You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-28 19:55:32

pauligrinder
Website

(xfce4-) Terminal freezes randomly

Hey,

I've been using the XFCE-terminal for a couple of years without any issues, but lately it has started to freeze at random every once in a while. At first, I thought it was a problem with my internet connection (I was configuring my home server using ssh), but today it froze just before I hit enter for an "ls" in my home directory, locally. Scrolling works, I can select and copy text from it, but my keyboard input isn't going into the terminal. I haven't noticed this kind of behaviour in Guake or the VC's (I don't use either of those much though), so I'm pretty sure it's related to the actual Terminal. I also tried Sakura and Roxterm, neither of which seemed to have this problem. This is a very annoying problem, as I use the terminal all the time these days. Has anyone else had issues like this? Is migrating to another terminal emulator the only option to solve this?

"pacman -Q terminal" output:
terminal 0.4.5-1

I don't know what other information to provide, sorry. (don't know if kernel versions etc. are relevant in this case?)

Last edited by pauligrinder (2010-12-28 20:04:26)

If you like Metal, check out my music here. And please comment/rate!

#2 2010-12-29 00:16:23

otti

Re: (xfce4-) Terminal freezes randomly

I have (I think) the same problem, but with xterm. And it randomly - but pretty rare - occurs under enlightenment (e17) and xfce as well. If you alt-tab to another window the keyboard input from before gets displayed in the terminal.
I got the same behaviour in firefox within a flash website: if i try to scroll the website is only updated when I switched to another window...
This seems to me like an xorg (focus) bug or something like that. Unfortunately I don't have a solution for the problem.

#3 2011-02-01 22:01:12

pauligrinder
Website