You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-31 09:20:33

mykey
Member
From: out of the blue
Registered: 2007-03-02
Posts: 110

networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

The lates consolekit (0.4.3-1) rendered my networkmanager useless - I downgraded the package (0.4.1-4) and things are back to normal - can anyone shed some light on this issue please.

Offline

#2 2011-01-31 09:30:34

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

there is nothing wrong with consolekit. Your setup is buggy and it must be fixed.

1) use exec ck-launch-session yoursession in ~/.xinitrc
2) slim is know to be broken
3) updating consolekit to 0.4.3 without relogin is another cause


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2011-01-31 10:14:53

Juanlu001
Member
From: Madrid, Spain, Europe
Registered: 2010-10-24
Posts: 26

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

I have the same problem here, but downgrading to 0.4.1-4 didn't solve the problem. I modified some configuration files months ago when I figured out how to set up my wireless connection, might they had been overwritten or deleted?

Before you ask:

  • I don't remember which files I modified, something found on the wiki. Damn on me.

  • I cannot post here the errors I get, because I'm posting from another computer.

If I can manage to connect with wpa_supplicant, I can add more information.

Last edited by Juanlu001 (2011-01-31 10:45:11)


Juan Luis Cano
Pybonacci - http://pybonacci.wordpress.com/ Blog about Python and Scientific Computing in Spanish

Offline

#4 2011-01-31 10:53:54

Juanlu001
Member
From: Madrid, Spain, Europe
Registered: 2010-10-24
Posts: 26

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

I managed.

This is the ouput of nm-applet:

juanlu@mercurius ~ $ sudo /etc/rc.d/networkmanager start
Password: 
:: Starting NetworkManager                                                                                       [DONE] 
juanlu@mercurius ~ $ nm-applet
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area
** Message: applet now embedded in the notification area

** (nm-applet:2011): WARNING **: Error in getting active connection 'Vpn' property: (19) Method "Get" with signature "ss" on interface "org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" doesn't exist


** (nm-applet:2011): WARNING **: _nm_object_array_demarshal: couldn't create object for /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/0

** (nm-applet:2011): WARNING **: Error in getting active connection 'Vpn' property: (19) Method "Get" with signature "ss" on interface "org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" doesn't exist


** (nm-applet:2011): WARNING **: _nm_object_array_demarshal: couldn't create object for /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/0

** (nm-applet:2011): WARNING **: Error in getting active connection 'Vpn' property: (19) Method "Get" with signature "ss" on interface "org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" doesn't exist

[Same output for ActiveConnection/1, 2 and 3]

^C** Message: Caught signal 2, shutting down...
juanlu@mercurius ~ $

What's happening here? sad


Juan Luis Cano
Pybonacci - http://pybonacci.wordpress.com/ Blog about Python and Scientific Computing in Spanish

Offline

#5 2011-01-31 11:40:20

mykey
Member
From: out of the blue
Registered: 2007-03-02
Posts: 110

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

@ wonder
maybe my setup is buggy - but - at least not at the spots you mentioned
- my .xinitrc contains 'exec ck-launch-session openbox-session'
- I do NOT use a graphical login manager
- it does not happen after a relogin, but after a restart, when I try to start the nm-applet after a restart , I get:

** (nm-applet:3323): WARNING **: <WARN>  activate_connection_cb(): Connection activation failed: No user settings service available

What user settings is it talking about?

Offline

#6 2011-01-31 11:41:30

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

ok. now you are talking.
openbox-session doesn't start a dbus session automatically.

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#7 2011-01-31 11:58:18

mykey
Member
From: out of the blue
Registered: 2007-03-02
Posts: 110

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

sorry - also that does not change things - dbus gets launched way before the openbox-session already - and - it works when I start the applet as root - as my user it still fails with the new consolekit - v.0.4.1-4 does not have this problem ...

Offline

#8 2011-01-31 16:18:30

darose
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 122

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

I'm having this same problem.  Would love to hear if there's some workaround for this.

Offline

#9 2011-02-01 06:02:24

Ipozya
Member
Registered: 2011-01-20
Posts: 52

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

I had the same problem as well.  I think this is what's happening: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=597937 (bug report is for an older version of consolekit, but I think a similar/identical bug has resurfaced).  Network manager works for me when I log into root, so it doesn't seem like ck-launch-session is setting an active session for unprivileged users.  Anyways, I downgraded and it worked again, like others here are reporting.

I have experienced similar problems in past with nm, so I actually just went ahead and switched to WICD.  It's lightweight and works fine with latest consolekit.  Not really a fix but I am pleased that I made the change.

