You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-18 22:25:50

DeusExLinux
Member
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 98

wvdial woes - exit status 16

First of all, this is my first post, which is great considering I had a few problems that I figured out using the wonderful wiki and forum here already...  So already Arch rocks my universe.

My last major problem is wvdial!  I am on dialup at home.

(I had to donwload the full install iso, not just the base, so I'm using Enlightenment, which I actually like a lot... simple and fast!)

I used the wvdialconf script to set up my /etc/wvdial.conf  It worked, except everytimeI try to connect to my ISP, it connects, logs in, then immedieatly dies with exit status 16 (my modem drops the line).  I am assuming it has to do with my particular settings as KPPP works in the copy of mepis i have installed, but on the same installiation wvdial does the same thing.  (I use the same settings in wvdial in Mepis just to make sure it was the settings)

here is my wvdial.conf

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/modem
Baud = 115200
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ISDN = 0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
Phone = 2772110
Username = .........
Password = ..........
stupidmode = yes

any questions or suggestions would be more than welcome!!
thanks in advance


And on the 8th day, God gave the people Google so that all the problems of the universe could be researched from one central place.  And it was good.

Offline

#2 2005-03-18 22:53:57

smith
Member
From: Crescent City, CA
Registered: 2005-02-19
Posts: 77

Re: wvdial woes - exit status 16

I don't use wvdial but here's a few ideas.

Did you run wvdialconf to make your wvdial.conf?

Is /dev/modem pointing to the correct device (check by ls -l /dev/modem)?

Are you running wvdial as root?

Best of luck.


I have nothing to say, and I am saying it.

Offline

#3 2005-03-18 23:25:36

DeusExLinux
Member
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 98

Re: wvdial woes - exit status 16

yes to all three

I initially tried to make my wvdial.conf myself, then tried to use wvdialconf.. as root, both times same deal.

I don't beleive I can even run it as my user, so I know I always do it as root.

Here's an odd idea, I have some Gentoo discs, does anyone know if I can compile (from Gentoo's sources) kdenetwork so I can use KPPP (the only dialer I have ever gotten to work correctly!)????

Thanks for your advice though

I've heard a lot about the Arch commiunity, and from what I can tell, you guys rock.


And on the 8th day, God gave the people Google so that all the problems of the universe could be researched from one central place.  And it was good.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB