You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-18 12:26:29

Tim-spongefryshoutypants

No "£" sign in terminals under X

I can't get the £ sign to work in X, SHIFT-3 doesn't output anything at all, but xev does recognise the keypress as the GBP £ sign. If I open an email with a £ sign in it in Mutt I either get '?' or \243 (which I think is the ASCII hex for £). If I switch to a virtual terminal I can type a £, but when I opened an email with mutt it still gave me the \243.

The font I usually use is Bitstream Vera Sans Mono, does anyone know if this font has a £ sign? I've tried a few other fonts but this doesn't seem to help.

When I checked LANG it was set to C, I changed this to en_GB.UTF-8 but this hasn't made a difference.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

I'm a physicist. I have a working knowledge of the entire universe and everything it contains. --Sheldon Cooper

#2 2010-11-18 13:47:17

manmachine
Website

Re: No "£" sign in terminals under X

I'm not from the uk, but i do have an ibm keyboard with a uk layout, it works both in my ttys and in xorg.

For your console/ttys make sure you have:
KEYMAP="uk"
in /etc/rc.conf

For anything under xorg:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … youts_in_X

Or if you're using a DE that supports it (gnome/kde/xfce4/etc...) you can simply use the keyboard preferences gui/applets supplied.

Cheers

#3 2010-11-18 13:58:18

manmachine
Website

Well i should have finished my coffee before replying, just noticed that you say it works on your ttys.
All i can add is that Bitstream Vera Sans Mono does have a £ sign of course and it works...If you can type it/see it yourself, everything is setup as it should. If you can't see it in mail sent by other people maybe their client is at fault for not setting the proper encoding...

Last edited by manmachine (2010-11-18 13:59:08)

#4 2010-11-18 13:59:03

Tim-spongefryshoutypants

Thanks for the reply.

I have the KEYMAP="uk" in my rc.conf, and