You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-17 10:19:01

Bfg
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2004-04-03
Posts: 13

installing on a scsi qla1280 system (solved)

hi everyone,
there is a way to install a new system on a workstation with a qlogic qla12160 scsi controller?
i've tried with floppy ad iso/cd installation from scratch but in the /lib/modules there is not qla1280 module and it is impossible to manage scsi disc partitions...
I've missed something or there's a workaround?

Thanks

Fabrizio

Offline

#2 2005-03-24 09:15:34

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: installing on a scsi qla1280 system (solved)

Did you boot the SCSI kernel during the installation? I've googled for the SCSI controller and there should be modules for it.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2005-03-25 15:37:09

Bfg
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2004-04-03
Posts: 13

Re: installing on a scsi qla1280 system (solved)

The controller is supported by linux kernel (sorry for my horrible english...), in fact "qla1280" is the name of the module. but it is not inserted in the official install iso or floppy... If you "loaddlisk" the arch floppy "scsi modules" you can't find this module (i've tryed to add this by hand taken from a ubuntu cd but it is not compatible). There are two linux kernel in the archlinux iso cdrom: the default is a scsi kernel but you can boot the alternative which is not scsi. anyway the are not compiled support for qlogic 12160...

Another try is with arch live cd but it does not work...

sad

Someone can explain (or address me url to guides) some directions to build a modified floppy or iso install arch kernel?

Offline

#4 2005-03-31 10:11:07

Bfg
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2004-04-03
Posts: 13

Re: installing on a scsi qla1280 system (solved)

I've done  smile
Simply, I've used the wiki guide [url]http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Remastering the Install ISO[/url]

Booting scsi kernel from the original arch install cd, I've taken the "/proc/config.gz" and later, after adding qlogic 12160 driver support, and compiled the new "vmlinuz", I've mastered the new iso arch image with the sustitued kernel...

I've noticed that (after usual hd installation), I can now use the stock arch
scsi kernel "2.6.11.3-ARCH" which has qlogic 12160 support...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB