You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-22 19:07:14

soloport

Migrate HDD from AMD to Intel mobo

I posted this before, but got no response:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ght=#75672

More to the point, however: Has anyone built Arch onto a HDD using an AMD-based mobo, then switched the mobo to an Intel-based one?

Was the operation a success?  Did the patient survive?  Was it hoooorrribly disfigured?  What can I expect, as far as pitfalls?

Thanks...

#2 2005-03-22 19:44:16

IceRAM
Website

Re: Migrate HDD from AMD to Intel mobo

I copied my arch
from: P3 450MHz, i440BX mb chipset, 8.5GB IDE HDD, Matrox video card
to: P4 3GHz Prescott, i875P chipset, 120GB SATA, GF 5700FX videocard
AND the patient survived. It was my first ArchLinux install and it still is.

Sorry, I have no AMD experience. I have never used AMD on my own computer.
I have always used:
a) Intel chipset + Intel CPU
b) Gigabyte MB + Gigabyte Videocard

P.S. AMD64 looks appealing though... smile

#3 2005-03-22 21:20:54

incinerator

I don't see a reason why it should not work, as long as you are not compiling your own kernels.
There may be some minor issues with certain static modules configurations (e.g. nvidia gfx card on the old machine, ati on the new one) but the box should boot up to a stage where you can fix things that are not working anymore.

From what I've seen Arch Linux makes heavy use of hotplug, therefore changing h/w configuration should not bother a default install to much.