You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-08 13:21:13

erkin
Member
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 56

wget doesn't work.

When I try to download anything with wget it gives the error:

Error parsing proxy URL http://:8080/ Invalid host name

I can't even use w3m and Lynx because of the same reason. I'm using absolutely no proxy.

[erkin@rick ~]$ env | grep -i proxy
http_proxy=http://:8080
https_proxy=http://:0
no_proxy=

What should I do?

Offline

#2 2010-12-08 14:30:47

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: wget doesn't work.

Those variables are getting set somewhere, you'll have to find out where and stop that.

# see if any profile scripts are doing it
grep proxy /etc/profile.d/**

# maybe a system service sets it on start
grep proxy /etc/rc.d/*

# or some apps user config is doing it
grep proxy ~/.*

Offline

#3 2010-12-08 14:32:18

Stebalien
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 1,237
Website

Re: wget doesn't work.

-- To slow.

Last edited by Stebalien (2010-12-08 14:32:47)


Steven [ web : git ]
GPG:  327B 20CE 21EA 68CF A7748675 7C92 3221 5899 410C
Do not email: honeypot@stebalien.com

Offline

#4 2010-12-08 14:36:56

kinhodder
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-04-18
Posts: 65
Website

Re: wget doesn't work.

You've got your http and https proxy environment variables set, which doesn't make sense if you're not using a proxy.

So you need to look for lines like the following in your .bashrc (or .zshrc, &c).

export http_proxy=http://:8080
export https_proxy=http://:0

and remove them.

Edit: also too slow! And not very thorough.

Last edited by kinhodder (2010-12-08 14:37:33)

Offline

#5 2010-12-08 14:56:16

erkin
Member
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 56

Re: wget doesn't work.

brisbin33 wrote:

Those variables are getting set somewhere, you'll have to find out where and stop that.

# see if any profile scripts are doing it
grep proxy /etc/profile.d/**

# maybe a system service sets it on start
grep proxy /etc/rc.d/*

# or some apps user config is doing it
grep proxy ~/.*

All three retrieve nothing.

kinhodder wrote:

You've got your http and https proxy environment variables set, which doesn't make sense if you're not using a proxy.

So you need to look for lines like the following in your .bashrc (or .zshrc, &c).

export http_proxy=http://:8080
export https_proxy=http://:0

and remove them.

Edit: also too slow! And not very thorough.

There is nothing about proxy in .bashrc

Offline

#6 2010-12-08 15:13:29

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,543

Re: wget doesn't work.

This wiki page lists the files that are processed during startup
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Startup_files
Try to find which one is setting proxy

Offline

#7 2010-12-08 16:06:26

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: wget doesn't work.

find / -type f -exec egrep -l 'export *https?_proxy=' {} \;

Heh, and go get a cup of coffee.

Offline

#8 2010-12-08 19:09:26

erkin
Member
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 56

Re: wget doesn't work.

brisbin33 wrote:
find / -type f -exec egrep -l 'export *https?_proxy=' {} \;

Heh, and go get a cup of coffee.

Just hundreds of access denied and invalid argument errors...  Also I spilled coffee on my shirt.

Offline

#9 2010-12-09 14:02:05

erkin
Member
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 56

Re: wget doesn't work.

It works now. Thank you.

Offline

#10 2010-12-09 16:07:32

perbh
Member
From: Republic of Texas
Registered: 2005-03-04
Posts: 765

Re: wget doesn't work.

Care to enlighten the rest of us what the problem was - or rather how you made it work?

Offline

#11 2010-12-09 16:18:40

erkin
Member
Registered: 2010-12-03
Posts: 56

Re: wget doesn't work.

perbh wrote:

Care to enlighten the rest of us what the problem was - or rather how you made it work?

I really don't know. I used the code up there and tried again but it didn't work. Today I tried wget again, and somehow it works flawless today.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB