You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-31 10:20:03

tr!x0r
Website

[Solved] Problem with my drivers

Hello

I'm new to arch so this is why I post in the newbie corner. However I have been using Linux the past few years as my main operating system.  In the past I've used Fedora, Ubuntu, Debian and now I'm going to use arch.

Currently I'm facing a driver problem. I've bought a new computer. I admit that the hardware is way to new and not compatible with Linux. My problem is the AMD HD Radeon 6950. The hardware isn't support by the open source driver (which only goes up to the HD4000 series? )

That's why I installed the driver of ATI follow this tutorial https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AT … ed_devices

And I must admit that my driver is working after I remove the "Device not supported logo"

But now I'm facing 2 problems.

1. There is a device which is making a terrible noise. This device isn't making this annoying noise when I'm in Windows. (Windows has his own disk and Arch has an other one. So it is possible that it is my hard drive.) But I think it is my graphic-card.
2. The second problem which actually is a big problem is that I don't get a famous blue screen but a white screen and everything freezes except the audio daemon. Again I think this is related to my driver not fully being supported.
I've been looking trough my logs files but I don't see any problems. Does anyone now how I could solve this problem? For me it is not necessary to have 3D support in Linux. (not the most important) but I would like to have a decent resolution.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by tr!x0r (2011-01-10 16:48:42)

Remember, when using Linux, you're the one in control
http://www.linux-answered.com

#2 2010-12-31 16:57:59

MadTux

Re: [Solved] Problem with my drivers