You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-23 17:39:14

gemon

kernel 2.6.35.8 recompile + util-linux-ng recompile = mess

hello everybody,
It's my first post to submit an issue so please be kind with me...I'm also new to linux.
I started from the hardest part, i.e. recompiling the linux kernel. That was needed because I'm making some exercises and learning, and I'm doing it from a qemu vm inside windows xp. That's why i need a very small kernel, which boots very quickly.

as an exercise, I'm also trying to compile util-linux-ng 2.18-3 from sources. reasons for this are
- I want to learn how the compile process works, in deeper detail
- I need to know how to patch the toolset, as I'd like to use loop-aes, even though I know there's no support for it

when first I compiled the util-linux-ng package after patching as per loop-aes readme, I thought it was a problem of loop-aes itself. So I tried to compile it without any loop-aes influence.
After tar jxvf I cd'd to the dir and just typed ./configure and then make. Compilation runs successfully, afaik, but when I try to launch the swapon command in the mount, that is what happens:

[root@myhost mount] ./swapon
lt-swapon: 'lt-swapon' is unsupported program name (must be 'swapon' or 'swapoff').

Any ideas what am I doing wrong?

As the subject says, please note that I recompiled my kernel, of course with CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP=n and others, but other configurations does not look like influencing util-linux-ng. Can they?

Thanks in advance
Gemon

#2 2011-01-21 17:39:14

gemon

Re: kernel 2.6.35.8 recompile + util-linux-ng recompile = mess

sorry for bumping but...I tried a complete new linux box from scratch and I received exactly the same error. The problem is when I try to follow the following instructions to install the patched versions of the util-linux-ng commands...

from loop-aes readme

For either version of util-linux:

cd mount
    install -m 4755 -o root mount umount /bin
    install -m 755 losetup swapon /sbin