You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-27 15:02:31

Nichollan

[Samba] Immensely slow printing dialogue on Windows

I am new to Samba, and haven't really managed to do anything useful with it before – so please bear with me.

The Samba server shows up in the "Network" folder on the Windows machine, and I am able to see the printer when I click the server. I am also able to "add" the printer, but the moment I select "Print" from Notepad, Notepad becomes unresponsive for a very long time before the printing dialogue finally shows up.

The dialogue tells me in a field called "Status" in the Norwegian version, that it was unable to connect to the printer. However, if I do click print with the Samba-shared printer selected I do get the document printed, after quite a bit of waiting.

The nature of the problem has been varying a lot, presumably because of my experimentation with smb.conf. Yesterday Notepad would keep being unresponsive after I clicked "Print" for a time that I didn't stick around to see how long was – I think I waited at least 5 minutes.

Anyway, here's the output from testparm:

Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: rlimit_max (1024) below minimum Windows limit (16384)
Processing section "[homes]"
Processing section "[printers]"
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

[global]
   workgroup = MYGROUP
   server string = Samba Server
   log file = /var/log/samba/%m.log
   max log size = 50
   smb ports = 139
   printcap name = cups
   dns proxy = No

[homes]
   comment = Home Directories
   read only = No

[printers]
   comment = All Printers
   path = /var/spool/samba
   read only = No
   guest ok = Yes
   printable = Yes
   use client driver = Yes
   browseable = No