You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-12 00:54:09

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Corrupted package, time after time.

Allright, I'm making a ruby-gnome2 package so I can develop some apps in ruby and glade. But every time I try to install it. I get this.

error: archive ruby-gnome2-0.12.0-1.pkg.tar.gz is corrupted

and here's the PKGBUILD

# $Id: PKGBUILD,v 1.4 2003/11/06 08:26:20 dorphell Exp $
# Contributor: Mike Limon <mike@left-foot.org>

pkgname=ruby-gnome2
pkgver=0.12.0
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="GNOME2 Libs for the Ruby Scripting Language"
depends=('ruby')
source=(http://switch.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/ruby-gnome2/ruby-gnome2-all-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('3aa40a574f0365361745d852494240a3')

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/ruby-gnome2-all-$pkgver
  ruby extconf.rb
  make || return 1
  make prefix=$startdir/pkg/usr install
}

Yes, I -KNOW- the dependencies are wrong but I'll fix that if and/or when this damn thing works.

And no, it doesn't use a standard ./configure line.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#2 2005-03-12 02:12:38

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

dunno. Did you run namcap on the pkgbuild file. Maybe there is some non-apparent syntax error somewhere.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-03-12 02:44:31

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

[21:46] [/opt/arch-packages] $ namcap ruby-gnome2-0.12.0-1.pkg.tar.gz 
ruby-gnome2 E: Dependency detected and not included (librsvg) from files ['usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/rsvg2.so']
ruby-gnome2 E: Dependency detected and not included (libgnomeprintui) from files ['usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gnomeprintui2.so']
ruby-gnome2 E: Dependency detected and not included (xorg) from files ['usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/libglade2.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gtksourceview.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gnomecanvas2.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gnome2.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gtk20.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gtk2.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gtk22.so', 'usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gnomeprintui2.so']
ruby-gnome2 E: Dependency detected and not included (libgnomeui) from files ['usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gnome2.so']
ruby-gnome2 E: Dependency detected and not included (gtksourceview) from files ['usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/i686-linux/gtksourceview.so']

I dunno man.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#4 2005-03-12 02:49:51

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

wierd

~ --:namcap PKGBUILD
PKGBUILD (ruby-gnome2) W: Missing Maintainer tag
PKGBUILD (ruby-gnome2) E: Missing url

i then made the package

[root@iphibox iphitus]# pacman -A ruby-gnome2-0.12.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
loading package data... done.
checking for file conflicts... done.
installing ruby-gnome2... done.

works here.

Offline

#5 2005-03-12 03:01:17

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

Let me see your PKGBUILD?


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#6 2005-03-12 03:24:51

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

miqorz. Just for reference, you run namcap on the pkgbuild, not on the package.
But iphitus did that for you, and it looks like it only detected the missing cvs tags. no biggie there..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#7 2005-03-12 03:29:49

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

Hey this is weird, it adds but it doesn't sync from my local repo..

[22:31] [/opt/arch-packages] $ pacman -A ruby-gnome2-0.12.0-1.pkg.tar.gz
loading package data... done.
checking for file conflicts... done.
installing ruby-gnome2... done.

o.o


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#8 2005-03-12 03:50:18

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

did you rerun gensync on your repo?
if the pkgbuild used to run gensyc again (for the ruby package) differs from the one you actually used to build it, I think it throws an error.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#9 2005-03-12 04:14:31

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

Yes I gensync'd again.  wink


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#10 2005-03-15 01:35:24

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

Maybe switch to another mirror ROFL! tongue

I forget but is one of the reasons that a package can be corrupt is that it fails the md5sum? If so then perhaps the reason it fails is because when youmake the package there is a file that is installing directly to your system and that is breaking the md5sum. I dunno though I haven't heard of people getting corruption errors on local packages.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#11 2005-03-15 02:24:33

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

I make all my packages as my user so files don't get accidently installed duribng the making of the package.

And everything seems to pass when I make the package.. just it keeps thinking it's corrupt. I'll figure it out eventually.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#12 2005-03-15 03:37:59

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

hmm...bad memory? Might be a bit flipped somewhere when you are tarring things up. Would be very odd though..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#13 2005-03-15 03:51:57

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

does it work with a direct pacman -A pkg?

Offline

#14 2005-03-15 05:55:36

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

phrakture wrote:

does it work with a direct pacman -A pkg?

It did somewhat.. and no my memory is just fine. haha.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#15 2005-03-18 03:37:34

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

I experienced bad downloads from archlinux via pacman for some time.

