You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-31 18:57:54

haikuhacker
Member
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 39

[SOLVED] sensors or lm_sensors?

My sensors won't initialize at boot time. When I ran "sudo sensors-detect" this was included in the output:

Copy prog/init/lm_sensors.init to /etc/rc.d/lm_sensors
for initialization at boot time.

I can't find prog/init/lm_sensors.init and its /etc/rc.d/sensors not /etc/rc.d/lm_sensors.

sudo /etc/rc.d/sensors start

works.

From rc.conf:

DAEMONS=(dbus hal syslog-ng sensord !network !dhcdbd !networkmanager @alsa @wicd)

From /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors:

HWMON_MODULES="coretemp w83627hf"

# For compatibility reasons, modules are also listed individually as variables
#    MODULE_0, MODULE_1, MODULE_2, etc.
# You should use BUS_MODULES and HWMON_MODULES instead if possible.

MODULE_0=coretemp
MODULE_1=w83627hf

Last edited by haikuhacker (2011-01-31 19:17:45)


Salix-13.37-64-XFCE/Spectrwm Archbang/Razor-QT
Intel® Atom™ Processor D510
NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6200

Offline

#2 2011-01-31 19:01:10

MadCatMk2
Member
Registered: 2010-05-10
Posts: 84

Re: [SOLVED] sensors or lm_sensors?

You need "sensors" in the daemons. Not "sensord".
Afaik it runs the same script. (/etc/rc.d/sensors)

Offline

#3 2011-01-31 19:17:15

haikuhacker
Member
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] sensors or lm_sensors?

MadCatMk2 wrote:

You need "sensors" in the daemons. Not "sensord".
Afaik it runs the same script. (/etc/rc.d/sensors)

Thanks MadCatMk2, that worked.


Salix-13.37-64-XFCE/Spectrwm Archbang/Razor-QT
Intel® Atom™ Processor D510
NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6200

Offline

#4 2011-02-23 19:35:00

Sathors
Member
Registered: 2011-02-23
Posts: 45

Re: [SOLVED] sensors or lm_sensors?

I've just a question regarding the sensors daemon, I've put it as advised in my rc.d (back-grounded), but I don't see any related process in the process tree (with ps -el), nor when I start it manually (with /etc/rc.d/sensors).

Is it really needed ? And if so do you know the name of the process ?

Thank you and good night.

Offline

#5 2011-02-24 02:44:31

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,164

Re: [SOLVED] sensors or lm_sensors?

Don't hijack the thread, Sathors, please start a new one.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#6 2011-02-24 11:37:12

Sathors
Member
Registered: 2011-02-23
Posts: 45

Re: [SOLVED] sensors or lm_sensors?

No problems, it's just that for once I found the topics to be closely related.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB