You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-31 05:19:21

silentz0r

[SOLVED]World of Warcraft General Issues & Solutions

Hello,

today I finally managed to install a shitload of libraries, which resulted in running World of Warcraft under Arch linux. I am an Arch newbie (been using it for less than a week), so pardon me if i fail at any point.

My hardware is: (An Hp pavilion dv6-2160 SV Laptop)

Nvidia Gefore GT320M 1GB DDR3
Intel i5 x64 Core
6GB of DDR3
320GB HDD

and a bunch of other unrelated hardware smile

After installing a bunch of libraries, i managed to get world of warcraft to execute (I used to get some wine display errors), and eventually got it to connect to the server (it was unable to connect to battle.net, the weird WLDAP32.dll error mentioned in another thread).

My question is rather simple:

Is there something I could do to speed up the launching of World of Warcraft?

It takes about 6-7 minutes to load up, and another 2 or 3 to login (some .MPQ files are loaded after you login). All .MPG files take so much more time to load up, compared to other OS's of mine. Roughly the same hardware in Ubuntu takes about 5-6 seconds to launch (No offence to Arch, it has been much greater so far big_smile )

If I forgot to mention something please ask me.

Thanks in Advance,

Silentz0r

P.S. If i try to execute Launcher.exe, i get many cookie errors in the console, and a "Failed to download information about the next patch. Check your network connection" error, which crashes the Launcher.

P.S.2 I have installed the following libraries: openssl, openldap, lib32-ldap, libldap, libjpeg6, lib32-jpeg6, winetricks, mpg123 and made a link to fonts (sudo ln -s /usr/share/fonts/TTF /usr/share/wine/fonts)

Last edited by silentz0r (2010-11-05 02:35:05)

#2 2010-10-31 20:31:18

nixIT

Re: [SOLVED]World of Warcraft General Issues & Solutions

just got wow running myself, so I will try and relate some of the issues I have with WoW.