You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-23 00:35:08

desolathor

Programming, a task most daunting... or is it?

May be a bit misleading title and likely in the wrong forum section. For that I apologize.

Primarily I wanted to start a discussion about programming and how you - the people of the forum - got familiar with it. What inspired and/or motivated you? Where did you start and why?

Admittedly, I am a newb, and a bit tipsy at the moment as well but I am interested in this topic and I would very much like to learn.

-Tomas

#2 2010-10-23 00:49:53

tlvb
Website

Re: Programming, a task most daunting... or is it?

Well, it is difficult to motivate why one thinks something is fun, I remember starting out with QBasic on msdos,
but not exactly why, and on that road I have been since. If you like logic puzzles and how to make the
computer do your bidding in more complex ways than simply clicking on the 'do that' button, programming might
be for you.

Check out the General Programming Forum; there are
some different threads on what programming language to choose and how to start.

Last edited by tlvb (2010-10-23 00:50:24)

I need a sorted list of all random numbers, so that I can retrieve a suitable one later with a binary search instead of having to iterate through the generation process every time.

#3 2010-10-23 01:16:56

drcouzelis
Website

QBasic on MS-Dos. I wonder how many more people are going to respond with that. tongue Well, actually it was Basic on an IBM Model Old (or whatever they're called), but whatever. I'm convinced that the "modern" version of that is a simple Arch Linux installation and Python. If my children are interested in learning to program I think I would start them with that.

I became interested in it because I wanted to make a video game. I wanted something that I created and that I could explore. I wanted to "create other worlds".

I don't think it's daunting. Just learn little by little.

Last edited by drcouzelis (2010-10-23 01:18:36)