Last edited by Ipozya (2011-02-01 07:32:17)

Offline

#10 2011-02-01 10:36:53

sultanoswing
Member
Registered: 2008-07-23
Posts: 298

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

Same new problem with nm for me too - hopefully to be solved by downgrading.

I'm also using wicd as a workaround, but it doesn't handle openVPN connections directly, so I'm losing a little functionality with it.

The other problem which I assume is related to the privileged user condition is I cannot 'shutdown' or 'reboot' from Gnome anymore on my regular user login. I also use "exec ck-launch-session gnome-session" in my .xinitrc. Annoying regression this one.


Arch-lts (x86_64) w/Gnome 3.22.1
ASUS P7P55-E-Pro, Geforce GTX460, i5-750, 8GB, Samsung 830 SSD | Intel NUC 5i5RYK | ASUS ux303ua | HP Folio 13

Offline

#11 2011-02-01 10:49:10

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

@sultanoswing take care of pacnew


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#12 2011-02-01 16:11:18

mykey
Member
From: out of the blue
Registered: 2007-03-02
Posts: 110

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

@ ipozya

thanks for the tip - didn't like the buggy vpn config of networkmanager anyways - wicd does what I want from a network daemon

Offline

#13 2011-02-01 18:53:21

sultanoswing
Member
Registered: 2008-07-23
Posts: 298

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

wonder wrote:

@sultanoswing take care of pacnew

I'm a bit dense this morning, and this is a bit cryptic - can you explain please? smile

mykey wrote:

didn't like the buggy vpn config of networkmanager anyways - wicd does what I want from a network daemon

wicd doesn't launch openVPN connections - or at least didn't last time I checked. Do you use another lanucher (kvpn etc), or console?


The downgrade didn't work - the older version (0.4.1) of console-kit wasn't in my /var/cache/pacman/pkg folder for some reason.

Last edited by sultanoswing (2011-02-01 18:56:59)


Arch-lts (x86_64) w/Gnome 3.22.1
ASUS P7P55-E-Pro, Geforce GTX460, i5-750, 8GB, Samsung 830 SSD | Intel NUC 5i5RYK | ASUS ux303ua | HP Folio 13

Offline

#14 2011-02-01 20:25:45

mykey
Member
From: out of the blue
Registered: 2007-03-02
Posts: 110

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

- yes I use xterm for my openVPN connections - this way I clearly see all the time what is wrong
- to downgrade a package I found this site most helpful:

http://arm.kh.nu/search/index.php

Offline

#15 2011-02-02 05:03:53

sultanoswing
Member
Registered: 2008-07-23
Posts: 298

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

Thanks for the link. Downgrading consolekit to 0.4.1-4 resolved the problems with NetworkManager and restored the Shutdown button under the System menu.

Last edited by sultanoswing (2011-02-02 05:04:43)


Arch-lts (x86_64) w/Gnome 3.22.1
ASUS P7P55-E-Pro, Geforce GTX460, i5-750, 8GB, Samsung 830 SSD | Intel NUC 5i5RYK | ASUS ux303ua | HP Folio 13

Offline

#16 2011-02-02 15:23:11

pnutzh4x0r
Member
Registered: 2009-08-11
Posts: 24

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

mykey wrote:

sorry - also that does not change things - dbus gets launched way before the openbox-session already - and - it works when I start the applet as root - as my user it still fails with the new consolekit - v.0.4.1-4 does not have this problem ...

From my experiene, the whole xsession has to be wrapped in consolekit.  That is, it is not enough to do exec ck-launch-session at the end of .xinitrc, but wrap .xinitrc itself in ck-launch-session.  Since I use slim, I changed the /etc/slim.conf file to do:

login_cmd           exec ck-launch-session /bin/sh - ~/.xinitrc %session

With the latest consolekit and slim, I can now use networkmanager and get automounting with Thunar just fine.  Before making the changes, I too had to use consolekit 0.4.1.  With the changes above, it is no longer necessary.

TL;DR try wrapping xinitrc with ck-launch-session, instead of at the end.  Maybe it works, maybe it doesn't, but I was able to get it to work.

Offline

#17 2011-02-03 23:26:37

crocowhile
Member
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 55

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

consolekit screwed up thing for me too. users cannot shutdown/restart nor have access to sound card. Downgrading solved the problem.

Offline

#18 2011-02-04 06:06:30

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

Not really on topic but I just have to ask:
Is there a reason you all want to downgrade instead of finally fixing  your broken consolekit setup?


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#19 2011-02-04 08:02:40

crocowhile
Member
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 55

Re: networkmanager stopped working after consolekit update

I speak for me when I say that I just want a working system and fixing configuration files requires time that I may or may not have right after the problem arises.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB