You are not logged in.

#1 2011-02-06 15:08:42

otsug
Website

Yapan - another notifier

Hi, I am new to Arch Linux (two weeks I think), and I found a few applications for notification when pacman has updates avaiable, but they all are made using gtk(ugly in my opnion) and don't have some features I want, so I decided to write my own notifier using C++ and Qt: Yapan - Yet Another Package mAnager Notifier, you will enconter all features in this wiki:
https://bitbucket.org/otsug/yapan/wiki/Home

I think the big feature is to use other package manager like clyde or yaourt.

AUR package:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=46213

I stole the sudo configuration from the pacman-notifier XD, the explanation is very good, I configured easily with the explanation when I installed pacman-notifier.

This is my first opensource application, my first AUR package and more important today is my birthday XD

Sorry for my english.

#2 2011-02-10 05:45:26

corvolino
Website

Re: Yapan - another notifier

good package (:

archlinux i686

#3 2011-02-10 05:52:51

otsug
Website

corvolino wrote:

good package (:

Thank you, amirs in AUR helped me with new cool icons, I think today or tomorrow I will launch a new version with some speed improvements and bug fix.

#4 2011-02-10 17:24:40

cbrunos

This looks nice. I will try it.

Xmonad gets sh*t done. Fast.

#5 2011-02-11 18:54:30

otsug
Website

Today I launched Yapan 0.3, I think the code is much better now and the icons too. I added a option to show only the number of out of date packages, I got the idea from the post http://andreascarpino.it/2011/02/you-ha … -packages/, if anyone have more ideas let me know.

#6 2011-02-15 03:13:57

ralvez
Website

@otsug,

This is the BEST pacman updater ever !! I love it. tongue
It's GUI based ... well ... has a gui based set up  wink and true to the Arch traditions uses the CLI to let the user manage the upgrade.
If you ask me, "the perfect balance".

Thank you for a wonderful contribution.

R