You are not logged in.

#1 2011-02-06 17:02:29

Avstux

Repartition Arch

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Linux (~5 months) and started off using Arch to force myself to learn linux more quickly (I love Arch!). I am, however, quite interested in installing Debian (especially after 6.0 was just released) to experiment with apt-get and gain more exposure to different Linux flavors. Here is my current setup:

#df -j
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev                   10M  264K  9.8M   3% /dev
/dev/sda3              14G  259M   13G   3% /
shm                   3.0G  140K  3.0G   1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda5             464M   28M  412M   7% /boot
/dev/sda6             7.5G  1.1G  6.5G  14% /var
/dev/sda7              19G  173M   18G   1% /tmp
/dev/sda8              60G  849M   56G   2% /home
/dev/sda9              14G  2.1G   12G  16% /usr

/dev/sda10  4 GB --> my swap partition (doesn't show up with df-h)

I obviously have a lot of empty space; it's a decent size hard drive with the rest (about 120 GB) of it dedicated to Windows (still at university so some programs need it to run and am still somewhat dependent on MS Office - libre office just isn't quite as strong IMO).

What I thought seemed reasonable would be to do the following:

/     14.3 GB  --> 10 GB
/home 65 GB    --> 25 GB
/tmp  20 GB    --> 15 GB

I still want to use arch as my main distro and this would give me ~50 GB to play with (more than enough and may eventually at some point in the future tinker with FreeBSD).

To resize these partitions (which are all three ext3), would GParted Live CD be a good choice?  I assume it is fairly straight forward for ext3, just chose the partition and it will have an option to make it smaller and I specify new size (have not yet looked at documentation yet)?

For Debian: I was thinking of making the following partitions (with approximate sizes):
/ (7 GB), /home (12 GB), /usr (12 GB), /var (7 GB), /boot (500 mb) /tmp (7 GB), swap (4 GB)