You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-16 04:39:26

normc
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2004-06-28
Posts: 277
Website

KDE 3.4

Is it just my imagination or does this version of kde run a lot faster. 8)


Norm

Offline

#2 2005-03-16 05:30:40

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: KDE 3.4

I haven't upgraded to KDE 3.4 yet but I've read similar comments.  The reason for this increase in speed is that the newest gcc version was compiled with a certain switch or patch (something about how libs are loaded in memory). This KDE version is using that functionality.

Offline

#3 2005-03-16 06:05:22

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Re: KDE 3.4

After doing

pacman -Rd kde

and then

pacman -S kde

3.4 was installed. But I am missing menus here and there.

Offline

#4 2005-03-16 10:08:28

luisfeser
Member
From: Spain / España
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 46

Re: KDE 3.4

I have a question,

kde 3.4 is not final, no? (is a RC1) so, why is in the normal repositories? i think it would be only in testing..... (is only an opinion).

Offline

#5 2005-03-16 10:14:02

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: KDE 3.4

KDE final has been released to packagers a week or something ago. Packagers always get the sources before the official release announcement (should be out today though).

Due to a bug in pacman, upgrading can be problematic (the KDE guys think files need to be moved between libs, base, etc etc in every release), just issue "pacman -S kde" a 2nd time and it should give you a complete KDE desktop without problems.

About the speed: KDE 3.4 is a bit faster than 3.3 already and the visibility patch we have in our GCC speeds up things even more. I've seen a bit of KDE 3.4 RC on the KDE stand at FOSDEM, which was quite impressive in speed, faster than 3.3, and they didn't have a patched gcc version to get that speed.

Offline

#6 2005-03-16 11:23:15

luisfeser
Member
From: Spain / España
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 46

Re: KDE 3.4

oh! thanks JGC, i didn't known that.

Ok, downloading kde 3.4 tongue

Offline

#7 2005-03-16 15:19:01

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Re: KDE 3.4

JGC wrote:

Due to a bug in pacman, upgrading can be problematic (the KDE guys think files need to be moved between libs, base, etc etc in every release), just issue "pacman -S kde" a 2nd time and it should give you a complete KDE desktop without problems.

Actually, I did that a couple of times without success. What worked was, for some reason, rebooting. Now I have all my menus again.

Offline

#8 2005-03-16 16:47:45

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: KDE 3.4

There is also a wiki for KDE 3.4: http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE

Offline

#9 2005-03-16 20:28:34

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: KDE 3.4

Yep, it seems a bit snappier to me, too.

However, it's dropping some of my settings, and I've run into some odd quirks with toolbar settings.

Nothing I can't live with, though!   8)

BTW:  I did a fresh install with kde3.4...   big_smile


oz

Offline

#10 2005-03-17 00:14:41

deft
Member
Registered: 2005-03-14
Posts: 79

Re: KDE 3.4

Yes, it is snappier - make sure you switch off all the various "animations", mouse over effects, boncing cursors etc, etc.. - use the .NET style (fast/clean from kdeartwork package) and turn on pre-loading for konqueror - for a light-weight kde just install kdebase first ie:

# pacman -Sy kdebase

and then add bits and pieces as required.

All in all a nice incremental improvement over 3.3 smile

Offline

#11 2005-03-17 21:18:13

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: KDE 3.4

Just logged into KDE 3.4 for the first time. Looks pretty good. A little more eye candy, which is why I always enjoyed KDE (the tooltip-like icon description for toolbar icons is really nice!) and seems a bit snappier and more professional over all. Looks like a good release.

Usuaully when I upgrade KDE, I just delete ~/.kde and ~/.kderc . It seems to make everything a little less painful.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#12 2005-03-17 22:42:20

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Re: KDE 3.4

shadowhand wrote:

Usuaully when I upgrade KDE, I just delete ~/.kde and ~/.kderc . It seems to make everything a little less painful.

I always make sure I delete ~/.qt, even if I don't delete ~/.kde.

Offline

#13 2005-03-21 16:25:18

soloport
Member
Registered: 2005-03-01
Posts: 442

Re: KDE 3.4

Very nice.  Very snappy!  Wife said "Wow!" about using Linux.  That's a first! big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB