You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-18 20:14:21

luisfeser
Member
From: Spain / España
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 46

A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

I can see that the new xfce-4.2.1 is in the repository, but this is only 4.2.1 or 4.2.1.1??

Because the 4.2.1 have a bug and yesterday was released the 4.2.1.1 version:
http://www.xfce.org/

Offline

#2 2005-03-18 21:12:41

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

Good question.  I have my own too...

I guess I still have the '4.2.0-1' version:

local/xfce4-panel 4.2.0-1
    Panel for the Xfce desktop environment

and yet `pacman -Syu` doesn't tell me I can upgrade.  I must be overlooking something obvious.

Offline

#3 2005-03-18 21:15:52

Anarconda
Member
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 77

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

Well, xfce4-panel is version 4.2.1.1.


Scientia et sapientia patrimonium humanitatis sunt.

Offline

#4 2005-03-18 22:37:26

orelien
Forum Fellow
From: France
Registered: 2002-12-05
Posts: 220
Website

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

Xfce 4.2.1.1 = Xfce 4.2.1 + xfce4-panel 4.2.1.1.

Offline

#5 2005-03-19 05:03:03

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

weird...

I type `pacman -Syu` and it doesn't show that I need an update for xfce4.  However, when I `pacman -Sy xfce4` it does.  I don't get it.  I thought `pacman -Syu` always checked for current installed packages and notified you of updates.

I need to give the pacman man pages some lovin' it would seem...

Offline

#6 2005-03-19 07:59:56

orelien
Forum Fellow
From: France
Registered: 2002-12-05
Posts: 220
Website

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

skoal wrote:

I type `pacman -Syu` and it doesn't show that I need an update for xfce4

When you faced this issue, you should have looked for Xfce entries in the directory /var/lib/pacman/extra.
If they are still at 4.2.0, it means pacman is using a mirror that is not yet in sync with the main Arch server.
Otherwise, it's most likely a bug. In such a case, fill a bug report, and attach to it a tarball of /var/lib/pacman and a copy of /etc/pacman.conf so that we can investigate the issue.

Anyway, now that 4.2.1 is installed, I would say it is too late to do that.

Offline

#7 2005-03-19 10:26:46

luisfeser
Member
From: Spain / España
Registered: 2004-02-21
Posts: 46

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

I have the same problem, because i use has principal server belnet (in spain this wroks very well). But i have change it with archlinux.de and now xfce-4.2.1 (and more) can be installed.

There is a script or anything to organize the servers like apt-setup in debian or mirrorselect?

Offline

#8 2005-03-19 11:35:56

mico
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2004-02-08
Posts: 239

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

luisfeser wrote:

There is a script or anything to organize the servers like apt-setup in debian or mirrorselect?

If you want a closer and faster (for you) mirror: sortmirrors.pl

for usage see /usr/bin/sortmirrors.pl:

# If you have repositories listed in /etc/pacman.conf, run this:
#
#   sortmirrors.pl </etc/pacman.conf >pacman.conf.new
#   mv pacman.conf.new /etc/pacman.conf
#
# If you have repositories defined in /etc/pacman.d/, run this:
#
#   for i in /etc/pacman.d/*; do
#     sortmirrors.pl <$i >$i.new
#     mv $i.new $i
#   done

Offline

#9 2005-03-19 20:35:22

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: A doubt with xfce-4.2.1

Ahhh...

The newest xfce4 just showed up with `pacman -Syu`.  It's using 'ibiblio.org'.  Maybe it just took a while to sync.  Thanks for the info...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB