You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-30 13:33:44

Raindancer
Member
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 13

Grub without splashimage

Seems I can't load a splashimage for GRUB.

I updated GRUB to the last release (just to be sure)

and write down this line in menu.lst:

splashimage (hd0,4)/grub/cbg.xpm.gz

using the grub console at boot and trying to insert the same command grub complaint that the command is unrecognized...

any idea?

Offline

#2 2005-03-30 13:41:57

bauerber
Member
Registered: 2004-12-20
Posts: 40

Re: Grub without splashimage

Raindancer wrote:

splashimage (hd0,4)/grub/cbg.xpm.gz

Is that actually what you wrote?

Maybe it's only a typo, 'cause on http://www.owlriver.com/tips/hands-off/images.html
it looks like this:

splashimage<b>=</b>(hd0,0)/GRUB/myfile.xpm.gz


greez
bernhard

Offline

#3 2005-03-30 15:07:07

Raindancer
Member
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 13

Re: Grub without splashimage

bauerber wrote:
Raindancer wrote:

splashimage (hd0,4)/grub/cbg.xpm.gz

Is that actually what you wrote?

Maybe it's only a typo, 'cause on http://www.owlriver.com/tips/hands-off/images.html
it looks like this:

splashimage<b>=</b>(hd0,0)/GRUB/myfile.xpm.gz


greez
bernhard

thanks for the suggestion but it's not the solution...

Offline

#4 2005-03-30 15:41:26

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Grub without splashimage

have a look in wiki  wink


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2005-03-30 15:44:14

Raindancer
Member
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 13

Re: Grub without splashimage

Mr Green wrote:

have a look in wiki  wink

yet done  wink

Offline

#6 2005-03-30 15:44:23

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Grub without splashimage

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ght=splash

sorry I could not remember where I had seen it.....


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2005-03-30 16:08:55

Raindancer
Member
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 13

Re: Grub without splashimage

Mr Green wrote:

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ght=splash

sorry I could not remember where I had seens it.....

I don't understand if you are suggesting me to download another version of grub (the one in the stable tree don't have the graphic patch?) or you are suggestion to read the discussion for the advices on the boot partition.

I have a separate boot partition where it's contained the kernel image and the grub stuff and I'm sure that the splashimage argument it's right. But still GRUB splashimage don't work...

Offline

#8 2005-03-30 16:17:51

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Grub without splashimage

well without looking at your menu.lst ... or knowing your disc set up I cannot be much more help

All I know is standard grub package needs patch to display splash images ....

(but you knew that)  wink


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2005-03-30 16:19:49

Raindancer
Member
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 13

Re: Grub without splashimage

Mr Green wrote:

well without looking at your menu.lst ... or knowing your disc set up I cannot be much more help

All I know is standard grub package needs patch to display splash images ....

(but you knew that)  wink

Yes I know that the official grub source package don't have the splashimage support but I don't know if the binary package supplied by ArchLinux it's patched or it's the "vanilla" version

Offline

#10 2005-03-30 16:28:21

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Grub without splashimage

well I could only get it working patchin' Arch package ....


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2005-03-30 16:50:53

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Grub without splashimage

Indeed, it needs a patch to enable splash images.

I dislike the splash crap. ~_~


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#12 2005-03-30 22:25:28

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Grub without splashimage

FINALLY! I have a splash image now!
thx for that link Mr.Green tongue

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB