You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-26 03:06:13

jalu

cpufrequtils: Why should I care, and acpi-cpufreq vs. p4_clockmod

I'm a cpufrequtils newbie. In the years I've been running Arch on my laptop, I've never set it up.

I wonder, why should I care about cpufrequtils? What should I know about the technology as a laptop user? Does the fact that I rarely unplug make a difference?

I also wonder what module I should be using for frequency scaling. The cpufrequtils article recommends acpi-cpufreq, but the article for my specific laptop recommends p4_clockmod (for some unspecified reason).

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

#2 2010-11-26 05:11:33

thestinger
Package Maintainer (PM)

Re: cpufrequtils: Why should I care, and acpi-cpufreq vs. p4_clockmod

Just modprobe both acpi-cpufreq and p4-clockmod, only one of them should be able to load.

the article wrote:

For older Intel CPUs, the command above may return with:

FATAL: Error inserting acpi_cpufreq ([...]/acpi-cpufreq.ko): No such device

In this case, replace the kernel module acpi-cpufreq with speedstep-centrino, p4-clockmod or speedstep-ich.

CPU frequency scaling saves power and keeps your processor cooler. It's worth using on a desktop or a server, not just a laptop.

If you use the ondemand governor, and add:

(sleep 5 && echo 11 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold)

to /etc/rc.local, you'll have basically zero performance loss. Usually it scales up the CPU at 95%, with this it will do it at 11% (you can't go lower atm).

You can load the  "cpufreq_stats" module and see what it's doing with cpufreq-info. You should notice your laptop fan spin down quite a bit once you set it up.

If you have a watt meter, you can take out the battery and see the power use drop from something like 17w to 12w.

Last edited by thestinger (2010-11-26 05:18:31)

#3 2010-11-26 05:17:11

jalu

Re: cpufrequtils: Why should I care, and acpi-cpufreq vs. p4_clockmod