You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-27 09:10:43

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

[Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

Hi,

After updating to KDE 4.6, whenever I use a new profile or my old one, I get 6 processes of kded4 which amount to the total of 100% CPU usage. Anyone knows what to do about it?

EDIT: I can't configure the KDE services because the KDE services dialog tells me that it can't contac KDED.

Last edited by Neuro (2011-01-27 09:15:58)

Offline

#2 2011-01-27 11:36:38

fincan
Member
Registered: 2010-07-13
Posts: 27

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

Same problem; dbus-daemon and nepmukserver use huge CPU after upgrade and clean install (removed all settings and formatted root partition).

Offline

#3 2011-01-27 11:59:50

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

soprano 2.5.63-2 should fix the "nepmukserver hight CPU" issue

Offline

#4 2011-01-27 12:01:42

panosk
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 241

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

fincan wrote:

Same problem; dbus-daemon and nepmukserver use huge CPU after upgrade and clean install (removed all settings and formatted root partition).

I think this is not relevant to the OP's posting. I have only 1 instance of kded, not consuming anything, but dbus-daemon and nepomukserver use high cpu for me too. Maybe it is relevant to strigi (re)indexing files. I will wait a few more minutes and see what happens.

Offline

#5 2011-01-27 12:03:28

fincan
Member
Registered: 2010-07-13
Posts: 27

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

My strigi is already closed

Offline

#6 2011-01-27 12:04:01

panosk
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 241

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

bash wrote:

soprano 2.5.63-2 should fix the "nepmukserver hight CPU" issue

You are fast! Thanks a lot. Speaking of nepomuk and strigi, do you know if the strigi notification has been removed (or is it me that I can't find it anymore smile )

Offline

#7 2011-01-27 12:05:02

supercow
Member
Registered: 2010-02-05
Posts: 43

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

same issue here...dbus-daemon and nepomuk-server using 100% CPU...

Offline

#8 2011-01-27 12:15:41

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

panosk wrote:

Speaking of nepomuk and strigi, do you know if the strigi notification has been removed (or is it me that I can't find it anymore smile )

If you mean the nepomuk icon in the system tray, then yes. It had been removed, but due to popular demand, it is on its way back into extragear. IIRC, it is still in kdereview. It should be really easy to whip up an AUR PKGBUILD.

Offline

#9 2011-01-27 12:19:22

panosk
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 241

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

mutlu_inek wrote:
panosk wrote:

Speaking of nepomuk and strigi, do you know if the strigi notification has been removed (or is it me that I can't find it anymore smile )

If you mean the nepomuk icon in the system tray, then yes. It had been removed, but due to popular demand, it is on its way back into extragear. IIRC, it is still in kdereview. It should be really easy to whip up an AUR PKGBUILD.

Thanks a lot for the info. (My apologizes to the OP for unintentionally hijacking his post...)

Offline

#10 2011-01-27 12:23:25

fincan
Member
Registered: 2010-07-13
Posts: 27

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

With soprano 2.5.63-2, the problem was fixed indeed. Fast packaging! smile

Offline

#11 2011-01-27 12:40:36

supercow
Member
Registered: 2010-02-05
Posts: 43

Re: [Solved] KDE 4.6 kded4 process 100% CPU

Same here : no more problem with soprano repackaging.
Great job guys, we just have to be a bit more patient with big KDE updates :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB