). Is there any way that I could remove the 64-bit libraries that I have installed, remove the multilib repository, and have an all-32-bit system? The loss of RAM won't be a big deal for me since I will most likely just install a PAE-enabled kernel (if that's possible in Arch) to make up for it (that's what I had done in Ubuntu).

Offline

#2 2010-10-17 21:32:47

jwbirdsong
Member
From: Western KS USA
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 173

Re: Is it possible to switch from 64-bit to 32-bit on a x86_64 install?

check the wiki.. it has most anything you will EVER need
Read HERE and HERE TOO

Last edited by jwbirdsong (2010-10-17 21:34:29)


PLEASE read and try to FIX/FILE BUGS instead of assuming other have/will.

Offline

#3 2010-10-17 22:09:09

mrinehart93
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Posts: 35

Re: Is it possible to switch from 64-bit to 32-bit on a x86_64 install?

Oh wow thanks. I didn't know that i686 was 32-bit, I thought it was just for older processors. Nevertheless, thanks again.

Offline

#4 2010-10-17 22:19:38

mrinehart93
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Posts: 35

Re: Is it possible to switch from 64-bit to 32-bit on a x86_64 install?

Quick question: Should I disable the multilib repository before switching? Because it doesn't mention it there, but I am wondering if those packages will be downloaded and installed too?

Offline

#5 2010-10-24 01:11:45

capoeira
Member
From: Vila Velha - Brasil
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 441

Re: Is it possible to switch from 64-bit to 32-bit on a x86_64 install?

mrinehart93 wrote:

Quick question: Should I disable the multilib repository before switching? Because it doesn't mention it there, but I am wondering if those packages will be downloaded and installed too?


did you make the switch? having many problems here with multilib, too and I think I will go 32bit. How was the switch for you?


also the wiki needs an upgrade as mirrorlist doesn't has x86_64 or i686 entries anymore

Offline

#6 2010-10-24 04:06:58

mrinehart93
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Posts: 35

Re: Is it possible to switch from 64-bit to 32-bit on a x86_64 install?

I tried the switch... but... I got fubar'd tongue It might have been an error in the way I had my system set up though, because I did follow every step that was posted. After I rebooted from doing the switch, I was no longer able to boot, and I was getting a "cyclical error" or something like that. I'd just try the 32-bit chroot environment if I were you. I don't have it working yet (someone is helping me out with it), but once it's done, it should be a much cleaner and safer way of using 32-bit programs.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB