You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-30 14:19:04

M_ller
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 80
Website

N900 and ArchMobile?

Hi there.

I was wondering if anybody has succesfully installed ArchMobile on the n900?
If so, could you possibly guide me step-by-step?

Regards,
Marcus

EDIT: I have seen topics about the same, but never read how to do it.

EDIT2: What I have done so far:
1. Followed the partition guide 100% (http://www.archmobile.org/trac/wiki/AM/ … rtitioning)
2. Followed the create-a-filesystem guide 100% (http://www.archmobile.org/trac/wiki/AM/ … Filesystem)
3. Downloaded the archmobile shell script and succesfully installed archmobile onto my SDCard (with exception of removing qemu at the end, but it is not important)
4. Edited /etc/fstap (on SDCard) to have this "/dev/mmcblk0p1 / ext2 defaults 0 1"
5. Installed bootmenu via application manager on the n900..
6. Added a bootmenu entry in /etc/bootmenu.d/ called arch.ext.item:
ITEM_NAME="arch ext sd"
ITEM_ID="arch"
ITEM_DEVICE="${EXT_CARD}p1}"
ITEM_MODULES="mbcache jbd ext2"
ITEM_FSTYPE="ext"
ITEM_FSOPTIONS="noatime,rw"

7. Tried booting -> no success

Anybody got some ideas/solutions?

Last edited by M_ller (2010-10-30 21:36:10)

Offline

#2 2010-11-04 07:14:29

moniker117
Member
Registered: 2010-06-18
Posts: 7

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

I am afraid I don't have good ideas. :-|

It sounds like you are trying to dual boot your phone, is that what the bootmenu application does?  The examples in the links you provided seem to assume that the device has only one operating system.

Offline

#3 2010-11-05 11:16:50

floyd84
Member
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 2

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

Well maybe you can try it with u-boot.

I think the problem is the kernel, Nokia makes big changes.
If you are getting on, let me know it

Offline

#4 2010-11-05 11:57:53

dmz
Member
Registered: 2008-08-27
Posts: 866
Website

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

Could you define 'no success'? What happens, exactly?

Offline

#5 2010-11-06 19:59:09

M_ller
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 80
Website

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

dmz:
Basically it times out when entering boot menu and choosing ArchLinux. Bootmenu is created with a time-out value, so after 10 or 20 seconds, it just reboots.

moniker117:
Yes, it is sold with 1 OS, but so far Ubuntu and Google Android (probably more) is running fine on the n900.

Offline

#6 2010-11-15 22:14:33

ikamusume
Member
Registered: 2010-11-15
Posts: 7

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

Trying to get it run from within a chroot would be a first step.


yakui 2.6.36-ARCH x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
suika 2.6.32-lts i686 Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270 @ 1.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Nokia-N900 2.6.28.10power46 armv7l

Offline

#7 2010-11-17 06:20:35

M_ller
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 80
Website

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

ikamusume wrote:

Trying to get it run from within a chroot would be a first step.

Could you guide me through that?

Offline

#8 2010-11-22 22:37:28

floyd84
Member
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 2

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

just take the rootfs of archmobile or plugapps, put it on a micro usb card and chroot in.
thats what I did.

Offline

#9 2010-11-25 03:15:07

juandp77
Member
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 5

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

i got it installed and chrooted into my n900 i've also installed lxde and run it under xephyr like easy-debian but the problme its that lxde doesnt come with full package an programs i only can get lxterminal and thats it

Offline

#10 2010-11-28 17:04:07

M_ller
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 80
Website

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

juandp77 wrote:

i got it installed and chrooted into my n900 i've also installed lxde and run it under xephyr like easy-debian but the problme its that lxde doesnt come with full package an programs i only can get lxterminal and thats it

Could you do a step-by-step guide here?
I'd like to know exactly what you've done smile

Offline

#11 2010-12-05 00:48:03

ikamusume
Member
Registered: 2010-11-15
Posts: 7

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?


yakui 2.6.36-ARCH x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
suika 2.6.32-lts i686 Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270 @ 1.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Nokia-N900 2.6.28.10power46 armv7l

Offline

#12 2010-12-05 14:07:12

M_ller
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 80
Website

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

Thanks for posting that!
But could you explain to me quickly, what the deal with Easy-Debian is? What is it and what does it do?
Why do we need it to install Arch Linux?

Offline

#13 2010-12-05 18:26:03

juandp77
Member
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 5

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

sorry for not post the link http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=66531 was done by me.

To resume Easy-Debian as I think is the best app for the n900 it has scripts that let you run arm-distros like debian, ubuntu, archmobile, fedora, chrooted into maemo and using Xephyr you can have desktops environments with gui

Offline

#14 2010-12-06 18:01:05

juandp77
Member
Registered: 2010-09-26
Posts: 5

Re: N900 and ArchMobile?

take a look at this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izZ_eSUtBQo

Last edited by juandp77 (2010-12-06 18:02:27)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB