You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-17 08:06:17

NTHQ

Installed splashy and now I just get a black screen

Hi everyone. I am fairly new to Arch (just installed it last week) and just messed up my computer... please bear with me.
I wanted to install a splash screen so I installed splashy. I might have been a little reckless with the installation which resulted in booting into a black screen.
I wasn't sure whether to go for Uvesafb or KMS so I just went with Uvesafb.
In the "Prepare the system" section it says "Remember to remove any framebuffer-related kernel boot parameter from the bootloader configuration: the vga=<foo> would force the old vesafb to load; the video=<foo> parameter would not be used when uvesafb is compiled as a module (as in the Arch Linux stock kernel)." I didn't know what that meant so I just ignored it (that's very reckless I know...)
As for the second line (Procure disabling KMS before attempting to boot into framebuffer. Failure to do so will result in a pitch-black screen, leaving no option but to restart the machine with Ctrl+Alt+Del. For Intel cards, append i915.modeset=0 to GRUB's entry to disable KMS.), I figured since I'm not going for KMS, it wasn't necessary so I just went on.
My laptop has an AMD processor and an ATI graphics card so I didn't see the point of installing 915resolution. I did it anyways and after doing so it said that 915resolution is only compatible with Intel cards. So I uninstalled it.
I followed the rest of the wiki and then rebooted my computer to see how it goes.
The splash screen shows up and some texts show up behind the progress bar that I couldn't read. The screen then goes black and the cursor shows up. But that's all there is. By randomly clicking, I could tell that gdm had loaded and I was able to find the password text box to log in. After logging in, the screen remained black. I could launch Firefox using a keyboard shortcut but everything was still black.