You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-31 00:59:11

cavallino

Harddrive power up/down

Hello this is my first post here I am new to Arch but everything has been going extremely well. However I am now confronted with the first question I have been unable to answer with google and arch forum/wiki searches.

I have a PC with 3 sata hard drives 1 2tb backup 1 1.5tb with windows and 1 500gb with Arch linux. 99% of the time I don't need to access the windows or backup drive while using Arch.

In an effort to reduce noise, wear and power usage I would like to spin them down. It is my understanding that there is no way to prevent them from powering up on boot so I have been making due with sdparm --command=stop /dev/sdx in my rc.local. This works perfectly but when I go to shutdown the drive powers on and spins up before turning off which increases shutdown time and seems a bit unnecessary. Is there any way to prevent this? Both are unmounted before shutdown obviously. Thanks in advance for help and suggestions.

Last edited by cavallino (2010-12-31 01:12:25)

#2 2010-12-31 15:19:04

lagagnon
Website

Re: Harddrive power up/down

I wonder if you are automounting those filesystems in /etc/fstab and then when /etc/rc.shutdown runs it is umounting them causing them to spin up? How about removing them from /etc/fstab and only mounting them when you need them?

Philosophy is looking for a black cat in a dark room. Metaphysics is looking for a black cat in a dark room that isn't there. Religion is looking for a black cat in a dark room that isn't there and shouting "I found it!". Science is looking for a black cat in a dark room with a flashlight.

#3 2010-12-31 17:17:42

cavallino

I have it set to not auto mount with the noauto option in Fstab, and they are definitely not mounted when I shutdown.  If I remove them from fstab then I'll have to edit the file every time I want to mount it and also it won't be able to turn off the drives after boot. Or maybe I'm missing something?