The problem here was RAM was causing it.  I had twoGB ram installed abd when I reduced it to 512MB the problem went away.

Had to clear the cache before retry.


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#16 2005-03-19 06:23:02

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

This is the first and only isolated problem with packages I've had.

And I'm the one making it, not downloading it.  wink


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#17 2005-03-19 09:06:04

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,896
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

[nothing to see move along]


Mr Green

Offline

#18 2005-03-19 09:50:17

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

It's amazing how you failed to read the entire thread.

It builds fine. It even to some point installs fine.

But when I try to sync it from my local repo it says it's corrupt.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#19 2005-03-25 18:37:39

loserMcloser
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 130

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

I'm having the same problem -- I have a custom package that builds fine but pacman claims it's corrupt when I try to sync.  I've rebuilt the package several times, always the same thing.  And yes, I did a "gensync" after each build.

I've built other custom packages, never had this problem before.

I even unpacked my custom.db.tar.gz and checked the "%MD5SUM%" entry of the "desc" file for my package, and the value there matches up with what I get when I just manually run md5sum on my package.  Also, if I do a "tar -xvzf" on the package file, it unpacks fine, tar doesn't complain at all.  So I'm pretty sure the package is NOT corrupt.

Is this a pacman bug, or is there some criteria besides md5sum that pacman uses to determine if a package is corrupt??

Offline

#20 2005-03-25 18:41:13

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

loserMcloser wrote:

Is this a pacman bug, or is there some criteria besides md5sum that pacman uses to determine if a package is corrupt??

good question... I know that the packages store md5 sums for individual files... I don't know when/if they are used... but it may be worth checking out...
could you maybe post the pkgbuild, just in case?

Offline

#21 2005-03-26 04:37:35

loserMcloser
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 130

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

Here's the PKGBUILD, it's just to install a local copy of the KDE API html docs.

pkgname=kde-html-api
pkgver=3.4.0
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="KDE API documentation in HTML format."
url="http://www.kde.org"
source=(http://developer.kde.org/documentation/library/cvs-api/cvs-api.tar.bz2)
md5sums=('b63a1c961f037c75f4e952c8c23f0b1b')

build() {
  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/opt/kde/share/doc/api-$pkgver
  cd $startdir/src/cvs-api
  rm -rf `find . -name "latex" -print`
  rm -rf `find . -name "man" -print`
  cd $startdir/src/cvs-api/kdevelop
  rm -f common
  ln -s ../common common
  cd $startdir
  mv $startdir/src/cvs-api/* $startdir/pkg/opt/kde/share/doc/api-$pkgver/
}

Offline

#22 2005-03-26 04:43:46

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

could the symlink be causing the problem?


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#23 2005-03-26 12:01:57

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

cactus wrote:

could the symlink be causing the problem?

No, none of my packges that end up corrupt have them.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#24 2005-03-26 20:15:28

loserMcloser
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 130

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

cactus wrote:

could the symlink be causing the problem?

no, that wasn't it.  Tried the following edited PKGBUILD, package still came out "corrupt", in pacman's opinion.

pkgname=kde-html-api
pkgver=3.4.0
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="KDE API documentation in HTML format."
url="http://www.kde.org"
source=(http://developer.kde.org/documentation/library/cvs-api/cvs-api.tar.bz2)
md5sums=('b63a1c961f037c75f4e952c8c23f0b1b')

build() {
  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/opt/kde/share/doc/api-$pkgver
  cd $startdir/src/cvs-api
  rm -rf `find . -name "latex" -print`
  rm -rf `find . -name "man" -print`
  rm -f $startdir/src/cvs-api/kdevelop/common
  mv $startdir/src/cvs-api/* $startdir/pkg/opt/kde/share/doc/api-$pkgver/
}

Also went through and checked for any other symlinks, the "kdevelop/common" link was the only one.

Offline

#25 2005-03-26 21:16:22

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: Corrupted package, time after time.

~)$pacman -S mypack/kde-html-api
 
Targets: kde-html-api-3.4.0-1
 
Total Package Size:   46.1 MB
 
Proceed with upgrade? [Y/n] y
 
:: Retrieving packages from mypack...
 kde-html-api-3.4.0-1     [/home/eliott/packages/] 100%    LOCAL
 
checking package integrity... done.
loading package data...done.
checking for file conflicts... done.
installing kde-html-api... done.

"Built" it just fine, and installed just fine. No corruption issues here..
*shrug*


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB