You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-15 17:59:24

Adrimor
Member
From: Hand-over-fist, Pencilmania
Registered: 2008-11-12
Posts: 10

[Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

This problem seems to be like a bad itch, aye?

My default browser is currently Firefox. The only error message running "exo-open --launch WebBrowser" yields is "Error: No running window found". Attempting to launch /usr/bin/firefox yields no error messages whatsoever, but it doesn't start, or even create a new process.

Someone in an old thread about this suggested looking through dmesg's output to see if it's cause by bad sectors, but I'm not sure what to look for in there regarding that, or what to do if it is.

Sorry if this is a n00b-y question.

Last edited by Adrimor (2010-11-19 16:34:49)


I type ~7 times faster than I think. Apologies all around.

Offline

#2 2010-11-15 18:31:06

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,395

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

If you enter the command /usr/bin/firefox in a bash shell, are there any error messages displayed?

Online

#3 2010-11-15 18:32:33

Adrimor
Member
From: Hand-over-fist, Pencilmania
Registered: 2008-11-12
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

skunktrader wrote:

If you enter the command /usr/bin/firefox in a bash shell, are there any error messages displayed?

I already answered that in the OP. None whatsoever hmm


I type ~7 times faster than I think. Apologies all around.

Offline

#4 2010-11-15 20:31:20

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

You can try selecting "Other" from the list and then provide the full path to firefox and see if it works.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#5 2010-11-15 20:35:30

heleos
Member
From: Maine, USA
Registered: 2007-04-24
Posts: 678

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

Isn't /usr/bin/firefox the full path to firefox anyway?

have you tried removing your .mozilla folder, uninstalling/reinstalling firefox, or launching from a different DE/WM?

Last edited by heleos (2010-11-15 20:36:20)

Offline

#6 2010-11-16 00:02:39

Adrimor
Member
From: Hand-over-fist, Pencilmania
Registered: 2008-11-12
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

Tried uninstalling and reinstalling firefox. Don't have any other DEs installed [this is a laptop with a 160GB drive :x].

Didn't wanna delete it outright, so I moved .mozilla to .~mozilla~. I don't know why getting rid of it worked, but it's really annoying. I kind of need that folder's contents ._.;


EDIT: Never mind, fixed it. For some reason, the dumb thing renamed my default profile folder and profiles.ini apparently said something different. As soon as I changed the folder's name and its entry in profiles.ini to "profile", it worked again.

Marking this solved.

Last edited by Adrimor (2010-11-16 00:12:08)


I type ~7 times faster than I think. Apologies all around.

Offline

#7 2010-11-16 14:53:33

Adrimor
Member
From: Hand-over-fist, Pencilmania
Registered: 2008-11-12
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

Scratch that, it's still giving me grief. I have to move and replace my profile folder every time or it just won't start. Anybody know if this is just a Firefox-specific problem?


I type ~7 times faster than I think. Apologies all around.

Offline

#8 2010-11-19 16:33:52

Adrimor
Member
From: Hand-over-fist, Pencilmania
Registered: 2008-11-12
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved again] Xfce4: "Failed to execute default Web Browser. ..."

Okay, I think I solved it. exo-open is still giving me trouble, but I moved my home folder back to /home instead of having /home as a symlink to something else, which seems to've fixed most of it. Gonna try banging on something else to fix that [figuratively speaking, of course].

Last edited by Adrimor (2010-11-19 16:34:08)


I type ~7 times faster than I think. Apologies all around.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB