You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-16 19:51:08

itti
Member
Registered: 2007-06-01
Posts: 69

chromium - unable to move tabs

Hi,

I began to notice a somewhat annoying problem with chromium. For some reason I am unable to move tabs. Chromium does have a feature to open new windows by tab movement which seems to get in my way if I simply want to move a tab around in the same browser window. Supposedly this "new window" feature is triggered by grabbing a tab and pulling the mouse down over the address bar. That's not what I'm doing. I click on a tab and start to move it vertically to the new position, never do I cross the address bar. Never the less as soon as I start moving the mouse chromium does switch to its "new window" mode and regardless where I stop my dragging a new window will be created. On top of that I am not able to move tabs from one browser window to another one, there will be always new browser windows created.

I am using Awesome WM but the same happens to me with my other Arch box which has Fluxbox running.

Offline

#2 2012-07-09 12:45:04

Gat
Member
Registered: 2012-06-06
Posts: 15

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

Hi!

I'm having the same problem here from time to time. Did you manage to solve it somehow?

Offline

#3 2012-07-27 00:14:17

choogi
Member
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 60

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

Bump!

I have this problem with Awesome WM as well, and have never been able to figure out how to solve it.  Does anyone else have a solution?

Offline

#4 2012-07-27 01:50:38

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,440

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

For another data point, I just tried it in KDE, and it works as expected.  I have a small laptop screen and have not been able to form any love for tiling; I cannot try it on Awesome with this rig.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2012-07-27 17:50:28

Mr. Alex
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26
Posts: 623

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

IceWM here. The same problem. The only way to actually move a tab is to click on it and hold for about 3-4 seconds, then slo-o-o-o-o-o-o-owly move to gain speed at the end. And don't turn off the road - it will create new window. big_smile
Yep, this weird method works for me.

Offline

#6 2012-07-27 21:11:43

Gat
Member
Registered: 2012-06-06
Posts: 15

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

OK if this works can I subscribe to your student's newsletter? big_smile

Offline

#7 2012-10-15 10:34:30

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 668

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

I also have this problem using chromium & fluxbox.  The "workaround"  from Mr. Alex doesn't work for me.

Offline

#8 2012-11-12 11:25:19

Gat
Member
Registered: 2012-06-06
Posts: 15

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

I think I found a solution on my machine. As simple as it may sound try reloading Awesome config with Mod4+Ctrl+r.

That being said it is a very temporary solution - works for a couple of minutes and breaks again.

Last edited by Gat (2012-11-12 15:58:09)

Offline

#9 2013-10-03 19:20:13

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 668

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

I appreciate that this is an old thread, but I'm still having this problem in fluxbox - did anyone find a decent solution/workaround? 

Interestingly, on my desktop this problem doesn't exist.

Offline

#10 2014-02-23 21:52:58

actionless
Member
Registered: 2014-01-03
Posts: 13

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

the problem is still here sad
and it's reproduces time to time

Offline

#11 2014-02-23 21:58:58

Gat
Member
Registered: 2012-06-06
Posts: 15

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

It's been a while since I've run into this problem, new Chromium builds work fine under Awesome. Neither of the workarounds work for you?

Offline

#12 2014-02-23 22:04:26

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,440

Re: chromium - unable to move tabs

actionless,
I am going to go ahead and close this thread.  It is getting rather old, and I've a hunch you may be fighting a new problem.  Please feel free to start a new thread, and if you believe this thread is still relevant, go ahead and provide a link back to this thread.

Thanks.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB