You are not logged in.

#1 2003-08-24 20:22:39

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Lilo Install

I'm planing on installing archlinux very soon, and I wanted to know if this configuration for Lilo would work (cause I'm not used to devfs)

boot=/dev/discs/disc0/disc
map=/boot/map
vga=normal
default="windows"
keytable=/boot/us.klt
prompt
lba32
timeout=100
menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Archlinux"
    root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5
other=/dev/hda1
    label="windows"
    table=/dev/hda


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#2 2003-08-24 20:56:13

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Lilo Install

looks ok but the root line may need a few etra terms i wil post my lilo when i get home for you to look at (it does not dual boot mind you)


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#3 2003-08-25 06:18:57

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Lilo Install

my lilo.conf file (note i do not dual boot anything but it should still give you an idea of how a working arch lilo.conf is. well except i no longer use lilo as my bootloader):

#
# /etc/lilo.conf
#

boot=/dev/discs/disc0/disc
default=arch
timeout=50
prompt

image=/boot/vmlinuz
        label=arch
        root=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
        append="hdd=ide-scsi"
        read-only

#image=/boot/vmlinuz
#        label=arch-initrd
#        root=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
#       append="hdd=ide-scsi"
#        initrd=/boot/initrd.img
#        read-only

#other=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
#        label=dos

# End of file

AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#4 2003-08-25 23:31:22

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Lilo Install

would it be alright now?. I need to know if win would work, cause I stil use it a lot.

boot=/dev/discs/disc0/disc
default="windows"
prompt
lba32
timeout=100
menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Archlinux"
    root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5
    append="hdd-ide-scsi"
    read-only
other=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
    label="windows"

And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#5 2003-08-26 15:18:43

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Lilo Install

looks ok to me


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#6 2003-08-26 16:36:17

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Lilo Install

kakabaratruskia wrote:

would it be alright now?. I need to know if win would work, cause I stil use it a lot.
[...]

if you need win:

-> backup your MBR

# to backup:

dd if=/dev/hda of=/boot/mbr.winXP bs=512 count=1 

# The MBR contains bootup code for LILO or other (WINXP ...) (the first 446 bytes) and also 64 bytes of Partition Table information plus the last two bytes, AA55, which is the DOS disk signature. With this dd-command you make a backup of bootup-code+partition-table

# to restore:

dd if=/boot/mbr.winXP of=/dev/hda bs=446 count=1

# note that bs=446 and NOT bs=512 ... you want only to restore the bootup-code and not the partition-table ... doing all 512 will restore also the old partition-table ... if you made changes in the meantime, you will become troubble using 512 for restore

-> DO NOT USE GRUB, because you cannot remove it from the MBR ... you must overwrite it with another MBR ... very stupid --- there is no such thing like lilo -u (witch will remove lilo and restore the original MBR)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB